$227 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

Cova Hotel

3 stars
View map of 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Dec 1, 2009

Mid-week break in San Francisco Nov 2009

My husband and & I stayed 3 nights at the Cova in November 2009 and loved it. The Staff were really helpful regarding seeing the sights and whats happening in town whilst we were there. We had a fantastic stay. Only 7min walk to Union Square for shopping and cable cars. Plenty of dining options close by too. Cova had a complimentary bus that's available to take guests to Fisherman's Wharf every 4hrs and Union Square every hour upon request too that hardly anyone uses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do your research before you come as there are so many things to see and do in SF.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manhattan, NY
Nov 16, 2009

Nothing to fault, great hotel

We stayed for one night and our experience in this hotel was excellent. The rooms were spacious, the service was good, check out time was at noon and breakfast served until 11am (very generous!) and personally I've stayed in the Tenderloin before so the area didn't bother me at all. Very nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mexasian
Business
Clovis, CA
Oct 21, 2009

Nice hotel but really cheap qualities

The hotel was nice and very clean and safe inside but overall, really bad location when I saw the prostitutes by my window. When I booked the trip and drove to the hotel, valet ran up and gave us terrible and high rates for parking at the hotel. Plus the hallway smelt like silly smoke. No air conditioning and tiny cups of water in the fitness rooms. The complimentary breakfast was alright but should of had eggs and more meat. The staff in the breakfast area were not the nicest people either when I smiled and said "HI".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to the hospital

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CC, CA
Oct 21, 2009

Very Good!

Very good experience in all aspects.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita
Oct 7, 2009

great travel value

Stayed at Cova during a trip to see opera and orchestra performances. Very convenient location for that purpose. I liked everything about the hotel. Business Center computer access was much appreciated. Breakfast buffet very nice. Room was very comfortable. Liked everything about my stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mn_biker_chick
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 2, 2009

Great Location & Very Friendly Staff

This is a great hotel and is located close to just about everything. We were in walking distance of AT&T Park, Modern Art Muesum and the hotel offered a shuttle down to the Pier. Also.. they were kind enough to drop us and our luggage right by the BART entrance. Great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr&Mrs from Sac
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 26, 2009

Great hotel for the $$$

Nice staff, good breakfast, well-decorated and clean room. Best to use taxis when going to and from, or their free shuttle which was very convenient from Fisherman's Wharf. Do not recommend wandering around the neighborhood past dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

They have free wifi

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 22, 2009

OK Hotel

The hotel looked better on the pictures of the website, but it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Couldbebetter
Business
L.A.
Aug 1, 2009

nice hotel

Good staff, very welcoming, walking distance from Union Square, but very bad neighbourhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

take Hyde street upward and go to Geary at right. Takes you directly to Union Square(5 to 6 blocs)

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pammyjane
Business
santa barbara
Aug 1, 2009

A Great Surprise!!!!!

We have taken our girls to SF for back to school shopping each year since the time they first had an opinion on the matter. Have stayed in several of the upscale hotels within the Union Square area and have now finally realized that getting past all the hype there are occasionally some real values to be had,the COVA being a glowing example.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brenda's for breakfast or lunch. We ate there every morning of our stay. A block and a half away up on Larkin. In the daylight it's was a safe walk with my girls despite all the contrary buzz.

Back to menu Return to top