$153 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Cova Hotel

3 stars
View map of 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco,ca
Mar 6, 2011

decient and alright priced

price was alright. neighborhood was a little uneasy and room was small but staff was friendly and prompt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Durso
Business
Temecula CA
Feb 28, 2011

Awesome Hotel Very Clean

It was in the TL but super nice hotel couldnt ask for more. Clean rooms didnt smell and staff was very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 27, 2011

Don't Stay Here without a Bodyguard!

This was a bad experience for three professional young women. While the decor was nice, the elevator was out of service and we had to walk up and down 6 flights of stairs! The room only had one mirror (in the bathroom) so it was hard for 3 girls to get ready in the morning. Most importantly, while we thought we would be near Union Square, the 4 block walk was extremely frightening for us. The hotel is actually in the Tenderloin district, which is very dangerous and sketchy. You have to pass a mission and a church feeding the homeless in order to get to Union Square. Overall it was a bad choice and now we know that we would not stay in this area again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Stay out of the Tenderloin/Little Saigon area!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Feb 22, 2011

Nice hotel, great service.

Very nice hotel, its well worth it. However as previous ppl stated it's not in the best area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Suchi place @ Pier 39 is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
stockton,ca
Feb 22, 2011

nice hotel but in tendreloin

nice hotel clean and near union square. It was great to walk to the chinese new year parade it was only 1.4 mile away. Staff was nice and curtious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

In the tenderloin dist.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rancho mirage, ca.
Feb 9, 2011

check in early...

i traveled out to the city on business with a couple of friends and co-workers. got in about 130am and was really nervous about choosing the hotel as i was driving to it. location is horrible, tenderloin. rats, trash, homeless, and working girls. upon arrival i was greeted by valet who i had a difficult time understanding, and went on inside to check in. the desk was no different, lady was just ok. i attempted to start up small talk and no response. again i had a hard time communicating with her because of her very bad english. once we woke the next day, completely different experience with the staff. nice people all around the hotel, the streets felt a little safer. i feel bad for the owner of this property because the hotel is not bad for the price actually kind of a deal for the quality, but the location is really bad. location alone is the only reason why i will not recommend this place, but if you are ok with seeing humanity at it's worst, then this is a great hotel to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zaferter
Business
istanbul
Feb 7, 2011

Cova Hotel

Really nice service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K-OYGUR
Business
Istanbul, Turkey
Feb 4, 2011

GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY

cova hotel was not super but ok in many ways- front desk was extremely good and helper, room was clean, hotel was not big but nice, didn't have fridge in the room but got ice from 7th floor,breakfast was not great but ok, complimentary wi-fi, all in all it was good value for the money- only snag was the surroundings! many homeless people in the streets nearby and in ellis str though they do not harm anybody but a little bit scary! good thing is that the hotel offers shuttle to union sq and fisherman's wharf and anton the driver/concierge/front desk person was very courteous doing mostly a taxi's job-driving you even just a single person and taking you back hotel if you make reservation in advance or if you call- and the service is free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

take the hotel shuttle service which is free and every hour go to union sq where you can find many good restaurants, shops, bookstores etc- we did go to cheesecake factory on 8 th floor of macy's store and the food was delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jan 16, 2011

Cova

Front desk was always very helpful. Neighborhood is not a desirable area to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the smart traveler
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Jan 12, 2011

Cova Hotel

I enjoyed staying at the Cova Inn. We went up for a couple days and left on New Years. Although the city, and the hotel were booked, we were given excellent service. The Ipod dock didn't work but besides that, the rooms are modern and comfortable. Free breakfast was a little buffet with just the essentials but everything was fresh and delicious. Maybe not the best neighborhood for a family, but most city activities are a short walk from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top