$187 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Cova Hotel

3 stars
View map of 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento,ca
Apr 26, 2010

Great place to stay

I read through some of these reviews befor I stayed and was alittle worried about how safe it was. After my stay I laughed at some of the comments. Sure its not the best block of frisco but its kinda hard to find a perfect area any where in the city. I was able to walk about four blocks to the bart station very easily even the walk back at around 11pm was fine. I we left our hotel we all agreed it was one of the best hotel stays we ever experianced. The breakfast is great and the view is even better on the 8th floor it feels like they should charge for that alone. I loved the shampoo as well its from china and has some type of refreshing mint that was perfect for a hang over. The hotel parking was 30$ for the night. That very pricey but at least I didnt have to find a parking space and it seemed very safe and secure. The staff is top notch!! For the price I dont think you can beat this. A++ service! I will stay here agin next month with my fiance for the bay to breakers run. I highly reccomend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to bart station

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Lea
Business
Simi Valley, Ca
Apr 17, 2010

Very Neat & Clean

Was very surprised how clean the room was. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Lea
Business
Simi Valley, Ca
Apr 17, 2010

Very Neat & Clean

Was very surprised how clean the room was. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thick skinned
Business
Santa Ana, CA
Mar 15, 2010

Not for scardey catz

The hotel and staff were perfect! Friendly helpful staff! The front desk guy even gave us his mechanics address for a much needed oil change! The decor of the hotel and rooms were fresh! The parking fees were the cheapest for SF rates. The location was perfect! Close to lots to do! I guess I should say, the neighborhood is a lil rough. I wouldn't suggest walking at night. And the only negative about the hotel itself is that the restaurant closes at 11:00 am and if I had a long night and want breakfast early it's a problem. But there's plenty of restaurants walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rickmansworth UK
Mar 1, 2010

good price bad location

hotel very nice although having no drawers in the rooms ment we had to live out of our suitcases.Had to take a detour from hotel or run gauntlet of drug users,vagrants and beggers.We would not use this hotel again because of this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JiggaJules
Business
Chico, CA
Feb 22, 2010

Not too shabby...

I knew the hotel was going to be in the TL (tenderloins) of S.F. before my trip so the location wasn't a suprise. At nightime the area around the hotel is a little scary, but I felt that the hotel had great security. Overall my experience was good. Great price, close to everything, good service. Although, the walls are pretty thin and you can hear the noise of the city outside, and the neighbors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mister Andy Pants
Business
New York, NY
Feb 17, 2010

Nice enough hotel, scary area!

Staff were helpful and friendly and made us feel welcome. The room was clean and comfortable, although we felt that being the more expensive suite, some artwork and a coffee table and maybe a plant or two would have been simple additions, to what was quite a bare and uninviting suite. While the hotel was pretty nice inside, the area around it is scary! There is a homeless shelter very close by and on our 3 nights there we saw plenty of hookers hanging around the street near the hotel! We also felt very uncomfortable walking from Union Sq with our bags along Ellis St, we felt quite noticeable and wary. It was like walking through all the zombies in the Thriller video - everyone was homeless and looking at us like we had pockets filled with goodies for them! Also, it was Chinese new year, so the locals thought it was a great idea to let off millions of little red firecrackers on the sidewalk - it sounded like machine gun fire in some warzone! The walk from Union Sq is about 10 minutes. Also, the free breakfast isn't great, we only went to the breakfast room once, there was no coffee, no waffles as promised by the hotel staff and it was all a bit messy and chaotic. The Olympic Cafe a short walk away is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't walk down Ellis Street, walk down Geary St and turn down Hyde to get to Ellis. Geary is 2 blocks up from Ellis. It's advice given to us by the hotel staff, and makes for a much less scary walk to Union Sq. It's a shame, but that's the way it is around there! Also, take advantage of the hotel's free shuttle service, it's good and will save you some money in a cab or a long walk.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carson City, NV
Feb 16, 2010

Good price, nice hotel

We had a good stay at this hotel. The price was reasonable and all of the staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was delicious! We enjoyed our stay and would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fresno,ca
Jan 26, 2010

not a good place at all

when we were driving towards the hotel, the area was bad. When i went to check in they told me where not to walk and which way to go if i did decide to walk. That made me not want to go anywhere. Our room was facing the street. They locked the doors at 10pm. The hotel was nice but not worth the stay. Our heater in the room didn't even work. When we told them, they said, " sorry, we can't do anything." I froze all night long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 20, 2010

Very Nice Stay

I really enjoyed the hotel. The front desk staff was rather accomodating, and quite friendly. The room, was clean, contemporary, on the basic side, though great without all the frills. The Staff was top notch. They answered all my questions, and gave me great suggestions for other locations (food, trans, safe ways to travel) The thing that was rather inconvient was the 3PM check in. After taking a "red eye" flight, I would have liked to have an early check in. Even though there was 100 % occupancy, I understand that there was nothing that they could do. They still accomodated me by 15 mintues

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top