$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Cova Hotel

3 stars
View map of 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Board-head
Business
Toronto, Ontario Canada
Aug 5, 2010

Not so good and the ugly

After we checked in and opened the room door, there was people already occupied the room. We were quite shocked and tired after the long flight. The hotel staff offered to move us to another nearby hotel for one night and moved us back. We insisted that we would not like to move once we settled in one hotel. Anyway, we went out for dinner while they discussed the matter with the manager as they didn't think it is their fault of over booking. Anyway, after a lenghty discussion, they finally moved us to another hotel for the entire duration. We didn't stay in the hotel, but the location is not the most desirable as we quite often thought that we may be mugged walking down the street just an example

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 28, 2010

Great Hotel

This was a very clean, friendly hotel. It would be hard to find a better price for the same amenities anywhere else in the heart of San Fran. The only issue was the neighborhood. There were a lot of homeless people on the streets. To be honest, they never bothered me or my group but it can make you uncomfortable. Walking 3 blocks in any direction, you are in a good area again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irvine Hawaiian
Business
Mission Viejo, CA
Jul 11, 2010

Greatness

The staff were unbelievably helpful and the hotel was pretty nice and modern. The location was actually great, it was walking distance to union square. The area is just a little on the homeless side but the staff makes sure to give you a heads up and alternate routes to avoid the bad areas. We still felt safe and walked around that night and hit up some local bars and restaurants. I still highly recommend it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like, or are willing to try, Indian-Pakistani food there is a great restaurant called Darbar. Hole in the wall kind of place and seems like a local spot. Good food and the service was okay. Only 3 guys so it got a little hectic but overall it was a great time and good food!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mechiriva
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 29, 2010

Worst experience with a Hotel

I went to San Francisco with 3 more friends. We were going to stay at the Cova in a 2-queen-beds bedroom. That week was really decisive week for the Soccer World Cup. Before making the reservation we called the hotel to make sure they had ESPN, cause we didn't want to miss the matches. They checked and said they did have. So we made the reservation and travel the next day. As soon as we got there, we checked the tv, and though all the rooms said they had ESPN, that channel was not working on the tv. They promised to fix it next day, but instead, the next morning, they said they were going to transfer us to another hotel cause they couldn't do anything to make ESPN work. So after a couple of calls the Manager found us a room at another Hotel. Or that was what they said. When we got to the second hotel with all our bags, they told us that the Manager from the Cova did a reservation for a 2-twin-bed room. BUT WE WERE 4!!! There was no room for 4 people, and the Cova Hotel didn't want to pay for two rooms (which would have been equally perfect for us). So long story short.... we spent a lot of time (out of our 4 day vacation) trying to solve this problem cause the Cova Managment wasn't doing much. They wanted to move us to a third hotel after the 2nd night (just to save a couple of bucks), which we denied. They finally gave us back our money, and payed for the first 2 nights. They promise to talk to the Managment of the Warwick Hotel (the one we were at by then) so that they would make a good deal for us. They never did. Thanks to the Warwick Hotel, our vacation was really good. But I strongly recommend not going to the Cova, cause nor the staff, nor the Manager, nor the General Manager could solve the mistakes they did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EX-Man
Business
Willington, CT
Jun 27, 2010

Good value and service but be cautious

* Free breakfast is better than expected * Clean room * Very good fitness room * Don't walk on the Ellis Street toward the downtown * It's perfect for people who has a car though public transportation is not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Tx
Jun 27, 2010

Worst hotel ever

[*]--seriously, very small room, no drawers, bad lighting, no a/c, very loud..thin windows, lock on window broken, free breakfast is cold, no bacon eggs sausage, hotel not close to any sites...parking is 25$ a night.etc etc etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

It would take me hours to describe our horrible time at this hotel. We wish we had really reviewed this and stayed elsewhere. We couldn't walk out of the hotel to the street without seeing [*], or having 5 homeless people ask for change. I went back and read some older reviews and can't stop to think that they are all false, written by the staff....this hotel is in a bad location, most everybody we ran across in the hotel was from Europe...A Super 8 hotel would have been 5 stars for them...It says it's located in the heart of SF, should have said bowels of SF. At check in---the clerk advised us not to walk outside at nighttime...Seriously, we wanted to turn around and go somewhere else. This is not a baby friednly hotel either...actually we saw no children at all. We had a stroller..bad idea...the tv had about 10 channels, the rest were Chinese or Spanish, we expected something decent and got a dirty dirty hotel..we didn't even feel safe using the safe in the closet...which was screwed in and loose. I can go on and on...my wife is so angry that I choose this hotel...it was our 1st visit to SF, and Next time I will pick wiser

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul, MN
Jun 26, 2010

Odd, but nice

My spouse and I stayed at Cova during a vacation to San Francisco. It's fairly centrally located, which is nice, but the couple blocks immediately surrounding the hotel are a bit on the sketchy side. We figured out a walking route to Union Square that avoided some of the worst blocks, especially late at night. Cova is odd in that it feels like a really nice, swanky, modern hotel on the surface, but its wrinkles quickly show through. Despite hip, modern appliances it seems as if they were installed on the cheap. Our bathtub floor had a strange feel to it like large air bubbles moving out from under your feet. Paint in certain places was peeling. That being said, the bed was amazingly comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful and it worked for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 22, 2010

Comfortable Room, Undesirable Location

Upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by a friendly staff who assisted us in checking-in. The Hotel room was very clean, comfortable and spacious. A complementary continental breakfast is offered to guests, which mainly consists of cereal, juice, toast, jams/cheeses, and waffles. Fisherman's Warf, Lombard Street and other tourist attractions are about a 25 minute drive out. Although the hotel itself is comfortable, its location leaves much to be desired. First, there is no public parking and guests have to park their vehicles with a third party car service located next to the hotel which charges a daily rate of about $25.00 (tips not included). Second, the actual street that the hotel is located, is in a very seedy part of the town. We only felt comfortable walking around outside during the daytime...I can't imagine what we would have run into at night. The street is inhabited by some people who seem to be partaking in illegal activities, and exchanges. For these reasons, I would not recommend going for a stroll in the evening around the neighborhood. However, a drive of about ten to fifteen minutes out of the area will lead you to a more upscale environment; one more suitable for families, and tourists. If it was not for the location of the hotel, I would book the Cova again. However, I would not recommend it to friends or family for the simple fact that one feels slightly scared when stepping outside the hotel's premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

For late night entertainment, it is best to drive out of the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
medford ma.
Jun 9, 2010

great hotel good location

The room my daughter and myself had was actually pretty nice.There was no view but there are so many fantastic views in San Fransisco that this was not a problem.also there are a lot of homeless people but they dont really bother anyone.we had no problem and we walked all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

great momentums gifts down at the piers

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
May 24, 2010

Great Hotel

We had a great time in San Francisco and would definitely stay at the Cova Hotel in the future. The rooms were clean, breakfast was a great perk, parking was reasonably priced and very convenient. The staff at Cova were friendly and helpful. Overall, would highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take advantage of the amazing coastline north and south of San Francisco--breathtaking!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top