$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 22, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

3 stars
299, 2nd Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
80 reviews
Great place tostay in downtown San Francisco

Right from the start staff greated us with a smile. Provided ample service when ever required.... See full review

  • rancher greg
  • Jun 7, 2013
Clean and friendly

Staff was great -- friendly, knowledgeable, and responsive. The room was clean and had a gorgeous... See full review

  • Prom Date
  • Jul 28, 2014
Modern, efficient business hotel located in the heart of SoMa

Business travelers love this SoMa hotel for its spacious rooms with ergonomic working desks, proximity to the Moscone Convention Center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. The property, part of the national Courtyard by Marriott chain, also features two on-site restaurants, a Starbucks and valet parking (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Walk to the Moscone Convention Center
  • Two on-site eateries and a Starbucks
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
Rooms

All of the hotel's accommodations -- 374 rooms, 31 of them suites – come standard with flat-screen televisions, thick mattresses with crisp linens and MP3 docking stations. Many rooms offer stunning views of the San Francisco skyline. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available.

Features

One of the most popular features of the Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco downtown is location; the hotel is situated mere blocks from the Moscone Convention Center, as well as the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Union Square and the Embarcadero.

All guests have access to a complimentary on-site fitness center with treadmills and free weights. There's also a heated outdoor pool with a sun deck, and a coin-operated laundry facility downstairs. Spa treatments are administered at a nearby day spa (fees apply).

For meals, grab breakfast at Jasmine's, an on-site eatery that features a morning buffet. During Happy Hour and at dinner time, try Whispers Bar & Grill, which serves up beer, cocktails and traditional pub food in a casual lounge area.

Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (25 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (8 minutes walking)
  • BART (8 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • SoMa
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Union Square
  • Embarcadero
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 11,400 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

37.7856 -122.3968
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 13.80, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 19.80, MI, NW; Norman Y Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 46.80, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.8 mi
  • Japantown: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2.2 mi
  • Lands End: 2.3 mi

Dining

Jasmine's
Downtown San Francisco breakfast restaurant featuring a buffet with made to order omelets.
Whispers Bar and Grill
Offering evening room service.
Starbucks®
Full retail store offering specialty coffees, pastries, salads and sandwiches.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lazydog
Business
El Sobrante,CA
May 21, 2012

Very nice place for S.F. one nighter!

This was our treat before the B2B race. Easy walking distance. Parking rates crazy ($45 approx.), nice, helpful staff, clean room. A microwave and small refrigerator would enhance the experience. Although comparable, the one night price is pretty stiff ($309). Great treat for the "once in a while"!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LTO83
Business
Pasadena
Jun 11, 2012

Good choice for kids.

Good location to the Ferry Building, trolly and museums. Quiet and out of the way of all the high traffic tourist areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Startup Hacker
Business
San Francisco
Aug 7, 2012

Nice, but very bad wifi

The free wifi is, during peak hours, barely usable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clamjam22
Business
Montpelier, VT, USA
Aug 27, 2012

SF

Good overall, but the staff was secretive and suspicious when I checked in. They allowed someone who had my last name to take my room. They approached it like we had already checked in, but then the staff person left immediately to find a supervisor. The supervisor was equally coy about what was going on and divulged nothing of value. Finally we were given a room and not told what was going to happen immediately. The staff person called my room to tell me that everything was fine about 30 minutes later. The parking is convenient but really, really, really expensive. $45/night. However, there isn't anything really cheaper for overnight. Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Parking is expensive. Plan to use public transportation and avoid renting a car at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sparks Gamer Babe
Business
Sparks, NV
May 11, 2013

Great Location

If you're attending a Giant's baseball game, this hotel is in a perfect location. It's approximately half a mile away from the gates, We did an overnight trip, valeted our car and walked everywhere. If you're looking to go to more areas, public transportations access is easy to get. When I purchased my room, I bought valet with it for $20- WELL worth it because otherwise it's 47 plus taxes/fees! Staff was nice. Annoyances: there was no DVD player in the room, the rental movies were very overpriced. I understand water conservation in a large city, but i felt it was wasteful that I needed to flush the toilet x2-3 for it to do it's job. Otherwise, I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kris Andrews
Business
San Francisco, California
Sep 1, 2013

Great value for even better location

The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of shops, the Embarcadero and public transportation (BART, Muni, CalTrain). The only problem I had was that the TV didn't work and I was too tired to have the staff fix it at night, but they kindly addressed it the next day. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago, Il
Mar 3, 2009

Nice place!

We decided to jump on this great last-minute deal from orbitz. The price was right! We picked the flights that worked best for us and we had a few options for hotels too. Since this was our first time to SAN FRAN we really didn't know the best places to stay. We chose the Courtyard Mariott since it had good reviews and a good location (per other reviews). It's a clean hotel and pretty quiet. There is not many food options in the hotel itself but the Starbukcs was great in the morning. There were quite a few cafes, delis, and restaurants near the hotel. I think there was a liquor store right across the street too. The have a small bar to have a cocktail and just hang out with out going out of the hotel. The bartender was great unfortunately I forgot her name. the hotel is not right in the heart of the downtown area but it was close to everything. A few blocks from: Market Street, the Ferry Building, and the main transportation. I would definitely stay here again. In short, it's not a luxurious hotel but it was clean and comfortable. Oh the wireless internet was great! Other hotels charge you per day but this was complimentary. Also they have a computer in house to use for flight check in, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego
Mar 1, 2010

perfect vacation

the staff was great. it was a perfect location to walk all over city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis
Jun 2, 2009

Nice hotel

The hotel was nice, clean, and staff friendly but the hotel was downtown and traffic was really bad during the week days. If you are there to vacation and do not have business in the area I would recommend a different part of town. There were not a lot of restaurants in walking distance especially for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BHHJ
Business
North Highlands, CA
Apr 26, 2011

Close to the Stadium

Valet parking was really expensive, but we were only able to save a couple dollars paying for street parking. The hotel was very clean and nice looking. We were checked in quickly even though it seemed everyone was there at the same time. Our room was very clean. The bed was firm but comfortable as where the pillows. There was also a desk and a nice sofa. That bathroom was clean. The shower was super clean and the shower head was very nice with good pressure. The hotel is 15 minute walk from AT&T Park and a great restaurant Gordon Birsch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top