$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

3 stars
299, 2nd Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
130 reviews
Great place tostay in downtown San Francisco

Right from the start staff greated us with a smile. Provided ample service when ever required.... See full review

  • rancher greg
  • Jun 7, 2013
Good hotel

I stayed here for a conference with about 100 other people. Good location, nice interior. Nothing... See full review

  • SF tourist
  • Jul 7, 2014
Modern, efficient business hotel located in the heart of SoMa

Business travelers love this SoMa hotel for its spacious rooms with ergonomic working desks, proximity to the Moscone Convention Center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. The property, part of the national Courtyard by Marriott chain, also features two on-site restaurants, a Starbucks and valet parking (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Walk to the Moscone Convention Center
  • Two on-site eateries and a Starbucks
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
Rooms

All of the hotel's accommodations -- 374 rooms, 31 of them suites – come standard with flat-screen televisions, thick mattresses with crisp linens and MP3 docking stations. Many rooms offer stunning views of the San Francisco skyline. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available.

Features

One of the most popular features of the Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco downtown is location; the hotel is situated mere blocks from the Moscone Convention Center, as well as the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Union Square and the Embarcadero.

All guests have access to a complimentary on-site fitness center with treadmills and free weights. There's also a heated outdoor pool with a sun deck, and a coin-operated laundry facility downstairs. Spa treatments are administered at a nearby day spa (fees apply).

For meals, grab breakfast at Jasmine's, an on-site eatery that features a morning buffet. During Happy Hour and at dinner time, try Whispers Bar & Grill, which serves up beer, cocktails and traditional pub food in a casual lounge area.

Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (25 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (8 minutes walking)
  • BART (8 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • SoMa
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Union Square
  • Embarcadero
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 11,400 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

37.7856 -122.3968
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 13.80, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 19.80, MI, NW; Norman Y Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 46.80, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.8 mi
  • Japantown: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2.2 mi

Dining

Jasmine's
Downtown San Francisco breakfast restaurant featuring a buffet with made to order omelets.
Whispers Bar and Grill
Offering evening room service.
Starbucks®
Full retail store offering specialty coffees, pastries, salads and sandwiches.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff222
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Well located for convention at Moscone

easy 3 blk walk, starbucks and other coffee shops on the way

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Aug 28, 2010

Very mixed feelings!

Everything was fine with the hotel - clean, quiet, etc. until we tried to get our car from valet parking when leaving. No one answered the phone when I tried to call ahead. When we arrived at the valet desk there were 5 or 6 people waiting for their cars. One woman said she had been waiting for 25 minutes. After about 10 minutes with no activity I approached the front desk. Their response was "valet service is a separate company" we can't do anything about it. After another 10 minutes I demanded to talk to a manager and was told that "only the breakfast manager was on duty" and no other manager would be on til 8am. This was about 5 minutes to 8. On returning to the valet desk no cars had been brought up in at least 25 minutes or so. I returned to the front desk at which time they asked me for my room number to refund my valet charge. By now after 20 minutes or so of raising heck and over 30 minutes of no valet activity the hotel staff finally sprang into action, took everyones names to refund the charges and cars started showing up. This is a another example of how customer service especially in the travel industry has vanished. The employees must be coached on how to deflect any customer concern especially if the service is outsourced. They need to understand that if they provide a service in their facility, outsourced or not they are responsible for customer satisfaction. As we were loading our luggage it was explained that there were several "no shows" at the valet company. Sorry, not my problem, not any reason to not deliver a single car for over 30 minutes or to not give any explanation or for the hotel staff to wash their hands and blame the valet service. This will definitely influence whether we stay at this hotel in the future. It's really a shame to have this negative ending to what was otherwise a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

About a 6 block walk to the SF Giants AT&T park

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bay area
Apr 16, 2011

Never stay again

There is no microwave or wine bottle opener in room !! a motel 6 has a microwave the room was poorly laid out

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno
Aug 12, 2010

bad

Bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno
Aug 12, 2010

bad

Bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bay area
Apr 16, 2011

Never stay again

There is no microwave or wine bottle opener in room !! a motel 6 has a microwave the room was poorly laid out

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Aug 28, 2010

Very mixed feelings!

Everything was fine with the hotel - clean, quiet, etc. until we tried to get our car from valet parking when leaving. No one answered the phone when I tried to call ahead. When we arrived at the valet desk there were 5 or 6 people waiting for their cars. One woman said she had been waiting for 25 minutes. After about 10 minutes with no activity I approached the front desk. Their response was "valet service is a separate company" we can't do anything about it. After another 10 minutes I demanded to talk to a manager and was told that "only the breakfast manager was on duty" and no other manager would be on til 8am. This was about 5 minutes to 8. On returning to the valet desk no cars had been brought up in at least 25 minutes or so. I returned to the front desk at which time they asked me for my room number to refund my valet charge. By now after 20 minutes or so of raising heck and over 30 minutes of no valet activity the hotel staff finally sprang into action, took everyones names to refund the charges and cars started showing up. This is a another example of how customer service especially in the travel industry has vanished. The employees must be coached on how to deflect any customer concern especially if the service is outsourced. They need to understand that if they provide a service in their facility, outsourced or not they are responsible for customer satisfaction. As we were loading our luggage it was explained that there were several "no shows" at the valet company. Sorry, not my problem, not any reason to not deliver a single car for over 30 minutes or to not give any explanation or for the hotel staff to wash their hands and blame the valet service. This will definitely influence whether we stay at this hotel in the future. It's really a shame to have this negative ending to what was otherwise a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

About a 6 block walk to the SF Giants AT&T park

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
middle class mom
monterey, ca
Jun 2, 2014

wanted to be close to at&t park for game

customer service was good. it's san francisco so of course everything was pricey esp parking. wouldn't have mind pricey but sofa had stains, bed was old and saggy, and sofa bed was worse cause the mattress was so old that my 12 yr old felt the bars through the mattress. we actually favor marriotts, but this was the only marriotts that we all didn't sleep well in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marriott Platinum member
South Carolina
May 12, 2010

Hotel is great but service is awful

I am a marriott platinum rewards member so I know what I'm talking about when I speak of Marriott service. I've always stayed in Marriott hotels in all my years of travel as a consultant and even on vacations. This hotel has the worst service I've ever experienced. I was ready to forgive the front desk but even their concierge, whose primary role is to assist you, was very mean. Just one example, I called from my room to ask where the whole foods grocery was and instead of saying it's along this street if you need a map i have one down here, the concierge just told me why dont you come down here. This happened not only to me since the next day i was trying to book a tour and there was a guy in front of me asking for directions, he was not understanding it well and the concierge was showing that he was getting impatient, breathing a big sigh, and was explaining really fast like he had somewhere else to go. Marriott should do better when screening for people to work in their business. They must be people friendly since they interact with people 100%.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
albuquerque nm
Aug 23, 2010

the real, hidden costs

we were on our honeymoon and on a tight budget. we had a rental car and were not aware that this hotel did not have free parking. we had to pay $40 for vallet parking one night and $20 the other night. the person on duty was unhelpful and unfriendly. this is the only time we will stay in san francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
albuquerque nm
Aug 23, 2010

the real, hidden costs

we were on our honeymoon and on a tight budget. we had a rental car and were not aware that this hotel did not have free parking. we had to pay $40 for vallet parking one night and $20 the other night. the person on duty was unhelpful and unfriendly. this is the only time we will stay in san francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top