$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

3 stars
299, 2nd Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
129 reviews
Great place tostay in downtown San Francisco

Right from the start staff greated us with a smile. Provided ample service when ever required.... See full review

  • rancher greg
  • Jun 7, 2013
Good hotel

I stayed here for a conference with about 100 other people. Good location, nice interior. Nothing... See full review

  • SF tourist
  • Jul 7, 2014
Welcome to the Courtyard Downtown San Francisco Hotel by Marriott, an urban Courtyard located just blocks from MOMA, the Moscone Center and the Embarcadero. We invite you to experience our Downtown San Francisco hotel, which is right at home among the cafes and galleries of the eclectic SoMa (South of Market) district. Union Square, the Metreon Entertainment Complex and AT&T Park are also nearby. Our Downtown San Francisco hotel package offers the amenities of a luxury hotel such as valet parking, a Starbucks and Whispers Bar and Grill in the lobby, Jasmines Restaurant for breakfast, room service, event catering, indoor pool, and complete fitness room at a price that other luxury hotels cannot touch. Here to work? Enjoy the large work desk and free high-speed internet available in all rooms. Looking to host an event or meeting? Our experienced event staff and 11,400 sq ft of meeting space can help guarantee a successful event. Make reservations at the Courtyard Downtown San Francisco, CA hotel online today.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7856 -122.3968
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 13.80, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 19.80, MI, NW; Norman Y Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 46.80, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.8 mi
  • Japantown: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2.2 mi

Dining

Jasmine's
Downtown San Francisco breakfast restaurant featuring a buffet with made to order omelets.
Whispers Bar and Grill
Offering evening room service.
Starbucks®
Full retail store offering specialty coffees, pastries, salads and sandwiches.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Jul 7, 2010

Enjoyable

The hotel stay was excellent. Only problem I had was the parking for guests were $50.00 per day. That was crazy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hawaii
Aug 11, 2010

Short Stay - 3 nights

Overall it was nice. Just minor stuff which the hotel can definitely fix them. Within 10 minutes walk to the main street (Market Street) and public transport. The street may be too quiet during weekend or night (afer 9:00 pm) because the hotel is within business district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Abundance of shopping facilites within walking distance to Union Square.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Memphis
Jun 2, 2009

Nice hotel

The hotel was nice, clean, and staff friendly but the hotel was downtown and traffic was really bad during the week days. If you are there to vacation and do not have business in the area I would recommend a different part of town. There were not a lot of restaurants in walking distance especially for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago, Il
Mar 3, 2009

Nice place!

We decided to jump on this great last-minute deal from orbitz. The price was right! We picked the flights that worked best for us and we had a few options for hotels too. Since this was our first time to SAN FRAN we really didn't know the best places to stay. We chose the Courtyard Mariott since it had good reviews and a good location (per other reviews). It's a clean hotel and pretty quiet. There is not many food options in the hotel itself but the Starbukcs was great in the morning. There were quite a few cafes, delis, and restaurants near the hotel. I think there was a liquor store right across the street too. The have a small bar to have a cocktail and just hang out with out going out of the hotel. The bartender was great unfortunately I forgot her name. the hotel is not right in the heart of the downtown area but it was close to everything. A few blocks from: Market Street, the Ferry Building, and the main transportation. I would definitely stay here again. In short, it's not a luxurious hotel but it was clean and comfortable. Oh the wireless internet was great! Other hotels charge you per day but this was complimentary. Also they have a computer in house to use for flight check in, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Archduke Ferdinand
Denver, CO
Mar 30, 2010

Great Stay!

This is in a great location with easy access to BART and the rest of town. Cool restaurants nearby as well. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
W. Angel
Maryland
Apr 3, 2010

It was great!

The location of the hotel is great as it is near all forms of public transportation. Restaurants are near by and it's walking distance to Union Square and Chinatown. Definitely a good find to stay at!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nurse2
Middle TN
Jan 14, 2010

Convenience, class and cleanliness

Very clean and comfortable room. Didn't use the exercise room or pool unfortunately, just too busy. All hotel staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was overpriced, hair found in the eggs and we only went one time for both reasons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to the Cinderella Authentic Russian bakery on Balboa near G.G. Park for delicious Pirohki and desserts at a reasonable price; perfect choice for a picnic in the park. Also don't miss the Olympic Flame for breakfast all day every day, NO waiting and the prices and food are great(on Geary near Jones).

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Appleton, WI
Sep 16, 2010

Great Location to stay for the price

Hotel was great, nice area of town. Lots of food places to eat. Easy to get to all public transportation. Friendly staff, clean rooms. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great places to eat.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Memphis
Jun 2, 2009

Nice hotel

The hotel was nice, clean, and staff friendly but the hotel was downtown and traffic was really bad during the week days. If you are there to vacation and do not have business in the area I would recommend a different part of town. There were not a lot of restaurants in walking distance especially for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zee
Business
Florida
Jan 24, 2010

Nice location, price's right but parking

We attended a hearing, spent 3 nights, all ends well. The only small/big problem was the parking, we know it will happened, but we didn't expect the parking was REAL EXPENSIVE (THAT MUCH $43.00 + TAX)a night. My husband lived in San Francisco since 1962 and I since 1988. He worked for the City/County of San Fran so we know how parking will effect us. But the Hotel's excellent and we'll coming back for sure. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top