$216 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 21, 2015

Cova Hotel

3 stars
View map of 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elaine Liang
Ithaca, NY, USA
Nov 9, 2011

very good hotel

Free breakfast, free shuttle to hot spots in SF, free internet, business center, fitness center, etc. This hotel has a lot of amenities but with a reasonable price. CLEAN and BIG room! RECOMMEND IT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 17, 2010

The good, the bad and the really ugly.

The hotel was nice but in the bad part of town. There were a lot of homeless people at day and "working girls" @ night. The hotel was up to date and par to modern design. We stayed on the 7th floor but could not sleep at night without being waken up by the people upstairs! It sounded like rolling thunders and you could actually here people walking back and forth, mind you at 2 to 4 am. And then again at 6 to 8 am. We stayed for 2 nights but didn't get much sleep. Walls were thin and you could hear the people next door if they were coming in or out because it sounded like they were coming in our own door. I don't really recommend this hotel. I would pay the extra $50 to stay somewhere more quiet and less slum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Nov 14, 2010

Nice hotel

The hotel and the staff were nice. The rooms were clean! (which is a major plus for me!) My boyfriend n' I enjoyed our stay. We would definitely come back. Only thing to look into more is the location. I was never scared, but just not the best area to walk around at night. Other than that, everything else was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the Mavin
Business
Hasbrouck Heights, NJ
Oct 31, 2010

The good, the bad and the really bad

The hotel was stylish and modern, but there was no dresser in the room and the only morror was in the bathroom. The neighborhood was rough, with several homeless people begging on the street. We could not walk outside the hotel. The drivers of the van taking guests to attractions were all thoughtful and curtious, but the hotel desk was not responsive to requests for assistance. Last of all, the breakfast was limited, without the option of decaf coffee or tea. I will not go to that hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant next door had wonderful food and an attentive staff. First rate!

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
san fran junkie
Business
Fullerton, CA
Oct 12, 2010

hotel was nice... but bad area

The hotel was fine. Walking from the hotel to Union Square was seriously not fun at all. I would not recommend a single female walking down Ellis or up Hyde from the bart station. I encountered many homeless individuals that were making comments that were not polite or appropriate. Jimmies the restaurant that is connected to the hotel was horrible. Bad service!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I hate COVA
Business
OC, CA
Sep 29, 2010

TERRIBLE!

The location is terrible! There are homeless people walking all around the hotel! I could not even walk outside once it was dark! but most terribly the room has no AC!!!! no AC, I have never seen a 3 star hotel with NO AC before .... it was summer time and the room felt like HELL ... DO NOT STAY THERE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unassuming Business Traveler
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 3, 2010

NOT THE PLACE FOR A BUSINESS TRAVELER

Once inside the hotel, the environment was well kept. Unfortunately, there is no air conditioning. During the summer, the rooms are very hot. Getting to the hotel is a different story. If you don't mind stepping over homeless people, condoms and syringes; and you don't mind being propositioned by prostitutes, then this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in little Saigon. The food is great. (See description about what you must endure between the hotel and the restaurants.)

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corbin, KY
Aug 15, 2010

My favorite vacation yet!

This was by far my best trip yet. There was so much to do in San Francisco, and the hotel really helped in finding things to do and how to get to where we wanted to go. Personally, I'm not accustomed to city life, considering I live in the heart of country life. I thought the neighborhood was a little rough where the hotel was located, but on the plus side, it was located in the middle of downtown - close to many attractions. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to whoever visits the city. Also, be sure to visit all the sites you can while in the city. It's truly a wonderful experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would highly recommend for any visitor to San Francisco the City Pass. It costs $64 dollars per person; however, it comes with free transportation on all Muni transportation, including the subway, buses, and cable cars. It also comes with free admission to many attractions, including the aquarium, museums, etc.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Board-head
Business
Toronto, Ontario Canada
Aug 5, 2010

Not so good and the ugly

After we checked in and opened the room door, there was people already occupied the room. We were quite shocked and tired after the long flight. The hotel staff offered to move us to another nearby hotel for one night and moved us back. We insisted that we would not like to move once we settled in one hotel. Anyway, we went out for dinner while they discussed the matter with the manager as they didn't think it is their fault of over booking. Anyway, after a lenghty discussion, they finally moved us to another hotel for the entire duration. We didn't stay in the hotel, but the location is not the most desirable as we quite often thought that we may be mugged walking down the street just an example

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 28, 2010

Great Hotel

This was a very clean, friendly hotel. It would be hard to find a better price for the same amenities anywhere else in the heart of San Fran. The only issue was the neighborhood. There were a lot of homeless people on the streets. To be honest, they never bothered me or my group but it can make you uncomfortable. Walking 3 blocks in any direction, you are in a good area again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irvine Hawaiian
Business
Mission Viejo, CA
Jul 11, 2010

Greatness

The staff were unbelievably helpful and the hotel was pretty nice and modern. The location was actually great, it was walking distance to union square. The area is just a little on the homeless side but the staff makes sure to give you a heads up and alternate routes to avoid the bad areas. We still felt safe and walked around that night and hit up some local bars and restaurants. I still highly recommend it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like, or are willing to try, Indian-Pakistani food there is a great restaurant called Darbar. Hole in the wall kind of place and seems like a local spot. Good food and the service was okay. Only 3 guys so it got a little hectic but overall it was a great time and good food!!

Back to menu Return to top