Cova Hotel

3 stars
View map of 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
139 reviews
Great Price for all the amenities that comes along and the services

The hotel is new and clean. Beds are very comfortable, and the bathroom is very spacious. Given its... See full review

  • single girl that travels
  • Jun 7, 2015
love this hotel

Great place to stay wpuld recommend to anymore one of the best places to stay See full review

  • mrs weedies
  • Nov 7, 2014

Perched at the confluence of San Francisco's Little Saigon and Civic Center neighborhoods, the Cova Hotel offers clean and modern accommodations for a fraction of the cost of swankier Union Square lodging. Boutique style, complimentary continental breakfast and free buses around town are just some of the reasons guests return. The rooftop terrace also is a big draw for business clientele. The hotel is a three-block walk to cable car stops.

Rooms

The 96 rooms -- including 3 suites -- at the Cova Hotel are clean, contemporary and efficient. All rooms feature furniture in soft sand tones and ceiling-to-floor windows that look out on the city skyline. They also boast spacious bathrooms and French balconies. Standard amenities include high-definition flat-screen televisions, I-Home stereo clocks, electronic safes, irons, coffee makers and hair dryers. Wi-Fi is available (fees apply).

Property features

Perhaps the biggest draw for the Cova Hotel is its complimentary shuttle service, which transports guests to some of the most popular destinations in the city. The shuttle leaves the hotel hourly and stops at places such as Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center.

 

The Cova Hotel also features a multi-lingual concierge, 24-hour fitness center, same-day laundry and dry cleaning (fees apply) and 24-hour room service. On-site car rental is available through ZipCar, an environmentally friendly car share service (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Take advantage of complimentary shuttle buses that travel all over town
  • Rooftop Terrace is ideal for events and business meetings
  • Conveniently located near Civic Center, cable car stops
  • Free continental breakfast
Nearby attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Modern Museum of Art
  • City Hall
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • AT&T Park
  • Golden Gate Park
Business
  • Eighth-floor Rooftop Terrace offers open-air banquet space with views of the entire city
  • 24-hour business center
  • Oasis Banquet Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with breathtaking views
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Policies
  • The hotel will undergo renovation starting 20 December 2013 and scheduled to last for 16 weeks. All rooms in the proximity of the affected site will be closed off to guests. The hotel apologises for any inconvenience.
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply).
  • Starting December 15, 2012, the parking fee for Cova guests will be $27.00 for 24 hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Cova Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Our Deluxe Rooms feature modern furniture with a contemporary aesthetic. These deluxe guest rooms are available in King-size and two Queen-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 475 square feet and accomodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. These rooms are available from our 3rd to 7th floors.
Executive Suite
Our one bedroom Suites share modern contemporary furniture and a modern designed spacious bathroom as the rest of our guest rooms. Our distinct one room suites feature a King-size bed in the bedroom and a kitchen that opens to the living room with sofa. Both the living room and bedroom also come with a 32" High Definition Flat Screen TV. Our room size is approximately 655 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on the existing bed. These rooms are available from our 5th to 7th floors.
Superior Room
Our Superior Rooms feature modern contemporary furniture and a spacious bathroom. We feature an Otto-man Chair with foot rest for the single King bedroom and a large writing desk in all rooms. These guest rooms are available in single King-size, two Queens-size, and two Full-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 326 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. The rooms are available from our 2nd to 7th floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Map

37.784 -122.4169
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco, (SFO), 15.00, MI, S; Metropolitan, (OAK), 25.00, MI, SE; San Jose, (SJC), 45.00, MI, S;

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.8 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
san fran junkie
Business
Fullerton, CA
Oct 12, 2010

hotel was nice... but bad area

The hotel was fine. Walking from the hotel to Union Square was seriously not fun at all. I would not recommend a single female walking down Ellis or up Hyde from the bart station. I encountered many homeless individuals that were making comments that were not polite or appropriate. Jimmies the restaurant that is connected to the hotel was horrible. Bad service!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I hate COVA
Business
OC, CA
Sep 29, 2010

TERRIBLE!

The location is terrible! There are homeless people walking all around the hotel! I could not even walk outside once it was dark! but most terribly the room has no AC!!!! no AC, I have never seen a 3 star hotel with NO AC before .... it was summer time and the room felt like HELL ... DO NOT STAY THERE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unassuming Business Traveler
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 3, 2010

NOT THE PLACE FOR A BUSINESS TRAVELER

Once inside the hotel, the environment was well kept. Unfortunately, there is no air conditioning. During the summer, the rooms are very hot. Getting to the hotel is a different story. If you don't mind stepping over homeless people, condoms and syringes; and you don't mind being propositioned by prostitutes, then this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in little Saigon. The food is great. (See description about what you must endure between the hotel and the restaurants.)

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corbin, KY
Aug 15, 2010

My favorite vacation yet!

This was by far my best trip yet. There was so much to do in San Francisco, and the hotel really helped in finding things to do and how to get to where we wanted to go. Personally, I'm not accustomed to city life, considering I live in the heart of country life. I thought the neighborhood was a little rough where the hotel was located, but on the plus side, it was located in the middle of downtown - close to many attractions. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to whoever visits the city. Also, be sure to visit all the sites you can while in the city. It's truly a wonderful experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would highly recommend for any visitor to San Francisco the City Pass. It costs $64 dollars per person; however, it comes with free transportation on all Muni transportation, including the subway, buses, and cable cars. It also comes with free admission to many attractions, including the aquarium, museums, etc.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Board-head
Business
Toronto, Ontario Canada
Aug 5, 2010

Not so good and the ugly

After we checked in and opened the room door, there was people already occupied the room. We were quite shocked and tired after the long flight. The hotel staff offered to move us to another nearby hotel for one night and moved us back. We insisted that we would not like to move once we settled in one hotel. Anyway, we went out for dinner while they discussed the matter with the manager as they didn't think it is their fault of over booking. Anyway, after a lenghty discussion, they finally moved us to another hotel for the entire duration. We didn't stay in the hotel, but the location is not the most desirable as we quite often thought that we may be mugged walking down the street just an example

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 28, 2010

Great Hotel

This was a very clean, friendly hotel. It would be hard to find a better price for the same amenities anywhere else in the heart of San Fran. The only issue was the neighborhood. There were a lot of homeless people on the streets. To be honest, they never bothered me or my group but it can make you uncomfortable. Walking 3 blocks in any direction, you are in a good area again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irvine Hawaiian
Business
Mission Viejo, CA
Jul 11, 2010

Greatness

The staff were unbelievably helpful and the hotel was pretty nice and modern. The location was actually great, it was walking distance to union square. The area is just a little on the homeless side but the staff makes sure to give you a heads up and alternate routes to avoid the bad areas. We still felt safe and walked around that night and hit up some local bars and restaurants. I still highly recommend it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like, or are willing to try, Indian-Pakistani food there is a great restaurant called Darbar. Hole in the wall kind of place and seems like a local spot. Good food and the service was okay. Only 3 guys so it got a little hectic but overall it was a great time and good food!!

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EX-Man
Business
Willington, CT
Jun 27, 2010

Good value and service but be cautious

* Free breakfast is better than expected * Clean room * Very good fitness room * Don't walk on the Ellis Street toward the downtown * It's perfect for people who has a car though public transportation is not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Tx
Jun 27, 2010

Worst hotel ever

[*]--seriously, very small room, no drawers, bad lighting, no a/c, very loud..thin windows, lock on window broken, free breakfast is cold, no bacon eggs sausage, hotel not close to any sites...parking is 25$ a night.etc etc etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

It would take me hours to describe our horrible time at this hotel. We wish we had really reviewed this and stayed elsewhere. We couldn't walk out of the hotel to the street without seeing [*], or having 5 homeless people ask for change. I went back and read some older reviews and can't stop to think that they are all false, written by the staff....this hotel is in a bad location, most everybody we ran across in the hotel was from Europe...A Super 8 hotel would have been 5 stars for them...It says it's located in the heart of SF, should have said bowels of SF. At check in---the clerk advised us not to walk outside at nighttime...Seriously, we wanted to turn around and go somewhere else. This is not a baby friednly hotel either...actually we saw no children at all. We had a stroller..bad idea...the tv had about 10 channels, the rest were Chinese or Spanish, we expected something decent and got a dirty dirty hotel..we didn't even feel safe using the safe in the closet...which was screwed in and loose. I can go on and on...my wife is so angry that I choose this hotel...it was our 1st visit to SF, and Next time I will pick wiser

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul, MN
Jun 26, 2010

Odd, but nice

My spouse and I stayed at Cova during a vacation to San Francisco. It's fairly centrally located, which is nice, but the couple blocks immediately surrounding the hotel are a bit on the sketchy side. We figured out a walking route to Union Square that avoided some of the worst blocks, especially late at night. Cova is odd in that it feels like a really nice, swanky, modern hotel on the surface, but its wrinkles quickly show through. Despite hip, modern appliances it seems as if they were installed on the cheap. Our bathtub floor had a strange feel to it like large air bubbles moving out from under your feet. Paint in certain places was peeling. That being said, the bed was amazingly comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful and it worked for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top