$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

3 stars
View map of 299, 2nd Street, San Francisco, CA 94105

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
'Mina
Business
Pomona
Nov 8, 2014

A great stay & wonderful location!

Great hotel. My room was very quiet and the housekeeping staff was great! I do wish they had a wider array of room service choices, but there were great eateries in walking distance, so I really didn't mind.Oh, but the best part was the coin laundry and dryer available 24 hours. I totally went home with clean clothes!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk east, west, north, or south. It doesn't matter. Great eateries everywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joshua D.
Business
Santa Rosa
Feb 18, 2015

Overnight Getaway

Overall, the hotel met our expectations. Parking was a bit tough to find and the hotel offered parking is a bit to expense for us. We didn't get to use the pool but it looked nice. The price for the location could have been about fifty dollars cheaper for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MuffinMaker
Business
Tacoma, WA
Apr 12, 2010

Great location for families!

Walking distance from a complex with ice skating, bowling, hands on art museum, & IMAX. Also walking distance to a huge shopping mall with an excellent food court. Walking distance to BART stop and major bus stops. (I am calling walking distance 4-6 blocks). Ferry building is an easy, flat, but longer walk. Good food, light rooms, very clean and exceptionally quiet. Great computer in lobby for boarding passes only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eventhough eating is close by, it works way better to plan ahead and eat before returning to the hotel for the evening. Chevy's does take out and is only a 3 block walk. North Beach Pizza delivers to the hotel - front desk has a menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D2sdoll
Business
Salinas, CA
Jan 30, 2012

getaway weekend

The only thing I would change would be the valet parking. They charged a lot for it or you could take the chance and find a place on the street. It should have been complimentary for hotel guests and a fee for those who were not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2coolchick
Business
Drexel Hill, PA
Aug 26, 2012

Good Value, Needs Cleaning Attention

I usually book Marriott properties. Fortunately, San Francisco is such a lovely city that our not good Marriott expereince at the Courtyard Marrioott in the financial district was overshadowed by this beautiful city. Upon arrival, my daughter and I learned that despite the online request and the telephone call made directly to the hotel 48 hours in advance of arrival, we would not be given a room with two beds. Since I had been told by friends that most hotel rooms in SF tend to be small, we made the effort to request the two beds. The hotel staff were non chalant and felt thay gave us an upgrade by placing us on the 18th floor with a view of the city. The room was small and the king sized bed was a tad larger than a queen bed. We were also given a sofa bed. Problem is the room set up does not allow for the sofa bed to be pulled out without moving the sofa which was right next to the end of the bed. We really did not want to spend time moving furniture back and forth. Although I went to the front desk on the first day and requested to move, we never received a follow up call. The following morning, I stopped by the desk as we were leaving for a tour and I was told that a room was avaiable and that my request had been misplaced and that if I wanted to move I had to do it rght then. I had to decide between missing my prepaid tour or comfort. Not a decision I wanted to make while on vacation. So we had to deal with the room with one bed. I do want to give credit to the view from our room, although we were hardly in the room. In addition, while sitting on the sofa, we felt crumbs. As my daughter got up there were crumbs on the back of her pants. There was half a cookie stuffed in between the seat of the sofa. We removed it. Also when we attempted to move the sofa to use t it, there were pistachio nut shells on the side of the sofa. We pushed them out into a visible spot so the maid could see them. We were shocked that upon return to our room the shells were still there. The maids need customer service training. They knock on your door at 9am sharp. we were dressing to leave, but the maid demanded to know exactly how long we would be. She named time frames - 15 minutes, 30 minutes. This was quite irritating and it happened each day. She even attempted to enter the room after two knocks, despite me saying hold on a minute. The price ws good and we were in walking distance of Union Square. The internet, pool and concierge at the hotel were all very good assets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Open Top Bus Tour - good value $35 for 24 hours and 20 great attractions including crossing the GGBridge. We got off and on to see many of the wonderful sites. Driver/Tour guide Mike was the most thorough and animated driver. He gave wonderful historical information not included on the tour recording.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimoli1999
Business
Reno
Sep 8, 2013

Courtyard Review

Very nice room and very comfortable beds. I little pricey to valet your car overnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LindsAy4119
Business
Toronto, Canada
Sep 10, 2013

Good for business travel, basic

The hotel was great. No problems, just very basic. It's exactly what you would expect a three star hotel to be, clean and simple. Nothing fancy here! Great for those traveling for business, good downtown location. Will stay here again, but wouldn't for a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevtur
Business
Reading, UK
Oct 31, 2013

Average hotel, but great beds

It's a typical chain hotel, with good sized rooms and comfy beds. The rooms are a little dated, and the bathrooms are clean, but could do with a refurb probably. It's in a great location, and probably for SFO offers value for money. I would stay here again, and would recommend staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kimbersc
Business
Santa Cruz, Ca
Dec 22, 2013

Fine, but a few little drawbacks

First of all, the location and price are great. There are surprisingly few options for hotels South of Market and I was going to an event nearby, so that was convenient. The price was also great at $159. The rooms were clean and the beds are incredibly comfortable. Free Wifi seems to be a growing trend, but the Courtyard has it and I still appreciate it. So now the few drawbacks.... This may see minor, but for having such comfortable beds, the pillows were close to the most uncomfortable hotel pillows I've ever witnesses (and I've stayed at thousands of hotels all over the world). Also, the Courtyard bills itself as a 'business traveler hotel.' I therefore found it strange that there was no coffee available anywhere in the hotel at 6:45. Most business travelers are up early and when I asked at the front desk if I could get (or buy) a cup of coffee somewhere in the hotel, I was told I'd have to wait for Starbucks (attached to hotel) to open at 7. Weirdly, Starbucks was 10 minutes late opening and there were a line of 8 of us in the lobby waiting or coffee. Last thing, I wasn't on expense account this time and so paying $57 for parking seemed a little outrageous. Maybe that's the going rate in downtown SF (I usually don't stay there), but that seemed a little ridiculous to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are SO many great restaurants in the area... Flytrap is next door (amazingly good!) and Lulu is walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stephenman
Business
San Fransico, Ca
Apr 8, 2010

Good Location, Hotel Wasn't bad, but not

The hotel location wasn't bad. It was defently tollerable and enjoyable. Free Internet. Pool and hot tub small as well as amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy Walk to everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top