$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

Cova Hotel

3 stars
655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
149 reviews
Nice hotel for business and family trip.

The rooms are very comfortable, the stuff is professional. See full review

  • Bagrat
  • May 5, 2014
No Title

Great staff, clean and comfortable. Everyone will love this place. See full review

  • Artara
  • Jul 27, 2013
Subtle touches, free breakfast and shuttles at Little Saigon boutique

Perched at the confluence of San Francisco's Little Saigon and Civic Center neighborhoods, the Cova Hotel offers clean and modern accommodations for a fraction of the cost of swankier Union Square lodging. Boutique style, complimentary continental breakfast and free buses around town are just some of the reasons guests return. The rooftop terrace also is a big draw for business clientele. The hotel is a three-block walk to cable car stops.

Highlights
  • Take advantage of complimentary shuttle buses that travel all over town
  • Rooftop Terrace is ideal for events and business meetings
  • Conveniently located near Civic Center, cable car stops
  • Free continental breakfast
Rooms

The 96 rooms -- including 3 suites -- at the Cova Hotel are clean, contemporary and efficient. All rooms feature furniture in soft sand tones and ceiling-to-floor windows that look out on the city skyline. They also boast spacious bathrooms and French balconies. Standard amenities include high-definition flat-screen televisions, I-Home stereo clocks, electronic safes, irons, coffee makers and hair dryers. Wi-Fi is available (fees apply).

Features

Perhaps the biggest draw for the Cova Hotel is its complimentary shuttle service, which transports guests to some of the most popular destinations in the city. The shuttle leaves the hotel hourly and stops at places such as Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center.

 

The Cova Hotel also features a multi-lingual concierge, 24-hour fitness center, same-day laundry and dry cleaning (fees apply) and 24-hour room service. On-site car rental is available through ZipCar, an environmentally friendly car share service (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Modern Museum of Art
  • City Hall
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • AT&T Park
  • Golden Gate Park
Business
  • Eighth-floor Rooftop Terrace offers open-air banquet space with views of the entire city
  • 24-hour business center
  • Oasis Banquet Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with breathtaking views
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel will undergo renovation starting 20 December 2013 and scheduled to last for 16 weeks. All rooms in the proximity of the affected site will be closed off to guests. The hotel apologises for any inconvenience.
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply).
  • Starting December 15, 2012, the parking fee for Cova guests will be $27.00 for 24 hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.784 -122.4169
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco, (SFO), 15.00, MI, S; Metropolitan, (OAK), 25.00, MI, SE; San Jose, (SJC), 45.00, MI, S;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cova Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Cova Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Our Deluxe Rooms feature modern furniture with a contemporary aesthetic. These deluxe guest rooms are available in King-size and two Queen-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 475 square feet and accomodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. These rooms are available from our 3rd to 7th floors.
Executive Suite
Our one bedroom Suites share modern contemporary furniture and a modern designed spacious bathroom as the rest of our guest rooms. Our distinct one room suites feature a King-size bed in the bedroom and a kitchen that opens to the living room with sofa. Both the living room and bedroom also come with a 32" High Definition Flat Screen TV. Our room size is approximately 655 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on the existing bed. These rooms are available from our 5th to 7th floors.
Superior Room
Our Superior Rooms feature modern contemporary furniture and a spacious bathroom. We feature an Otto-man Chair with foot rest for the single King bedroom and a large writing desk in all rooms. These guest rooms are available in single King-size, two Queens-size, and two Full-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 326 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. The rooms are available from our 2nd to 7th floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (149)

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2.5
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elaine Liang
Ithaca, NY, USA
Nov 9, 2011

very good hotel

Free breakfast, free shuttle to hot spots in SF, free internet, business center, fitness center, etc. This hotel has a lot of amenities but with a reasonable price. CLEAN and BIG room! RECOMMEND IT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The GOAT
Chicago, IL
Nov 14, 2011

Nice Hotel, not the best location, but the shuttle is really nice

Really nice hotel for the price. If you dont mind the neighborhood. The shuttle service was great. The rooms were really nice for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tzji
melbourne
Nov 9, 2011

good hotel for low budget

great access to city shops, chinatown & transport. Internet is free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
povertyjetset
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Nov 5, 2011

Great Place, Weird Neighborhood

This is a pretty great hotel - well designed and the rooftop breakfast restaurant can't be beat. But the neighborhood leaves something to be desired - still a pretty rough part of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Xena
Sunnyvale
Sep 19, 2011

decent for price and needs

I would have given this 4 stars, but the room needed some upgrades. BED- was by far the best! the TV could not get s signal, rug and floor and bathroom were clean, but it just lacked the boutique-y flare that comes with that cute overall special feel. It was great in terms of location, as I was visiting friends that lived a few blocks away and the bars we visited were all within walking distance, which at the end of the nite was a lifesaver considering we could just walk back to our hotel after many drinks and it was totally fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

the hotel offers free shuttle to touristy attractions, though I am not a tourist, its great for those who don't know the city, you can get around easily and learn to walk back and enjoy the view while doing it.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tired momma
North Bay CA
Aug 15, 2011

noisy

There was a party at the hotel and it was very loud on my floor. The music was vibrating the walls and people would randomly knock on my door even with the do not disturb sign on. Two calls to the lobby and it got a little better but not much. They could not get me another room and they said they would give me a discount but did not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder CO
Jul 1, 2011

Not recommended

Really rough late-night check-in with a half-attentive front desk attendant who couldn't seem to get me a working room try (tried 3 times before I requested a different room). Just a really frustrating first impression and other travelers seem to have the same impression.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sprint the first three blocks out of the hotel and then you find yourself in some better areas and closer to Union Square.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
redding
Jun 27, 2011

not the best

A bit over priced if you ask me. the rooms are nice but very very small. In a bad part of town. Slow service at the desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jun 1, 2011

My Experience

It Was pretty good.. Rooms were pretty clean and everything was ready for us. Breakfast wasn't that Good. Unfortunately some food was really old and you can notice that, restaurant service took so long for a ommelette but after 20 minutes waiting that couple of eggs was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SanFran
May 18, 2011

review of the cova hotel

good clean hotel bit of a rough neighborhood sheets not changed everyday possibility for good room service from neaby restaurant catering service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

sushi restaurant (forgot the name)

Back to menu Return to top

Change search