$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

3 stars
View map of 299, 2nd Street, San Francisco, CA 94105

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fifty something technocrat
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 31, 2009

Surprisingly better than adequate!

Only four LONG blocks from Moscone Center, but four or so shorter blocks to the Montgomery BART station, quite convenient, nice restaurants nearby but not in the thick of things. Keycard didn't work first time, no wireless internet in room but they provide an Ethernet cable for free high-speed access. Room small, but with a king bed and large flat screen HD LG TV, nice shower. Really cheap [...]Nice staff, including bellman.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cookierel
Business
Somerville, MA
Jun 25, 2009

3 cheers for Courtyard Marriott

This location is primely located for Financial District buildings and museums, and Union Square shopping. It is also a mere 3 blocks from the BART train, and Muni buses, trains and trolley. The Hotel staff was friendly and responsive. We arrived at the hotel 2 hours before check out time, but they were able to put us in a room immediately. We had a number of special requests and they came up right away to respond. Also, I had a business emergency and they sent and received many faxes for me free. My only complaint was that they charged $6 to receive a FedEx package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is full of stores, and starts only 3 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mountain View worker
Business
Mountain View, CA
Jan 1, 2011

Decent location

We went to SF for New Years fireworks so we didn't spend much time in the hotel. Upsides are that it is close to nice places to visit like SFMOMA. The wired internet was free for a day, there is no wireless, but there is a Starbucks downstairs that has wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't need in/out privileges of hotel parking, don't park there. Instead go to the Moscone Center parking garage on 3rd street. It's only $24 for 24 hours vs. $44 for the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
milwaukee metro
Mar 5, 2009

Great Value - Nice Place

Great downtown location and good value for ammenities. Parking is way too steep $40 plus per day and during a two day stay I had to have my room card reset 3 times because my blackberry kept demagnetizing it. Not convenient when at the pool with no ID! I've not had that problem at other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hawaii
Aug 11, 2010

Short Stay - 3 nights

Overall it was nice. Just minor stuff which the hotel can definitely fix them. Within 10 minutes walk to the main street (Market Street) and public transport. The street may be too quiet during weekend or night (afer 9:00 pm) because the hotel is within business district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Abundance of shopping facilites within walking distance to Union Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
t.w.
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Weekend get away

very helpful and friendly staff. Close to museums, and great part of the city. The only negatives were crummy towels, and slow Internet. But, the positive is that computer in lobby and Internet were free ( as opposed to the Marriott Marquis ). If you need two beds, they were queen size and room was nice size. Way less crowded, less touristy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Grove on Mission is fabulous for breakfast, lunch. Shorter walk is Mondo breakfast on Mission. SFMOMA was incredible, just a short walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Apr 26, 2010

Great location.

Spacious rooms, very clean, helpful at front desk, good location. Only negative would be valet only parking available at $49 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just take the bus instead of cabbing or renting car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
May 25, 2010

I WILL RETURN!!!!

Everything was great, the location but the staff took the cake. They were awesome. My room was huge. The only drawback and I mean, this was the only thing I did not like...no wireless internet in the room. Everyone else with this level of service provides that...why not this hotel? But I would and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is perfectly positioned in the city to access all points without insane traffic corridors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ripemen
Business
Spain
Aug 31, 2009

Good location - nice price

Three nights of a great Frisco experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TEANECK,NJ
Apr 5, 2010

MY FIRST HOTEL STAY

I was in a vacation to San Francisco for first time and the hotel is awesome with great rooms and close location to city Downtown. There is no parking in hotel and Valet is bit expensive but overall its a decent hotel to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market street is short walk and SFO city center mall is a short time walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top