$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Cova Hotel

3 stars
655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
135 reviews
Nice hotel for business and family trip.

The rooms are very comfortable, the stuff is professional. See full review

  • Bagrat
  • May 5, 2014
No Title

Great staff, clean and comfortable. Everyone will love this place. See full review

  • Artara
  • Jul 27, 2013
Subtle touches, free breakfast and shuttles at Little Saigon boutique

Perched at the confluence of San Francisco's Little Saigon and Civic Center neighborhoods, the Cova Hotel offers clean and modern accommodations for a fraction of the cost of swankier Union Square lodging. Boutique style, complimentary continental breakfast and free buses around town are just some of the reasons guests return. The rooftop terrace also is a big draw for business clientele. The hotel is a three-block walk to cable car stops.

Highlights
  • Take advantage of complimentary shuttle buses that travel all over town
  • Rooftop Terrace is ideal for events and business meetings
  • Conveniently located near Civic Center, cable car stops
  • Free continental breakfast
Rooms

The 96 rooms -- including 3 suites -- at the Cova Hotel are clean, contemporary and efficient. All rooms feature furniture in soft sand tones and ceiling-to-floor windows that look out on the city skyline. They also boast spacious bathrooms and French balconies. Standard amenities include high-definition flat-screen televisions, I-Home stereo clocks, electronic safes, irons, coffee makers and hair dryers. Wi-Fi is available (fees apply).

Features

Perhaps the biggest draw for the Cova Hotel is its complimentary shuttle service, which transports guests to some of the most popular destinations in the city. The shuttle leaves the hotel hourly and stops at places such as Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center.

 

The Cova Hotel also features a multi-lingual concierge, 24-hour fitness center, same-day laundry and dry cleaning (fees apply) and 24-hour room service. On-site car rental is available through ZipCar, an environmentally friendly car share service (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Modern Museum of Art
  • City Hall
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • AT&T Park
  • Golden Gate Park
Business
  • Eighth-floor Rooftop Terrace offers open-air banquet space with views of the entire city
  • 24-hour business center
  • Oasis Banquet Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with breathtaking views
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel will undergo renovation starting 20 December 2013 and scheduled to last for 16 weeks. All rooms in the proximity of the affected site will be closed off to guests. The hotel apologises for any inconvenience.
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply).
  • Starting December 15, 2012, the parking fee for Cova guests will be $27.00 for 24 hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.784 -122.4169
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco, (SFO), 15.00, MI, S; Metropolitan, (OAK), 25.00, MI, SE; San Jose, (SJC), 45.00, MI, S;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cova Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Cova Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Our Deluxe Rooms feature modern furniture with a contemporary aesthetic. These deluxe guest rooms are available in King-size and two Queen-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 475 square feet and accomodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. These rooms are available from our 3rd to 7th floors.
Executive Suite
Our one bedroom Suites share modern contemporary furniture and a modern designed spacious bathroom as the rest of our guest rooms. Our distinct one room suites feature a King-size bed in the bedroom and a kitchen that opens to the living room with sofa. Both the living room and bedroom also come with a 32" High Definition Flat Screen TV. Our room size is approximately 655 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on the existing bed. These rooms are available from our 5th to 7th floors.
Superior Room
Our Superior Rooms feature modern contemporary furniture and a spacious bathroom. We feature an Otto-man Chair with foot rest for the single King bedroom and a large writing desk in all rooms. These guest rooms are available in single King-size, two Queens-size, and two Full-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 326 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. The rooms are available from our 2nd to 7th floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.8 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (135)

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LP mom
Los Angeles
Nov 8, 2012

Good place to stay

The hotel is located in the less glamorous area, however it seems to be safe and of no real concern. As usual, the traveler is responsible of his/her own conduct and consequences ... walking back from Union Square to the hotel you will walk by the homeless sleeping on the street and might meet younger people that might make you feel uneasy ... as I said, know your manners, safety and street conduct and you'll be safe. The hotel offers free shuttle to Union Square thus even getting back to the hotel in the evening is easily done. The staff is very nice and ready to help; the room quality is ok for the price, the basics are all there and the breakfast included is abundant and in variety. Room is clean, not exceptional, but clean overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bagrat
Business
Yerevan, Armenia
May 5, 2014

Nice hotel for business and family trip.

The rooms are very comfortable, the stuff is professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elaine Liang
Business
Ithaca, NY, USA
Nov 9, 2011

very good hotel

Free breakfast, free shuttle to hot spots in SF, free internet, business center, fitness center, etc. This hotel has a lot of amenities but with a reasonable price. CLEAN and BIG room! RECOMMEND IT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VanessaR
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Apr 2, 2013

Great hotel, not the best location

The Cova Hotel in San Francisco is a great hotel, although it's not located in the best place, since it's really close to homeless shelters and they're always wondering around, which doesn't make it the safest of places. The room was totally comfort, and the deluxe breakfast was amazing. The staff was really good as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pyssak
Business
San Francisco, ca
Jul 9, 2013

Amazing Hotel

Great location, very clean, modern! Enjoyed my stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Artara
Business
LA
Jul 27, 2013

No Title

Great staff, clean and comfortable. Everyone will love this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa City,IA
Dec 23, 2009

very good hotel with good price

very good service and people. room is very clean and comfortable. The only bad thing is the location. Feel less safety when walking around it at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento,ca
Apr 26, 2010

Great place to stay

I read through some of these reviews befor I stayed and was alittle worried about how safe it was. After my stay I laughed at some of the comments. Sure its not the best block of frisco but its kinda hard to find a perfect area any where in the city. I was able to walk about four blocks to the bart station very easily even the walk back at around 11pm was fine. I we left our hotel we all agreed it was one of the best hotel stays we ever experianced. The breakfast is great and the view is even better on the 8th floor it feels like they should charge for that alone. I loved the shampoo as well its from china and has some type of refreshing mint that was perfect for a hang over. The hotel parking was 30$ for the night. That very pricey but at least I didnt have to find a parking space and it seemed very safe and secure. The staff is top notch!! For the price I dont think you can beat this. A++ service! I will stay here agin next month with my fiance for the bay to breakers run. I highly reccomend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to bart station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Haven, CT
Nov 4, 2008

Great facilities

The Cova Hotel was very comfortable, the room was very clean and organized, I liked the very modern look and the fact that it had a flat TV. The staff was very kind. The internet access was free of charge. Although the Hotel is located in a great area downtown, close to the main shopping center of San Francisco, the street where the hotel is located, which leads to Market street is dangerous at night, but an alternative way to get to the hotel through Geary St which was completely different worked for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The main shopping center of the city is very close to the Hotel (Union Square), and also the Cable car station to go to fishermans wharf (Powell and Market). Taking the bus at Geary St, in front of a Lacoste store, you can go to Japan Town, very interesting visit and great restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita
Oct 7, 2009

great travel value

Stayed at Cova during a trip to see opera and orchestra performances. Very convenient location for that purpose. I liked everything about the hotel. Business Center computer access was much appreciated. Breakfast buffet very nice. Room was very comfortable. Liked everything about my stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B' real
Business
San Diego CA
Dec 14, 2009

Great Hotel and Staff, Eclectic Location

Hotel has been extremly under rated. Location is close to everything,rooms and amenities are eco- friendly, continental breakfast with a view, outstanding. Fresh sheets, fluffy towels and minty fresh toiletries. Ellis street does have some homeless shelters so if your affraid of homeless people :( Don't go to San Francisco! Front desk makes guests aware of homeless shelter locations and advises which streets to go on to avoid them. Will always return to Cova and recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the smaller Asian restuarants in the neighborhood. Authentic foods and better prices then you will find in the tourist area of China town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top