$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

3 stars
299, 2nd Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
82 reviews
Excellent

Even though I was in San francisco for a day. It was a great trip and perfecto location in... See full review

  • Metta World Peace
  • Nov 15, 2014
A great stay & wonderful location!

Great hotel. My room was very quiet and the housekeeping staff was great! I do wish they had a... See full review

  • 'Mina
  • Nov 8, 2014
Modern, efficient business hotel located in the heart of SoMa

Business travelers love this SoMa hotel for its spacious rooms with ergonomic working desks, proximity to the Moscone Convention Center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. The property, part of the national Courtyard by Marriott chain, also features two on-site restaurants, a Starbucks and valet parking (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Walk to the Moscone Convention Center
  • Two on-site eateries and a Starbucks
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
Rooms

All of the hotel's accommodations -- 374 rooms, 31 of them suites – come standard with flat-screen televisions, thick mattresses with crisp linens and MP3 docking stations. Many rooms offer stunning views of the San Francisco skyline. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available.

Features

One of the most popular features of the Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco downtown is location; the hotel is situated mere blocks from the Moscone Convention Center, as well as the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Union Square and the Embarcadero.

All guests have access to a complimentary on-site fitness center with treadmills and free weights. There's also a heated outdoor pool with a sun deck, and a coin-operated laundry facility downstairs. Spa treatments are administered at a nearby day spa (fees apply).

For meals, grab breakfast at Jasmine's, an on-site eatery that features a morning buffet. During Happy Hour and at dinner time, try Whispers Bar & Grill, which serves up beer, cocktails and traditional pub food in a casual lounge area.

Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (25 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (8 minutes walking)
  • BART (8 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • SoMa
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Union Square
  • Embarcadero
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 11,400 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.8 mi
  • Japantown: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2.2 mi
  • Lands End: 2.3 mi

Dining

Jasmine's
Downtown San Francisco breakfast restaurant featuring a buffet with made to order omelets.
Whispers Bar and Grill
Offering evening room service.
Starbucks®
Full retail store offering specialty coffees, pastries, salads and sandwiches.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 82
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff222
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Well located for convention at Moscone

easy 3 blk walk, starbucks and other coffee shops on the way

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bony
Business
boston, ma
Jan 18, 2010

Would recommend for business/pleasure

I stayed in this hotel for business, and was highly satisfied with their service. The staff were quite helpful in making sure that I had a pleasant stay. They had umbrellas ready in anticipation of the weather; helped arrange for shuttle pickup to the airport, gave good recommendations to get around the city, and places to vist. The room was spacious, comfortable, and included free ethernet connection (cable provided). It would have been a bit more convenient if the rooms had free wireless rather than ethernet, but overall the ability to go online in the guest room meant more productivity. The room in which I stayed did not have a mini fridge, but this did not affect the quality of my stay. Overall, I was glad to have stayed here, and would recommend this place to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The LOWES theater + IMAX is just 2 blocks away; SF MOMA is also within a few blocks. The hotel itself is conveniently located near the Moscone convention center, and is near major public bus routes. The above ground trolley is also within a few blocks. Dining options are unlimited in the vicinity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Startup Hacker
Business
San Francisco
Aug 7, 2012

Nice, but very bad wifi

The free wifi is, during peak hours, barely usable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DrupalCon
Business
Parrish, FL
Apr 23, 2010

Great Hotel!!

Great time at this hotel. I was in town for DrupalCon [...] Never had any problems at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
HACIENDA HEIGHTS, CA.
Aug 20, 2010

BAM'S OUTSIDE LANDS ADVENTURE

IT WAS AN OVERALL GOOD EXPERIENCE. BUT PERHAPS SOME TYPE OF SERVICE TO POINT YOU OUT TO WHERE YOU CAN GET SOME LATE NIGHT FOOD AFTER A LONG DAY AT THE MUSIC FESTIVAL OUTSIDE LANDS. WHILE STAYING AT THE MARRIOTT I RAN AROUND TOWN, THE OPTION OF BEING ABLE TO LEAVE THE CAR AT THE HOTEL WAS VERY HELPFUL BECAUSE OF THE ONE TIME FEE FOR LEAVING IT OVERNIGHT THROUGHOUT THE STAY. WELL IT WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE IF I WOULD HAVE GOT THE TWO SEPARATE BEDS I HAD REQUESTED. BUT THE ROLL AWAY WORKED OUT OK. JUST ENDED UP TAKING UP MORE SPACE. COMPARED TO MY PREVIOUS TRIP IN SAN FRAN WHERE WE STAYED AT THE NIKKO HOTEL, IT WASN'T BAD. JUST A LITTLE FAR FROM THE AREA WE NEEDED TO GET TO WHICH WAS "GOLDEN GATE PARK", SO A SHUTTLE SERVICE INSTEAD OF A CAB RIDE COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER. PERHAPS THE HOTEL CAN GET A HOLD OF THE VIP SHUTTLE SERVICES THAT DO THE FESTIVALS. "CONSIDER IT DAN" IS THE VIP COMPANY AT THE OUTSIDE LANDS FESTIVAL. MAYBE THEY CAN HELP SELL ROOM PACKAGES AND INCLUDE THE SHUTTLE SERVICE. BEING NEAR THE OCEAN IS ALWAYS NICE, AND FISHERMAN'S WARF IS GREAT FOOD. SO WHY NOT TEAM UP AND HAVE SOME TYPE OF TOURIST SERVICE THAT TAKES YOU PLACES. MUCH LIKE A FLAT RATE DEDICATED TAXI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

NOTHING IS REALLY OPEN LATE AT NIGHT EXCEPT THE SUBWAY NEAR MARKET STREET. BUT THERE IS A LIQUOR STORE RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET THAT SAVED MY STOMACH TWICE :o)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fifty something technocrat
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 31, 2009

Surprisingly better than adequate!

Only four LONG blocks from Moscone Center, but four or so shorter blocks to the Montgomery BART station, quite convenient, nice restaurants nearby but not in the thick of things. Keycard didn't work first time, no wireless internet in room but they provide an Ethernet cable for free high-speed access. Room small, but with a king bed and large flat screen HD LG TV, nice shower. Really cheap [...]Nice staff, including bellman.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
milwaukee metro
Mar 5, 2009

Great Value - Nice Place

Great downtown location and good value for ammenities. Parking is way too steep $40 plus per day and during a two day stay I had to have my room card reset 3 times because my blackberry kept demagnetizing it. Not convenient when at the pool with no ID! I've not had that problem at other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zee
Business
Florida
Jan 24, 2010

Nice location, price's right but parking

We attended a hearing, spent 3 nights, all ends well. The only small/big problem was the parking, we know it will happened, but we didn't expect the parking was REAL EXPENSIVE (THAT MUCH $43.00 + TAX)a night. My husband lived in San Francisco since 1962 and I since 1988. He worked for the City/County of San Fran so we know how parking will effect us. But the Hotel's excellent and we'll coming back for sure. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prom Date
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 28, 2014

Clean and friendly

Staff was great -- friendly, knowledgeable, and responsive. The room was clean and had a gorgeous view of the Bay Bridge with plenty of natural light. Room for improvement: free wifi was slow and the pillows were overstuffed/stiff. Easy fixes and not terribly important.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Late night food around the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
'Mina
Business
Pomona
Nov 8, 2014

A great stay & wonderful location!

Great hotel. My room was very quiet and the housekeeping staff was great! I do wish they had a wider array of room service choices, but there were great eateries in walking distance, so I really didn't mind.Oh, but the best part was the coin laundry and dryer available 24 hours. I totally went home with clean clothes!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk east, west, north, or south. It doesn't matter. Great eateries everywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top