$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

3 stars
299, 2nd Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
80 reviews
Great place tostay in downtown San Francisco

Right from the start staff greated us with a smile. Provided ample service when ever required.... See full review

  • rancher greg
  • Jun 7, 2013
Clean and friendly

Staff was great -- friendly, knowledgeable, and responsive. The room was clean and had a gorgeous... See full review

  • Prom Date
  • Jul 28, 2014
Modern, efficient business hotel located in the heart of SoMa

Business travelers love this SoMa hotel for its spacious rooms with ergonomic working desks, proximity to the Moscone Convention Center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. The property, part of the national Courtyard by Marriott chain, also features two on-site restaurants, a Starbucks and valet parking (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Walk to the Moscone Convention Center
  • Two on-site eateries and a Starbucks
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
Rooms

All of the hotel's accommodations -- 374 rooms, 31 of them suites – come standard with flat-screen televisions, thick mattresses with crisp linens and MP3 docking stations. Many rooms offer stunning views of the San Francisco skyline. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available.

Features

One of the most popular features of the Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco downtown is location; the hotel is situated mere blocks from the Moscone Convention Center, as well as the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Union Square and the Embarcadero.

All guests have access to a complimentary on-site fitness center with treadmills and free weights. There's also a heated outdoor pool with a sun deck, and a coin-operated laundry facility downstairs. Spa treatments are administered at a nearby day spa (fees apply).

For meals, grab breakfast at Jasmine's, an on-site eatery that features a morning buffet. During Happy Hour and at dinner time, try Whispers Bar & Grill, which serves up beer, cocktails and traditional pub food in a casual lounge area.

Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (25 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (8 minutes walking)
  • BART (8 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • SoMa
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Union Square
  • Embarcadero
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 11,400 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

37.7856 -122.3968
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 13.80, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 19.80, MI, NW; Norman Y Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 46.80, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.8 mi
  • Japantown: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2.2 mi

Dining

Jasmine's
Downtown San Francisco breakfast restaurant featuring a buffet with made to order omelets.
Whispers Bar and Grill
Offering evening room service.
Starbucks®
Full retail store offering specialty coffees, pastries, salads and sandwiches.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fifty something technocrat
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 31, 2009

Surprisingly better than adequate!

Only four LONG blocks from Moscone Center, but four or so shorter blocks to the Montgomery BART station, quite convenient, nice restaurants nearby but not in the thick of things. Keycard didn't work first time, no wireless internet in room but they provide an Ethernet cable for free high-speed access. Room small, but with a king bed and large flat screen HD LG TV, nice shower. Really cheap [...]Nice staff, including bellman.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
TEANECK,NJ
Apr 5, 2010

MY FIRST HOTEL STAY

I was in a vacation to San Francisco for first time and the hotel is awesome with great rooms and close location to city Downtown. There is no parking in hotel and Valet is bit expensive but overall its a decent hotel to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market street is short walk and SFO city center mall is a short time walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
milwaukee metro
Mar 5, 2009

Great Value - Nice Place

Great downtown location and good value for ammenities. Parking is way too steep $40 plus per day and during a two day stay I had to have my room card reset 3 times because my blackberry kept demagnetizing it. Not convenient when at the pool with no ID! I've not had that problem at other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Luis Obispo, CA
May 25, 2010

I WILL RETURN!!!!

Everything was great, the location but the staff took the cake. They were awesome. My room was huge. The only drawback and I mean, this was the only thing I did not like...no wireless internet in the room. Everyone else with this level of service provides that...why not this hotel? But I would and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is perfectly positioned in the city to access all points without insane traffic corridors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kris Andrews
San Francisco, California
Sep 1, 2013

Great value for even better location

The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of shops, the Embarcadero and public transportation (BART, Muni, CalTrain). The only problem I had was that the TV didn't work and I was too tired to have the staff fix it at night, but they kindly addressed it the next day. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sparks Gamer Babe
Sparks, NV
May 11, 2013

Great Location

If you're attending a Giant's baseball game, this hotel is in a perfect location. It's approximately half a mile away from the gates, We did an overnight trip, valeted our car and walked everywhere. If you're looking to go to more areas, public transportations access is easy to get. When I purchased my room, I bought valet with it for $20- WELL worth it because otherwise it's 47 plus taxes/fees! Staff was nice. Annoyances: there was no DVD player in the room, the rental movies were very overpriced. I understand water conservation in a large city, but i felt it was wasteful that I needed to flush the toilet x2-3 for it to do it's job. Otherwise, I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clamjam22
Montpelier, VT, USA
Aug 27, 2012

SF

Good overall, but the staff was secretive and suspicious when I checked in. They allowed someone who had my last name to take my room. They approached it like we had already checked in, but then the staff person left immediately to find a supervisor. The supervisor was equally coy about what was going on and divulged nothing of value. Finally we were given a room and not told what was going to happen immediately. The staff person called my room to tell me that everything was fine about 30 minutes later. The parking is convenient but really, really, really expensive. $45/night. However, there isn't anything really cheaper for overnight. Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Parking is expensive. Plan to use public transportation and avoid renting a car at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san diego
Mar 1, 2010

perfect vacation

the staff was great. it was a perfect location to walk all over city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
coalinga ca
Sep 28, 2010

weekend getaway for two

we had an excellent room with a view of the skylights from the skyscrapers comfortable beds large bathrooms worth the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ripemen
Spain
Aug 31, 2009

Good location - nice price

Three nights of a great Frisco experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search