$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Cova Hotel

3 stars
655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
208 reviews
Nice hotel for business and family trip.

The rooms are very comfortable, the stuff is professional. See full review

  • Bagrat
  • May 5, 2014
No Title

Great staff, clean and comfortable. Everyone will love this place. See full review

  • Artara
  • Jul 27, 2013
Subtle touches, free breakfast and shuttles at Little Saigon boutique

Perched at the confluence of San Francisco's Little Saigon and Civic Center neighborhoods, the Cova Hotel offers clean and modern accommodations for a fraction of the cost of swankier Union Square lodging. Boutique style, complimentary continental breakfast and free buses around town are just some of the reasons guests return. The rooftop terrace also is a big draw for business clientele. The hotel is a three-block walk to cable car stops.

Highlights
  • Take advantage of complimentary shuttle buses that travel all over town
  • Rooftop Terrace is ideal for events and business meetings
  • Conveniently located near Civic Center, cable car stops
  • Free continental breakfast
Rooms

The 96 rooms -- including 3 suites -- at the Cova Hotel are clean, contemporary and efficient. All rooms feature furniture in soft sand tones and ceiling-to-floor windows that look out on the city skyline. They also boast spacious bathrooms and French balconies. Standard amenities include high-definition flat-screen televisions, I-Home stereo clocks, electronic safes, irons, coffee makers and hair dryers. Wi-Fi is available (fees apply).

Features

Perhaps the biggest draw for the Cova Hotel is its complimentary shuttle service, which transports guests to some of the most popular destinations in the city. The shuttle leaves the hotel hourly and stops at places such as Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center.

 

The Cova Hotel also features a multi-lingual concierge, 24-hour fitness center, same-day laundry and dry cleaning (fees apply) and 24-hour room service. On-site car rental is available through ZipCar, an environmentally friendly car share service (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Modern Museum of Art
  • City Hall
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • AT&T Park
  • Golden Gate Park
Business
  • Eighth-floor Rooftop Terrace offers open-air banquet space with views of the entire city
  • 24-hour business center
  • Oasis Banquet Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with breathtaking views
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel will undergo renovation starting 20 December 2013 and scheduled to last for 16 weeks. All rooms in the proximity of the affected site will be closed off to guests. The hotel apologises for any inconvenience.
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply).
  • Starting December 15, 2012, the parking fee for Cova guests will be $27.00 for 24 hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.784 -122.4169
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco, (SFO), 15.00, MI, S; Metropolitan, (OAK), 25.00, MI, SE; San Jose, (SJC), 45.00, MI, S;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cova Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Cova Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Our Deluxe Rooms feature modern furniture with a contemporary aesthetic. These deluxe guest rooms are available in King-size and two Queen-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 475 square feet and accomodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. These rooms are available from our 3rd to 7th floors.
Executive Suite
Our one bedroom Suites share modern contemporary furniture and a modern designed spacious bathroom as the rest of our guest rooms. Our distinct one room suites feature a King-size bed in the bedroom and a kitchen that opens to the living room with sofa. Both the living room and bedroom also come with a 32" High Definition Flat Screen TV. Our room size is approximately 655 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on the existing bed. These rooms are available from our 5th to 7th floors.
Superior Room
Our Superior Rooms feature modern contemporary furniture and a spacious bathroom. We feature an Otto-man Chair with foot rest for the single King bedroom and a large writing desk in all rooms. These guest rooms are available in single King-size, two Queens-size, and two Full-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 326 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. The rooms are available from our 2nd to 7th floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2.5
Value:
3.8

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coffeepaper
Dallas, TX
Mar 17, 2011

Good hotel, poor location

The hotel is new, beautiful, and very modern. The breakfast was also pretty impressive... it consisted of toast, jam, nutella, coffee, waffle, etc. The staff were somewhat helpful, yet very courteous. The only downfall to this place is its location: the Tenderloin. My friend who lives in SF described it as one of the most dangerous places in SF! I walked on the streets of this hotel only a few times... it was quite frightening. Make sure you take advantage of the hotel's shuttle services instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coffeepaper
Dallas, TX
Mar 17, 2011

Good hotel, poor location

The hotel is new, beautiful, and very modern. The breakfast was also pretty impressive... it consisted of toast, jam, nutella, coffee, waffle, etc. The staff were somewhat helpful, yet very courteous. The only downfall to this place is its location: the Tenderloin. My friend who lives in SF described it as one of the most dangerous places in SF! I walked on the streets of this hotel only a few times... it was quite frightening. Make sure you take advantage of the hotel's shuttle services instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Casper Benz
Los Angeles
Mar 7, 2011

Cova Hotel

My experience shortly put is that this hotel is in a horrible location/area. The staff during the evening hours hardly speak English, same for the vallet. However during the day the staff are more than great they are helpful and most of all you can understand them and they can understand you. The appearance of the hotel from the exterior is deceiving because the outside doesn't look that great but once inside it is a pleasant environment and modern. On another note I spotted RATS not inside the hotel to my knowledge but outside around the vallet where they park the cars and the surrounding streets. This is due to the area and if your comfortable being surrounded by the homeless ranting all hours of the night and the druggies shooting up right out front then this is the hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is not safe to walk in this area, however all the dinning options in the area do not have suitable parking so the only choice is to walk or take a cab.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Casper Benz
Los Angeles
Mar 7, 2011

Cova Hotel

My experience shortly put is that this hotel is in a horrible location/area. The staff during the evening hours hardly speak English, same for the vallet. However during the day the staff are more than great they are helpful and most of all you can understand them and they can understand you. The appearance of the hotel from the exterior is deceiving because the outside doesn't look that great but once inside it is a pleasant environment and modern. On another note I spotted RATS not inside the hotel to my knowledge but outside around the vallet where they park the cars and the surrounding streets. This is due to the area and if your comfortable being surrounded by the homeless ranting all hours of the night and the druggies shooting up right out front then this is the hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is not safe to walk in this area, however all the dinning options in the area do not have suitable parking so the only choice is to walk or take a cab.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
san francisco,ca
Mar 6, 2011

decient and alright priced

price was alright. neighborhood was a little uneasy and room was small but staff was friendly and prompt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
san francisco,ca
Mar 6, 2011

decient and alright priced

price was alright. neighborhood was a little uneasy and room was small but staff was friendly and prompt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Durso
Business
Temecula CA
Feb 28, 2011

Awesome Hotel Very Clean

It was in the TL but super nice hotel couldnt ask for more. Clean rooms didnt smell and staff was very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Durso
Business
Temecula CA
Feb 28, 2011

Awesome Hotel Very Clean

It was in the TL but super nice hotel couldnt ask for more. Clean rooms didnt smell and staff was very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 27, 2011

Don't Stay Here without a Bodyguard!

This was a bad experience for three professional young women. While the decor was nice, the elevator was out of service and we had to walk up and down 6 flights of stairs! The room only had one mirror (in the bathroom) so it was hard for 3 girls to get ready in the morning. Most importantly, while we thought we would be near Union Square, the 4 block walk was extremely frightening for us. The hotel is actually in the Tenderloin district, which is very dangerous and sketchy. You have to pass a mission and a church feeding the homeless in order to get to Union Square. Overall it was a bad choice and now we know that we would not stay in this area again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Stay out of the Tenderloin/Little Saigon area!

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 27, 2011

Don't Stay Here without a Bodyguard!

This was a bad experience for three professional young women. While the decor was nice, the elevator was out of service and we had to walk up and down 6 flights of stairs! The room only had one mirror (in the bathroom) so it was hard for 3 girls to get ready in the morning. Most importantly, while we thought we would be near Union Square, the 4 block walk was extremely frightening for us. The hotel is actually in the Tenderloin district, which is very dangerous and sketchy. You have to pass a mission and a church feeding the homeless in order to get to Union Square. Overall it was a bad choice and now we know that we would not stay in this area again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Stay out of the Tenderloin/Little Saigon area!

Back to menu Return to top