$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

3 stars
View map of 299, 2nd Street, San Francisco, CA 94105

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2coolchick
Business
Drexel Hill, PA
Aug 26, 2012

Good Value, Needs Cleaning Attention

I usually book Marriott properties. Fortunately, San Francisco is such a lovely city that our not good Marriott expereince at the Courtyard Marrioott in the financial district was overshadowed by this beautiful city. Upon arrival, my daughter and I learned that despite the online request and the telephone call made directly to the hotel 48 hours in advance of arrival, we would not be given a room with two beds. Since I had been told by friends that most hotel rooms in SF tend to be small, we made the effort to request the two beds. The hotel staff were non chalant and felt thay gave us an upgrade by placing us on the 18th floor with a view of the city. The room was small and the king sized bed was a tad larger than a queen bed. We were also given a sofa bed. Problem is the room set up does not allow for the sofa bed to be pulled out without moving the sofa which was right next to the end of the bed. We really did not want to spend time moving furniture back and forth. Although I went to the front desk on the first day and requested to move, we never received a follow up call. The following morning, I stopped by the desk as we were leaving for a tour and I was told that a room was avaiable and that my request had been misplaced and that if I wanted to move I had to do it rght then. I had to decide between missing my prepaid tour or comfort. Not a decision I wanted to make while on vacation. So we had to deal with the room with one bed. I do want to give credit to the view from our room, although we were hardly in the room. In addition, while sitting on the sofa, we felt crumbs. As my daughter got up there were crumbs on the back of her pants. There was half a cookie stuffed in between the seat of the sofa. We removed it. Also when we attempted to move the sofa to use t it, there were pistachio nut shells on the side of the sofa. We pushed them out into a visible spot so the maid could see them. We were shocked that upon return to our room the shells were still there. The maids need customer service training. They knock on your door at 9am sharp. we were dressing to leave, but the maid demanded to know exactly how long we would be. She named time frames - 15 minutes, 30 minutes. This was quite irritating and it happened each day. She even attempted to enter the room after two knocks, despite me saying hold on a minute. The price ws good and we were in walking distance of Union Square. The internet, pool and concierge at the hotel were all very good assets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Open Top Bus Tour - good value $35 for 24 hours and 20 great attractions including crossing the GGBridge. We got off and on to see many of the wonderful sites. Driver/Tour guide Mike was the most thorough and animated driver. He gave wonderful historical information not included on the tour recording.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimoli1999
Business
Reno
Sep 8, 2013

Courtyard Review

Very nice room and very comfortable beds. I little pricey to valet your car overnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LindsAy4119
Business
Toronto, Canada
Sep 10, 2013

Good for business travel, basic

The hotel was great. No problems, just very basic. It's exactly what you would expect a three star hotel to be, clean and simple. Nothing fancy here! Great for those traveling for business, good downtown location. Will stay here again, but wouldn't for a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevtur
Business
Reading, UK
Oct 31, 2013

Average hotel, but great beds

It's a typical chain hotel, with good sized rooms and comfy beds. The rooms are a little dated, and the bathrooms are clean, but could do with a refurb probably. It's in a great location, and probably for SFO offers value for money. I would stay here again, and would recommend staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kimbersc
Business
Santa Cruz, Ca
Dec 22, 2013

Fine, but a few little drawbacks

First of all, the location and price are great. There are surprisingly few options for hotels South of Market and I was going to an event nearby, so that was convenient. The price was also great at $159. The rooms were clean and the beds are incredibly comfortable. Free Wifi seems to be a growing trend, but the Courtyard has it and I still appreciate it. So now the few drawbacks.... This may see minor, but for having such comfortable beds, the pillows were close to the most uncomfortable hotel pillows I've ever witnesses (and I've stayed at thousands of hotels all over the world). Also, the Courtyard bills itself as a 'business traveler hotel.' I therefore found it strange that there was no coffee available anywhere in the hotel at 6:45. Most business travelers are up early and when I asked at the front desk if I could get (or buy) a cup of coffee somewhere in the hotel, I was told I'd have to wait for Starbucks (attached to hotel) to open at 7. Weirdly, Starbucks was 10 minutes late opening and there were a line of 8 of us in the lobby waiting or coffee. Last thing, I wasn't on expense account this time and so paying $57 for parking seemed a little outrageous. Maybe that's the going rate in downtown SF (I usually don't stay there), but that seemed a little ridiculous to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are SO many great restaurants in the area... Flytrap is next door (amazingly good!) and Lulu is walking distance.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stephenman
Business
San Fransico, Ca
Apr 8, 2010

Good Location, Hotel Wasn't bad, but not

The hotel location wasn't bad. It was defently tollerable and enjoyable. Free Internet. Pool and hot tub small as well as amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy Walk to everything

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jo1012
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 15, 2014

Mid-week getaway

Nice, clean accommodations and excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SF CA
Jul 27, 2011

Nice, basic, family friendly

standard marriot quality - close to downtown/financial district, a bit of a hike from North Beach or Haight/Asbury and nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 29, 2010

Just OK

The rooms were average. They location close to AT&T park was the best reason to stay. It also allowed for two days of parking for one night's stay. The staff greeted you as if they were doing you a big favor. Otherwise it was just average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the F line trolley to the waterfront. It is only $2 per person versus a $15 taxi ride. Walk to AT&T park for a game.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
May 26, 2010

Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco

Friday night happened to be Prom night at the hotel and the kids were loud. Other than that the hotel was good value in a good location. The hotel is not in the center of the main tourist area of Union Square, but is close to a lot of less visited San Francisco landmarks and museums in SOMA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You don't need a rental car at this hotel. The BART is 4 blocks north of the hotel on Second and Market.

Back to menu Return to top