$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Cova Hotel

3 stars
655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
135 reviews
Nice hotel for business and family trip.

The rooms are very comfortable, the stuff is professional. See full review

  • Bagrat
  • May 5, 2014
No Title

Great staff, clean and comfortable. Everyone will love this place. See full review

  • Artara
  • Jul 27, 2013
Subtle touches, free breakfast and shuttles at Little Saigon boutique

Perched at the confluence of San Francisco's Little Saigon and Civic Center neighborhoods, the Cova Hotel offers clean and modern accommodations for a fraction of the cost of swankier Union Square lodging. Boutique style, complimentary continental breakfast and free buses around town are just some of the reasons guests return. The rooftop terrace also is a big draw for business clientele. The hotel is a three-block walk to cable car stops.

Highlights
  • Take advantage of complimentary shuttle buses that travel all over town
  • Rooftop Terrace is ideal for events and business meetings
  • Conveniently located near Civic Center, cable car stops
  • Free continental breakfast
Rooms

The 96 rooms -- including 3 suites -- at the Cova Hotel are clean, contemporary and efficient. All rooms feature furniture in soft sand tones and ceiling-to-floor windows that look out on the city skyline. They also boast spacious bathrooms and French balconies. Standard amenities include high-definition flat-screen televisions, I-Home stereo clocks, electronic safes, irons, coffee makers and hair dryers. Wi-Fi is available (fees apply).

Features

Perhaps the biggest draw for the Cova Hotel is its complimentary shuttle service, which transports guests to some of the most popular destinations in the city. The shuttle leaves the hotel hourly and stops at places such as Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center.

 

The Cova Hotel also features a multi-lingual concierge, 24-hour fitness center, same-day laundry and dry cleaning (fees apply) and 24-hour room service. On-site car rental is available through ZipCar, an environmentally friendly car share service (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Modern Museum of Art
  • City Hall
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • AT&T Park
  • Golden Gate Park
Business
  • Eighth-floor Rooftop Terrace offers open-air banquet space with views of the entire city
  • 24-hour business center
  • Oasis Banquet Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with breathtaking views
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel will undergo renovation starting 20 December 2013 and scheduled to last for 16 weeks. All rooms in the proximity of the affected site will be closed off to guests. The hotel apologises for any inconvenience.
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply).
  • Starting December 15, 2012, the parking fee for Cova guests will be $27.00 for 24 hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.784 -122.4169
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco, (SFO), 15.00, MI, S; Metropolitan, (OAK), 25.00, MI, SE; San Jose, (SJC), 45.00, MI, S;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cova Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Cova Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Our Deluxe Rooms feature modern furniture with a contemporary aesthetic. These deluxe guest rooms are available in King-size and two Queen-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 475 square feet and accomodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. These rooms are available from our 3rd to 7th floors.
Executive Suite
Our one bedroom Suites share modern contemporary furniture and a modern designed spacious bathroom as the rest of our guest rooms. Our distinct one room suites feature a King-size bed in the bedroom and a kitchen that opens to the living room with sofa. Both the living room and bedroom also come with a 32" High Definition Flat Screen TV. Our room size is approximately 655 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on the existing bed. These rooms are available from our 5th to 7th floors.
Superior Room
Our Superior Rooms feature modern contemporary furniture and a spacious bathroom. We feature an Otto-man Chair with foot rest for the single King bedroom and a large writing desk in all rooms. These guest rooms are available in single King-size, two Queens-size, and two Full-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 326 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. The rooms are available from our 2nd to 7th floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (135)

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
stockton,ca
Feb 22, 2011

nice hotel but in tendreloin

nice hotel clean and near union square. It was great to walk to the chinese new year parade it was only 1.4 mile away. Staff was nice and curtious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

In the tenderloin dist.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rancho mirage, ca.
Feb 9, 2011

check in early...

i traveled out to the city on business with a couple of friends and co-workers. got in about 130am and was really nervous about choosing the hotel as i was driving to it. location is horrible, tenderloin. rats, trash, homeless, and working girls. upon arrival i was greeted by valet who i had a difficult time understanding, and went on inside to check in. the desk was no different, lady was just ok. i attempted to start up small talk and no response. again i had a hard time communicating with her because of her very bad english. once we woke the next day, completely different experience with the staff. nice people all around the hotel, the streets felt a little safer. i feel bad for the owner of this property because the hotel is not bad for the price actually kind of a deal for the quality, but the location is really bad. location alone is the only reason why i will not recommend this place, but if you are ok with seeing humanity at it's worst, then this is a great hotel to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zaferter
Business
istanbul
Feb 7, 2011

Cova Hotel

Really nice service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K-OYGUR
Business
Istanbul, Turkey
Feb 4, 2011

GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY

cova hotel was not super but ok in many ways- front desk was extremely good and helper, room was clean, hotel was not big but nice, didn't have fridge in the room but got ice from 7th floor,breakfast was not great but ok, complimentary wi-fi, all in all it was good value for the money- only snag was the surroundings! many homeless people in the streets nearby and in ellis str though they do not harm anybody but a little bit scary! good thing is that the hotel offers shuttle to union sq and fisherman's wharf and anton the driver/concierge/front desk person was very courteous doing mostly a taxi's job-driving you even just a single person and taking you back hotel if you make reservation in advance or if you call- and the service is free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

take the hotel shuttle service which is free and every hour go to union sq where you can find many good restaurants, shops, bookstores etc- we did go to cheesecake factory on 8 th floor of macy's store and the food was delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jan 16, 2011

Cova

Front desk was always very helpful. Neighborhood is not a desirable area to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the smart traveler
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Jan 12, 2011

Cova Hotel

I enjoyed staying at the Cova Inn. We went up for a couple days and left on New Years. Although the city, and the hotel were booked, we were given excellent service. The Ipod dock didn't work but besides that, the rooms are modern and comfortable. Free breakfast was a little buffet with just the essentials but everything was fresh and delicious. Maybe not the best neighborhood for a family, but most city activities are a short walk from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Dec 19, 2010

Xmas 2010

very pleasant and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aguing
Business
eastern Washington
Dec 16, 2010

Cova Hotel in the Tenderloin

People were very nice, clean hotel, nice roof-top terrace with view. The area around the hotel is shady and dirty. Good value given that it is in a poor neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go up to Van Ness and Polk streets. Tommy's sandwich shop and the Village Pizziaria were great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
noch
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 6, 2010

Excellent Value

Excellent Value. Just wanted a cheap place to stay for a few nights and found this well reviewed hotel on Larkin, just a few blocks from Union Square and in the middle of the row of asian restaurants that line that street. The location is not anything out of the ordinary for being in San Fransisco, ie. I did not encounter lines of homeless as hinted at by other reviewers. It is obvious that the place has been recently renovated/remodeled. Nova has a exceptionally clean, asian-influenced decor and friendly staff. Everything in my room felt basically new. The downside is that it is apparent Cova is still an old San Fransisco building-- tight room spacing and poor sound insulation. I could hear neighboring room's conversations etc.. that being said, for the price this was an excellent value and I look forward to staying there next time I am in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several modern and classic Asian eateries walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 17, 2010

The good, the bad and the really ugly.

The hotel was nice but in the bad part of town. There were a lot of homeless people at day and "working girls" @ night. The hotel was up to date and par to modern design. We stayed on the 7th floor but could not sleep at night without being waken up by the people upstairs! It sounded like rolling thunders and you could actually here people walking back and forth, mind you at 2 to 4 am. And then again at 6 to 8 am. We stayed for 2 nights but didn't get much sleep. Walls were thin and you could hear the people next door if they were coming in or out because it sounded like they were coming in our own door. I don't really recommend this hotel. I would pay the extra $50 to stay somewhere more quiet and less slum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top