$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

3 stars
View map of 299, 2nd Street, San Francisco, CA 94105

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
coalinga ca
Sep 28, 2010

weekend getaway for two

we had an excellent room with a view of the skylights from the skyscrapers comfortable beds large bathrooms worth the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Appleton, WI
Sep 16, 2010

Great Location to stay for the price

Hotel was great, nice area of town. Lots of food places to eat. Easy to get to all public transportation. Friendly staff, clean rooms. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 29, 2010

Just OK

The rooms were average. They location close to AT&T park was the best reason to stay. It also allowed for two days of parking for one night's stay. The staff greeted you as if they were doing you a big favor. Otherwise it was just average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the F line trolley to the waterfront. It is only $2 per person versus a $15 taxi ride. Walk to AT&T park for a game.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 28, 2010

Very mixed feelings!

Everything was fine with the hotel - clean, quiet, etc. until we tried to get our car from valet parking when leaving. No one answered the phone when I tried to call ahead. When we arrived at the valet desk there were 5 or 6 people waiting for their cars. One woman said she had been waiting for 25 minutes. After about 10 minutes with no activity I approached the front desk. Their response was "valet service is a separate company" we can't do anything about it. After another 10 minutes I demanded to talk to a manager and was told that "only the breakfast manager was on duty" and no other manager would be on til 8am. This was about 5 minutes to 8. On returning to the valet desk no cars had been brought up in at least 25 minutes or so. I returned to the front desk at which time they asked me for my room number to refund my valet charge. By now after 20 minutes or so of raising heck and over 30 minutes of no valet activity the hotel staff finally sprang into action, took everyones names to refund the charges and cars started showing up. This is a another example of how customer service especially in the travel industry has vanished. The employees must be coached on how to deflect any customer concern especially if the service is outsourced. They need to understand that if they provide a service in their facility, outsourced or not they are responsible for customer satisfaction. As we were loading our luggage it was explained that there were several "no shows" at the valet company. Sorry, not my problem, not any reason to not deliver a single car for over 30 minutes or to not give any explanation or for the hotel staff to wash their hands and blame the valet service. This will definitely influence whether we stay at this hotel in the future. It's really a shame to have this negative ending to what was otherwise a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

About a 6 block walk to the SF Giants AT&T park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
albuquerque nm
Aug 23, 2010

the real, hidden costs

we were on our honeymoon and on a tight budget. we had a rental car and were not aware that this hotel did not have free parking. we had to pay $40 for vallet parking one night and $20 the other night. the person on duty was unhelpful and unfriendly. this is the only time we will stay in san francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
HACIENDA HEIGHTS, CA.
Aug 20, 2010

BAM'S OUTSIDE LANDS ADVENTURE

IT WAS AN OVERALL GOOD EXPERIENCE. BUT PERHAPS SOME TYPE OF SERVICE TO POINT YOU OUT TO WHERE YOU CAN GET SOME LATE NIGHT FOOD AFTER A LONG DAY AT THE MUSIC FESTIVAL OUTSIDE LANDS. WHILE STAYING AT THE MARRIOTT I RAN AROUND TOWN, THE OPTION OF BEING ABLE TO LEAVE THE CAR AT THE HOTEL WAS VERY HELPFUL BECAUSE OF THE ONE TIME FEE FOR LEAVING IT OVERNIGHT THROUGHOUT THE STAY. WELL IT WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE IF I WOULD HAVE GOT THE TWO SEPARATE BEDS I HAD REQUESTED. BUT THE ROLL AWAY WORKED OUT OK. JUST ENDED UP TAKING UP MORE SPACE. COMPARED TO MY PREVIOUS TRIP IN SAN FRAN WHERE WE STAYED AT THE NIKKO HOTEL, IT WASN'T BAD. JUST A LITTLE FAR FROM THE AREA WE NEEDED TO GET TO WHICH WAS "GOLDEN GATE PARK", SO A SHUTTLE SERVICE INSTEAD OF A CAB RIDE COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER. PERHAPS THE HOTEL CAN GET A HOLD OF THE VIP SHUTTLE SERVICES THAT DO THE FESTIVALS. "CONSIDER IT DAN" IS THE VIP COMPANY AT THE OUTSIDE LANDS FESTIVAL. MAYBE THEY CAN HELP SELL ROOM PACKAGES AND INCLUDE THE SHUTTLE SERVICE. BEING NEAR THE OCEAN IS ALWAYS NICE, AND FISHERMAN'S WARF IS GREAT FOOD. SO WHY NOT TEAM UP AND HAVE SOME TYPE OF TOURIST SERVICE THAT TAKES YOU PLACES. MUCH LIKE A FLAT RATE DEDICATED TAXI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

NOTHING IS REALLY OPEN LATE AT NIGHT EXCEPT THE SUBWAY NEAR MARKET STREET. BUT THERE IS A LIQUOR STORE RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET THAT SAVED MY STOMACH TWICE :o)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
west palm beach, fl
Aug 19, 2010

will come back

happy with stay...parking quite a challenge if you do not want to pay the $50 parking fee

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno
Aug 12, 2010

bad

Bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hawaii
Aug 11, 2010

Short Stay - 3 nights

Overall it was nice. Just minor stuff which the hotel can definitely fix them. Within 10 minutes walk to the main street (Market Street) and public transport. The street may be too quiet during weekend or night (afer 9:00 pm) because the hotel is within business district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Abundance of shopping facilites within walking distance to Union Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 12, 2010

Good SF Location

Marriott Courtyard was conveniently located near SF MOMA, Yerba Buena Center and restaurants. A nice walk to Market Street, Union Square, and beyond to the Embarcadero. Quiet loaction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top