$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 24, 2015

Cova Hotel

3 stars
View map of 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pyssak
San Francisco, ca
Jul 9, 2013

Amazing Hotel

Great location, very clean, modern! Enjoyed my stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
povertyjetset
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Nov 5, 2011

Great Place, Weird Neighborhood

This is a pretty great hotel - well designed and the rooftop breakfast restaurant can't be beat. But the neighborhood leaves something to be desired - still a pretty rough part of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Xena
Business
Sunnyvale
Sep 19, 2011

decent for price and needs

I would have given this 4 stars, but the room needed some upgrades. BED- was by far the best! the TV could not get s signal, rug and floor and bathroom were clean, but it just lacked the boutique-y flare that comes with that cute overall special feel. It was great in terms of location, as I was visiting friends that lived a few blocks away and the bars we visited were all within walking distance, which at the end of the nite was a lifesaver considering we could just walk back to our hotel after many drinks and it was totally fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

the hotel offers free shuttle to touristy attractions, though I am not a tourist, its great for those who don't know the city, you can get around easily and learn to walk back and enjoy the view while doing it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tired momma
Business
North Bay CA
Aug 15, 2011

noisy

There was a party at the hotel and it was very loud on my floor. The music was vibrating the walls and people would randomly knock on my door even with the do not disturb sign on. Two calls to the lobby and it got a little better but not much. They could not get me another room and they said they would give me a discount but did not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder CO
Jul 1, 2011

Not recommended

Really rough late-night check-in with a half-attentive front desk attendant who couldn't seem to get me a working room try (tried 3 times before I requested a different room). Just a really frustrating first impression and other travelers seem to have the same impression.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sprint the first three blocks out of the hotel and then you find yourself in some better areas and closer to Union Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
redding
Jun 27, 2011

not the best

A bit over priced if you ask me. the rooms are nice but very very small. In a bad part of town. Slow service at the desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jun 1, 2011

My Experience

It Was pretty good.. Rooms were pretty clean and everything was ready for us. Breakfast wasn't that Good. Unfortunately some food was really old and you can notice that, restaurant service took so long for a ommelette but after 20 minutes waiting that couple of eggs was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SanFran
May 18, 2011

review of the cova hotel

good clean hotel bit of a rough neighborhood sheets not changed everyday possibility for good room service from neaby restaurant catering service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

sushi restaurant (forgot the name)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
granite bay, ca
May 17, 2011

awsome hotel, iffy location

hotel was modern great breakfast, bedrooms very nice, but many homeless around

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Missmendo
Business
Monterey, CA
Mar 21, 2011

Nice room, nice staff & the rest SUCKS

The location was bad, but priced accordingly. Front desk staff very nice, even had champagne sent to our room after finding out it was my bday. The lobby, elevators and hallways were below average - hallways had very low ceilings and reeked of cigarette smoke. Room was nice, very clean and of our two rooms, one had a spectacular view. The most dissapointing part of the trip was the "continental breakfast." Over-crowded with HUNGRY people and under-stocked with food. One lousy old waffle maker, toaster, a couple of nearly empty cereals and some random unapealing sandwich makings. Again, the front desk staff was very nice, but I would not stay at his hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coffeepaper
Business
Dallas, TX
Mar 17, 2011

Good hotel, poor location

The hotel is new, beautiful, and very modern. The breakfast was also pretty impressive... it consisted of toast, jam, nutella, coffee, waffle, etc. The staff were somewhat helpful, yet very courteous. The only downfall to this place is its location: the Tenderloin. My friend who lives in SF described it as one of the most dangerous places in SF! I walked on the streets of this hotel only a few times... it was quite frightening. Make sure you take advantage of the hotel's shuttle services instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top