$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

3 stars
View map of 299, 2nd Street, San Francisco, CA 94105

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis
Jun 2, 2009

Nice hotel

The hotel was nice, clean, and staff friendly but the hotel was downtown and traffic was really bad during the week days. If you are there to vacation and do not have business in the area I would recommend a different part of town. There were not a lot of restaurants in walking distance especially for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BHHJ
Business
North Highlands, CA
Apr 26, 2011

Close to the Stadium

Valet parking was really expensive, but we were only able to save a couple dollars paying for street parking. The hotel was very clean and nice looking. We were checked in quickly even though it seemed everyone was there at the same time. Our room was very clean. The bed was firm but comfortable as where the pillows. There was also a desk and a nice sofa. That bathroom was clean. The shower was super clean and the shower head was very nice with good pressure. The hotel is 15 minute walk from AT&T Park and a great restaurant Gordon Birsch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, CA
Jun 14, 2011

Great place to stay and go to see the SF

We came to go to the Giants game. We were able to check-in early and walk to the ballpark(about 1 mile away). Nice big clean quiet rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Aug 15, 2009

Great Hotel in San Fran

Basically slept, we spent most of the time walking about town...but the rooms were very clean and it was a large space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nurse2
Business
Middle TN
Jan 14, 2010

Convenience, class and cleanliness

Very clean and comfortable room. Didn't use the exercise room or pool unfortunately, just too busy. All hotel staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was overpriced, hair found in the eggs and we only went one time for both reasons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to the Cinderella Authentic Russian bakery on Balboa near G.G. Park for delicious Pirohki and desserts at a reasonable price; perfect choice for a picnic in the park. Also don't miss the Olympic Flame for breakfast all day every day, NO waiting and the prices and food are great(on Geary near Jones).

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bikegirl22
Business
Seattle, wa
Aug 23, 2009

Good Hotel

Easy to get to off of the Bay bridge without all the hassel of going to union square. Only take 10 minutes to walk to Union square. Nice rooms and super nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fifty something technocrat
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 31, 2009

Surprisingly better than adequate!

Only four LONG blocks from Moscone Center, but four or so shorter blocks to the Montgomery BART station, quite convenient, nice restaurants nearby but not in the thick of things. Keycard didn't work first time, no wireless internet in room but they provide an Ethernet cable for free high-speed access. Room small, but with a king bed and large flat screen HD LG TV, nice shower. Really cheap [...]Nice staff, including bellman.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cookierel
Business
Somerville, MA
Jun 25, 2009

3 cheers for Courtyard Marriott

This location is primely located for Financial District buildings and museums, and Union Square shopping. It is also a mere 3 blocks from the BART train, and Muni buses, trains and trolley. The Hotel staff was friendly and responsive. We arrived at the hotel 2 hours before check out time, but they were able to put us in a room immediately. We had a number of special requests and they came up right away to respond. Also, I had a business emergency and they sent and received many faxes for me free. My only complaint was that they charged $6 to receive a FedEx package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is full of stores, and starts only 3 blocks away.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mountain View worker
Business
Mountain View, CA
Jan 1, 2011

Decent location

We went to SF for New Years fireworks so we didn't spend much time in the hotel. Upsides are that it is close to nice places to visit like SFMOMA. The wired internet was free for a day, there is no wireless, but there is a Starbucks downstairs that has wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't need in/out privileges of hotel parking, don't park there. Instead go to the Moscone Center parking garage on 3rd street. It's only $24 for 24 hours vs. $44 for the hotel.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
milwaukee metro
Mar 5, 2009

Great Value - Nice Place

Great downtown location and good value for ammenities. Parking is way too steep $40 plus per day and during a two day stay I had to have my room card reset 3 times because my blackberry kept demagnetizing it. Not convenient when at the pool with no ID! I've not had that problem at other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top