$174 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Cova Hotel

3 stars
View map of 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikki Tourist
Business
San Bernardino, CA
Sep 10, 2012

Great staff. but the hotel needs a little work

The hotel staff were very nice and helpful. They helped me find good places to visit for food and places to see. I loved that the hotel had shuttle transportation to and from Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square. All that aside, there's no free parking, so you have to pay $25 a day at the vale next to the hotel. Also, the room is pretty clean except for the marks on the walls and the way the tub paint peels off. None of these really effect the cleanliness of the room... the room is pretty clean, it's just a comment on presentation. Overall, the place is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the shuttle to Union Square and ask the driver to show you where Sear's Fine Foods is located. The food is $$, but the people and the taste of the food is worth the price!

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raleigh dude
Business
McLean, VA
Sep 8, 2012

Good value

Far less expensive than equivalent hotels that are closer to Union Square. Good overall. Location not great, but not unsafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GMD LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 26, 2012

Getaway

Overall good stay and good value. Would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Andi
Business
Maryland
Jul 27, 2012

Comfortable and Reasonably Priced

The accommodations were comfortable with a friendly staff. Complimentary shuttles to/from Fisherman's Wharf were most helpful after many hours of walking hills. The proximity within walking distance to Union Square was an added plus, but you had to walk past some seedy characters to your destination. If you don't mind this, the hotel's per night charge is very reasonable. I would book this hotel again for my next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FJFJFLJFL
Business
SAN FRANCISCO
Jul 12, 2012

GREAT HOTEL...CENTRALLY LOCATED DOWNTOWN

VERY NICE....ALSO INCLUDES FREE BREAKFAST...CENTRALLY LOCATED DOWNTOWN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vboy000
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Jul 6, 2012

San Francisco

I picked this hotel because I thought it is near the downtown of San Francisco. It is close to all the tourist attractions, but we didn't feel safe walking around its nearby neighborhood at night. You have to take taxi or free hotel shuttle to Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square. Everything else was good, hotel staffs are friendly, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI but extremely slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vactioner Pride weekend
Business
NYC
Jun 25, 2012

Seedy location

For a hotel that was billed as 4 star, not sure what rating system they are using. On checking in I was shown on a map with a location directly to the right of the hotel several blocks wide that I shouldn't venture into, not very reassuring or inviting to hear on first checking in. Staff were very helpful but accomodations like one bathroom in the lobby that is locked and check in not till 3 leaves a rather long line. Also the resturant in the lobby closed, and being in an area with establishments that seedy looking as well leaves you to starve or go wothout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alfio
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Jun 25, 2012

Would stay here again...

Never met a friendlier staff...very helpful...and really interested in the guests comfort and safety...rooms very clean...well stocked with amenities...even though hotel is in a sketchy area, always felt safe...! Would definitely stay here again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

even though hotel is in a sketchy area...there are some amazing resturants in the area ...highly recommend Red Crawfish...great/real Cajun food..just around the corner of Asian Art Museum, and Orpheum Theatre...where you can first rate Broadway productions

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tired and sleepy traveler
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 19, 2012

Looks good but feels cheap

The room looked exactly like the picture online (clean, neat and modern), but the bed felt like it was 30 years old and had TONS of lumps and dipped in on each side so neither me nor my husband got any sleep. It felt like we were sleeping in a bowl. The parking was outrageous even if you were a guest at the hotel and the valet didn't even get our car for us when we were leaving and just hand us our keys and pointed at where the car was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelerfromPA
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 30, 2012

Great comfort inside, noy that nice outside

The hotel is very good. Rooms and dinning area are excellent. The only tradeoff is the location that, even though it is very close to the financial and touristic areas, there are many homeless people around, some of them aggressively panhandling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

MoMA, Metreon, Powell St, Financial district

Back to menu Return to top