$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 22, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

3 stars
299, 2nd Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
80 reviews
Great place tostay in downtown San Francisco

Right from the start staff greated us with a smile. Provided ample service when ever required.... See full review

  • rancher greg
  • Jun 7, 2013
Clean and friendly

Staff was great -- friendly, knowledgeable, and responsive. The room was clean and had a gorgeous... See full review

  • Prom Date
  • Jul 28, 2014
Modern, efficient business hotel located in the heart of SoMa

Business travelers love this SoMa hotel for its spacious rooms with ergonomic working desks, proximity to the Moscone Convention Center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. The property, part of the national Courtyard by Marriott chain, also features two on-site restaurants, a Starbucks and valet parking (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Walk to the Moscone Convention Center
  • Two on-site eateries and a Starbucks
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
Rooms

All of the hotel's accommodations -- 374 rooms, 31 of them suites – come standard with flat-screen televisions, thick mattresses with crisp linens and MP3 docking stations. Many rooms offer stunning views of the San Francisco skyline. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available.

Features

One of the most popular features of the Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco downtown is location; the hotel is situated mere blocks from the Moscone Convention Center, as well as the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Union Square and the Embarcadero.

All guests have access to a complimentary on-site fitness center with treadmills and free weights. There's also a heated outdoor pool with a sun deck, and a coin-operated laundry facility downstairs. Spa treatments are administered at a nearby day spa (fees apply).

For meals, grab breakfast at Jasmine's, an on-site eatery that features a morning buffet. During Happy Hour and at dinner time, try Whispers Bar & Grill, which serves up beer, cocktails and traditional pub food in a casual lounge area.

Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (25 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (8 minutes walking)
  • BART (8 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • SoMa
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Union Square
  • Embarcadero
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 11,400 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

37.7856 -122.3968
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 13.80, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 19.80, MI, NW; Norman Y Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 46.80, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.8 mi
  • Japantown: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2.2 mi

Dining

Jasmine's
Downtown San Francisco breakfast restaurant featuring a buffet with made to order omelets.
Whispers Bar and Grill
Offering evening room service.
Starbucks®
Full retail store offering specialty coffees, pastries, salads and sandwiches.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jan 3, 2010

Frisco on New Years

I was in Fisco to attend two rock and roll concerts over new years '09-'10. A freind of mine from the midwest enjoyed our stay at the Courtyard. It was convenient to stay here - just a few blocks from the mass transit systems on Market street, and we had no problems getting around the city. This location was nice and quiet and met our needs. I'd stay here again for similar purposes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Bike ride across the golden gate bridge and go into Sausalito. Nice ride with just a few up hill climbs to conquer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MISSY2
Business
OXNARD CA
Jul 2, 2009

birthday get together

WE CAME TO CELERATE MY MOMS 60TH BDAY SHE LOVES SF IT WAS A AWSOME WEEKEND EATING SHOPPING AND PARTYING AT THE NITE CLUBS. OVER ALL THIS ONE WAS THE BEST

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

KNOW SOMEONE THAT LIVE THERE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 30, 2007

Great location

This is the perfect downtown hotel. Close to everything in San Francisco, especially AT&T park and Market Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a very short, easy walk to AT&T Park with good restaurants (like 21st Amendment) on the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alameda,CA
Jun 29, 2009

Fantastic getaway

Great experience, no problems

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 29, 2010

Everything was perfect

The front desk staff were friendly, attentive and efficient. They greeted me the moment I arrived, [...] and had me on my way in very short order. On my return I was greeted each time with a "welcome back". The room was clean, quiet, and well apportioned. I'd definitely use the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take BART from the hotel to the Montgomery station and its just a short walk to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TomG
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Aug 16, 2011

SF Trip

Staff was outstanding. Trip w/ Grand-daughter - Couldnt be better..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Umbria Italuan Restaurant (Dinner)& Mel's Diner (Anytime). Canton Authentic Chinese food for the brave...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 3, 2009

Great stay at Marriott

We mainly concentrated our visiting the downtown tourist attractions, hence the choice of this hotel for its location. We needed a refrigerator and microwave since we had a toddler baby. The hotel staff immediately made arrangements for it. Overall it was a nice experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bony
Business
boston, ma
Jan 18, 2010

Would recommend for business/pleasure

I stayed in this hotel for business, and was highly satisfied with their service. The staff were quite helpful in making sure that I had a pleasant stay. They had umbrellas ready in anticipation of the weather; helped arrange for shuttle pickup to the airport, gave good recommendations to get around the city, and places to vist. The room was spacious, comfortable, and included free ethernet connection (cable provided). It would have been a bit more convenient if the rooms had free wireless rather than ethernet, but overall the ability to go online in the guest room meant more productivity. The room in which I stayed did not have a mini fridge, but this did not affect the quality of my stay. Overall, I was glad to have stayed here, and would recommend this place to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The LOWES theater + IMAX is just 2 blocks away; SF MOMA is also within a few blocks. The hotel itself is conveniently located near the Moscone convention center, and is near major public bus routes. The above ground trolley is also within a few blocks. Dining options are unlimited in the vicinity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, WA
Mar 30, 2010

A good hotel.

It was a great hotel with good service. Thankfully the weather was nice so not so bad walking to see the sites. A little dissappointed that the indoor pool was too cold to swim in since this is one of the main reasons we chose this hotel over others that were closer to Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ozone
Business
Austin Tx
Aug 3, 2011

Great stay

We were in SF for sight seeing. although we had been there many tines before. Hotel is excellent. Well located, clean and properly cared for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

buy a pass for the muni trabnsport . It is a bargain.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top