$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Cova Hotel

3 stars
655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
135 reviews
Nice hotel for business and family trip.

The rooms are very comfortable, the stuff is professional. See full review

  • Bagrat
  • May 5, 2014
No Title

Great staff, clean and comfortable. Everyone will love this place. See full review

  • Artara
  • Jul 27, 2013
Subtle touches, free breakfast and shuttles at Little Saigon boutique

Perched at the confluence of San Francisco's Little Saigon and Civic Center neighborhoods, the Cova Hotel offers clean and modern accommodations for a fraction of the cost of swankier Union Square lodging. Boutique style, complimentary continental breakfast and free buses around town are just some of the reasons guests return. The rooftop terrace also is a big draw for business clientele. The hotel is a three-block walk to cable car stops.

Highlights
  • Take advantage of complimentary shuttle buses that travel all over town
  • Rooftop Terrace is ideal for events and business meetings
  • Conveniently located near Civic Center, cable car stops
  • Free continental breakfast
Rooms

The 96 rooms -- including 3 suites -- at the Cova Hotel are clean, contemporary and efficient. All rooms feature furniture in soft sand tones and ceiling-to-floor windows that look out on the city skyline. They also boast spacious bathrooms and French balconies. Standard amenities include high-definition flat-screen televisions, I-Home stereo clocks, electronic safes, irons, coffee makers and hair dryers. Wi-Fi is available (fees apply).

Features

Perhaps the biggest draw for the Cova Hotel is its complimentary shuttle service, which transports guests to some of the most popular destinations in the city. The shuttle leaves the hotel hourly and stops at places such as Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center.

 

The Cova Hotel also features a multi-lingual concierge, 24-hour fitness center, same-day laundry and dry cleaning (fees apply) and 24-hour room service. On-site car rental is available through ZipCar, an environmentally friendly car share service (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Modern Museum of Art
  • City Hall
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • AT&T Park
  • Golden Gate Park
Business
  • Eighth-floor Rooftop Terrace offers open-air banquet space with views of the entire city
  • 24-hour business center
  • Oasis Banquet Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with breathtaking views
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel will undergo renovation starting 20 December 2013 and scheduled to last for 16 weeks. All rooms in the proximity of the affected site will be closed off to guests. The hotel apologises for any inconvenience.
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply).
  • Starting December 15, 2012, the parking fee for Cova guests will be $27.00 for 24 hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.784 -122.4169
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco, (SFO), 15.00, MI, S; Metropolitan, (OAK), 25.00, MI, SE; San Jose, (SJC), 45.00, MI, S;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cova Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Cova Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Our Deluxe Rooms feature modern furniture with a contemporary aesthetic. These deluxe guest rooms are available in King-size and two Queen-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 475 square feet and accomodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. These rooms are available from our 3rd to 7th floors.
Executive Suite
Our one bedroom Suites share modern contemporary furniture and a modern designed spacious bathroom as the rest of our guest rooms. Our distinct one room suites feature a King-size bed in the bedroom and a kitchen that opens to the living room with sofa. Both the living room and bedroom also come with a 32" High Definition Flat Screen TV. Our room size is approximately 655 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on the existing bed. These rooms are available from our 5th to 7th floors.
Superior Room
Our Superior Rooms feature modern contemporary furniture and a spacious bathroom. We feature an Otto-man Chair with foot rest for the single King bedroom and a large writing desk in all rooms. These guest rooms are available in single King-size, two Queens-size, and two Full-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 326 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. The rooms are available from our 2nd to 7th floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (135)

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rickmansworth UK
Mar 1, 2010

good price bad location

hotel very nice although having no drawers in the rooms ment we had to live out of our suitcases.Had to take a detour from hotel or run gauntlet of drug users,vagrants and beggers.We would not use this hotel again because of this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JiggaJules
Business
Chico, CA
Feb 22, 2010

Not too shabby...

I knew the hotel was going to be in the TL (tenderloins) of S.F. before my trip so the location wasn't a suprise. At nightime the area around the hotel is a little scary, but I felt that the hotel had great security. Overall my experience was good. Great price, close to everything, good service. Although, the walls are pretty thin and you can hear the noise of the city outside, and the neighbors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mister Andy Pants
Business
New York, NY
Feb 17, 2010

Nice enough hotel, scary area!

Staff were helpful and friendly and made us feel welcome. The room was clean and comfortable, although we felt that being the more expensive suite, some artwork and a coffee table and maybe a plant or two would have been simple additions, to what was quite a bare and uninviting suite. While the hotel was pretty nice inside, the area around it is scary! There is a homeless shelter very close by and on our 3 nights there we saw plenty of hookers hanging around the street near the hotel! We also felt very uncomfortable walking from Union Sq with our bags along Ellis St, we felt quite noticeable and wary. It was like walking through all the zombies in the Thriller video - everyone was homeless and looking at us like we had pockets filled with goodies for them! Also, it was Chinese new year, so the locals thought it was a great idea to let off millions of little red firecrackers on the sidewalk - it sounded like machine gun fire in some warzone! The walk from Union Sq is about 10 minutes. Also, the free breakfast isn't great, we only went to the breakfast room once, there was no coffee, no waffles as promised by the hotel staff and it was all a bit messy and chaotic. The Olympic Cafe a short walk away is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't walk down Ellis Street, walk down Geary St and turn down Hyde to get to Ellis. Geary is 2 blocks up from Ellis. It's advice given to us by the hotel staff, and makes for a much less scary walk to Union Sq. It's a shame, but that's the way it is around there! Also, take advantage of the hotel's free shuttle service, it's good and will save you some money in a cab or a long walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carson City, NV
Feb 16, 2010

Good price, nice hotel

We had a good stay at this hotel. The price was reasonable and all of the staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was delicious! We enjoyed our stay and would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fresno,ca
Jan 26, 2010

not a good place at all

when we were driving towards the hotel, the area was bad. When i went to check in they told me where not to walk and which way to go if i did decide to walk. That made me not want to go anywhere. Our room was facing the street. They locked the doors at 10pm. The hotel was nice but not worth the stay. Our heater in the room didn't even work. When we told them, they said, " sorry, we can't do anything." I froze all night long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 20, 2010

Very Nice Stay

I really enjoyed the hotel. The front desk staff was rather accomodating, and quite friendly. The room, was clean, contemporary, on the basic side, though great without all the frills. The Staff was top notch. They answered all my questions, and gave me great suggestions for other locations (food, trans, safe ways to travel) The thing that was rather inconvient was the 3PM check in. After taking a "red eye" flight, I would have liked to have an early check in. Even though there was 100 % occupancy, I understand that there was nothing that they could do. They still accomodated me by 15 mintues

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steve8
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jan 19, 2010

Great Central Location

The area is blighted and somewhat scary. Walk in the area only during daylight hours in the areas the staff warns about w/r to safety. Mass transit is great and the area is fun to be in. The bus system will get you anywhere and you can really get a feeling for the entire area. We thought the Central location allowed us the chance to get anywhere we wanted to go. We felt that the security in the hotel was good and we liked the front desk staff - they were always very helpful. The continental breakfast was great each morning and I enjoyed the seating on top of the building to give us another view of the city. The street noise made sleeping very sporadic because the windows do not block out much street noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

we liked the pizza around the corner and up from the Essex hotel. The Vietnamese/Chinese restaurant in view of the Cova was great and fun. Both were very reasonable in price. The bus drivers were quite helpful in calling out our stops when we told them where we wanted to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Folsom
Jan 17, 2010

Nice hotel, be careful of neighborhood

It was good, staff was nice, but when we checked in they said, don't EVER walk on Ellis street. Luckily we were taking a cab and you can only get into the hotel with a card after 10pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deal Finding Traveler
Business
Orange, CA
Jan 17, 2010

Nice hotel in a sketchy area

The hotel was a great location location as far as being in the heart of the city, however, the neighboring few blocks in all directions were VERY sketchy. We learned very quickly to take the alternate route given by the hotel to avoid a majority of the homeless and drug addicts who seemed to out-number the "normal" people walking on the streets. Other than the location, the hotel was VERY good for its value. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and spacious for what we expected. The breakfasts were good (and free). The staff was friendly and helpful. Just a quick walk, bus, or free hotel shuttle to Union Square. Overall I would recommend staying here if you are looking for a higher class experience at a unique boutique hotel for a very affordable rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mother of six!
Business
Temecula, California
Jan 11, 2010

Great place to stay!

We had a wanderful time and the rooms were perfect. We did need a mirror outside the bathroom, because we had three girls who had to get ready and to have a mirror outside the bathroom would have been helpful. Staff was super nice! The best part of the hotel was the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in at a hotel. Bathrooms are large very nice! Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would say if at all possible don't drive your own car, you can walk or take the free shuttle pretty much everwhere you go. This would have saved us $200+ in parking fees.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top