$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 20, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Cova Hotel

3 stars
View map of 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EX-Man
Business
Willington, CT
Jun 27, 2010

Good value and service but be cautious

* Free breakfast is better than expected * Clean room * Very good fitness room * Don't walk on the Ellis Street toward the downtown * It's perfect for people who has a car though public transportation is not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Tx
Jun 27, 2010

Worst hotel ever

[*]--seriously, very small room, no drawers, bad lighting, no a/c, very loud..thin windows, lock on window broken, free breakfast is cold, no bacon eggs sausage, hotel not close to any sites...parking is 25$ a night.etc etc etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

It would take me hours to describe our horrible time at this hotel. We wish we had really reviewed this and stayed elsewhere. We couldn't walk out of the hotel to the street without seeing [*], or having 5 homeless people ask for change. I went back and read some older reviews and can't stop to think that they are all false, written by the staff....this hotel is in a bad location, most everybody we ran across in the hotel was from Europe...A Super 8 hotel would have been 5 stars for them...It says it's located in the heart of SF, should have said bowels of SF. At check in---the clerk advised us not to walk outside at nighttime...Seriously, we wanted to turn around and go somewhere else. This is not a baby friednly hotel either...actually we saw no children at all. We had a stroller..bad idea...the tv had about 10 channels, the rest were Chinese or Spanish, we expected something decent and got a dirty dirty hotel..we didn't even feel safe using the safe in the closet...which was screwed in and loose. I can go on and on...my wife is so angry that I choose this hotel...it was our 1st visit to SF, and Next time I will pick wiser

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul, MN
Jun 26, 2010

Odd, but nice

My spouse and I stayed at Cova during a vacation to San Francisco. It's fairly centrally located, which is nice, but the couple blocks immediately surrounding the hotel are a bit on the sketchy side. We figured out a walking route to Union Square that avoided some of the worst blocks, especially late at night. Cova is odd in that it feels like a really nice, swanky, modern hotel on the surface, but its wrinkles quickly show through. Despite hip, modern appliances it seems as if they were installed on the cheap. Our bathtub floor had a strange feel to it like large air bubbles moving out from under your feet. Paint in certain places was peeling. That being said, the bed was amazingly comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful and it worked for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 22, 2010

Comfortable Room, Undesirable Location

Upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by a friendly staff who assisted us in checking-in. The Hotel room was very clean, comfortable and spacious. A complementary continental breakfast is offered to guests, which mainly consists of cereal, juice, toast, jams/cheeses, and waffles. Fisherman's Warf, Lombard Street and other tourist attractions are about a 25 minute drive out. Although the hotel itself is comfortable, its location leaves much to be desired. First, there is no public parking and guests have to park their vehicles with a third party car service located next to the hotel which charges a daily rate of about $25.00 (tips not included). Second, the actual street that the hotel is located, is in a very seedy part of the town. We only felt comfortable walking around outside during the daytime...I can't imagine what we would have run into at night. The street is inhabited by some people who seem to be partaking in illegal activities, and exchanges. For these reasons, I would not recommend going for a stroll in the evening around the neighborhood. However, a drive of about ten to fifteen minutes out of the area will lead you to a more upscale environment; one more suitable for families, and tourists. If it was not for the location of the hotel, I would book the Cova again. However, I would not recommend it to friends or family for the simple fact that one feels slightly scared when stepping outside the hotel's premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

For late night entertainment, it is best to drive out of the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
medford ma.
Jun 9, 2010

great hotel good location

The room my daughter and myself had was actually pretty nice.There was no view but there are so many fantastic views in San Fransisco that this was not a problem.also there are a lot of homeless people but they dont really bother anyone.we had no problem and we walked all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

great momentums gifts down at the piers

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
May 24, 2010

Great Hotel

We had a great time in San Francisco and would definitely stay at the Cova Hotel in the future. The rooms were clean, breakfast was a great perk, parking was reasonably priced and very convenient. The staff at Cova were friendly and helpful. Overall, would highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take advantage of the amazing coastline north and south of San Francisco--breathtaking!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
May 24, 2010

Great Hotel

We had a great time in San Francisco and would definitely stay at the Cova Hotel in the future. The rooms were clean, breakfast was a great perk, parking was reasonably priced and very convenient. The staff at Cova were friendly and helpful. Overall, would highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take advantage of the amazing coastline north and south of San Francisco--breathtaking!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
May 23, 2010

Nice hotel

My room looks new and clean. It is not that safe to walk around the hotel area during the night time. Although the location isn't the best, there is free shuttle take you to the city center. That is quite convenient for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento,ca
Apr 26, 2010

Great place to stay

I read through some of these reviews befor I stayed and was alittle worried about how safe it was. After my stay I laughed at some of the comments. Sure its not the best block of frisco but its kinda hard to find a perfect area any where in the city. I was able to walk about four blocks to the bart station very easily even the walk back at around 11pm was fine. I we left our hotel we all agreed it was one of the best hotel stays we ever experianced. The breakfast is great and the view is even better on the 8th floor it feels like they should charge for that alone. I loved the shampoo as well its from china and has some type of refreshing mint that was perfect for a hang over. The hotel parking was 30$ for the night. That very pricey but at least I didnt have to find a parking space and it seemed very safe and secure. The staff is top notch!! For the price I dont think you can beat this. A++ service! I will stay here agin next month with my fiance for the bay to breakers run. I highly reccomend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to bart station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Lea
Business
Simi Valley, Ca
Apr 17, 2010

Very Neat & Clean

Was very surprised how clean the room was. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top