$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 20, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Cova Hotel

3 stars
View map of 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bagrat
Business
Yerevan, Armenia
May 5, 2014

Nice hotel for business and family trip.

The rooms are very comfortable, the stuff is professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don K
Business
Ireland
Apr 23, 2014

Short San Fran stay

Loved this hotel. Staff very helpfull and friendly. Beds very comfortably and very nice contintental breakfast. Excellent shuttle service to/from Fishermans wharf etc. always on time..thanks Glen. Area of Ellis st has lots of social issues..which in general can be avoided but we encountered no problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ormedic
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Apr 11, 2014

The staff was fantastic!

I have never run across more friendly, helpful staff. They went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our visit to the city. The room was comfortable and clean. The free shuttle to several of the main attractions in the city was also a great help. We definitely will stay here again if we ever visit San Francisco in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Betsy Letsy
Business
Cincinnati OH
Mar 16, 2014

Sketchy area

The hotel is wonderful with a nice restaurant attached but walking through the neighborhood to get there is pretty bad. Its in Tenderloin which is a developing area and theres a lot of homeless people around. No one pays you any attention but still uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Annapants
Business
Los Angeles
Feb 23, 2014

Do yourself a favor and spend more money elsewhere

Awesome staff. Nice rooms. Miserable location in a very dangerous area. Read the other horror stories about Ellis street. I had to check out early because the location hindered the enjoyment of this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vega
Business
San Jose
Feb 10, 2014

Great hotel. Average location.

Pros: - Double queen room was very nicely sized! - Clean with the exception of the glasses (cups). - Good price. - Valet was reasonably priced. - Free breakfast. - Free Snacks. Cons: - Location isn't the greatest (decent walk to most shopping / events). Would stay again if others are high in price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sonybermuda
Business
Boston MA
Jan 23, 2014

Great amenities for the price but.....

We stayed here for 2 nights and on the inside, the fitness room and free breakfast, shuttle rides and wifi were all great bonuses. Service is fast, warm and friendly. We couldn't have asked for more in this price range. Now for the but....please please please keep in mind that this hotel is located in the Tenderloin area and we learned it the hard way! If you plan on booking this hotel, I would travel in and out of the hotel strictly by car only. This neighborhood has a long way to go before it should welcome tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mazinger
Business
San Bernardino, CA
Dec 29, 2013

Cova is normal

Cova is located on near union square but street is liitle scare. Other is good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
from Ithaca
Business
Ithaca, NY
Dec 26, 2013

Great price, problems with shuttle

The room is great and breakfast perfect. The area is not great, especially if you have kids, but it is within walking distance from Union Square, so I guess that compensates for it. My big issue is with the shuttle service they offer. We were supposed to be picked up at 4 pm from Fishermans Wharf. I called 45 minutes later asking them what happened. They said traffic, and that they had no way of contacting the driver. I waited half an hour more, and then left. I understand traffic issues; I just don't understand that they don't have a way to reach the driver so he/she can tell you for how long you have to wait.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bababa u mamawmaw
Business
South Padre Island, Texas
Dec 19, 2013

Tenderloin district

Usually I stay with family when I stay out here, this time I wanted to stay in hotel. It was clean, and the staff was nice, but there were no drawers to place our clothes. There is a parking lot, but it belongs to a separate contracted company. The management was nice at the parking lot, but the staff was idiots. The hotel staff was extremely nice, it's just the hotel is in a bad area. We walked around and saw bums, strewn litter, etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is within a twenty minute drive. San Fran is an island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top