$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

3 stars
View map of 299, 2nd Street, San Francisco, CA 94105

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
84 reviews
Excellent

Even though I was in San francisco for a day. It was a great trip and perfecto location in... See full review

  • Metta World Peace
  • Nov 15, 2014
Overnight Getaway

Overall, the hotel met our expectations. Parking was a bit tough to find and the hotel offered... See full review

  • Joshua D.
  • Feb 18, 2015
Modern, efficient business hotel located in the heart of SoMa

Business travelers love this SoMa hotel for its spacious rooms with ergonomic working desks, proximity to the Moscone Convention Center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. The property, part of the national Courtyard by Marriott chain, also features two on-site restaurants, a Starbucks and valet parking (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Walk to the Moscone Convention Center
  • Two on-site eateries and a Starbucks
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
Rooms

All of the hotel's accommodations -- 374 rooms, 31 of them suites – come standard with flat-screen televisions, thick mattresses with crisp linens and MP3 docking stations. Many rooms offer stunning views of the San Francisco skyline. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available.

Features

One of the most popular features of the Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco downtown is location; the hotel is situated mere blocks from the Moscone Convention Center, as well as the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Union Square and the Embarcadero.

All guests have access to a complimentary on-site fitness center with treadmills and free weights. There's also a heated outdoor pool with a sun deck, and a coin-operated laundry facility downstairs. Spa treatments are administered at a nearby day spa (fees apply).

For meals, grab breakfast at Jasmine's, an on-site eatery that features a morning buffet. During Happy Hour and at dinner time, try Whispers Bar & Grill, which serves up beer, cocktails and traditional pub food in a casual lounge area.

Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (25 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (8 minutes walking)
  • BART (8 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • SoMa
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Union Square
  • Embarcadero
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 11,400 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.8 mi
  • Japantown: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2.2 mi
  • Lands End: 2.3 mi

Dining

The Market
Sundry/Convenience Store. Open 24/7.
Jasmine's
Downtown San Francisco breakfast restaurant featuring a buffet with made to order omelets. Open M-F 6:30am-9:30am, Saturday & Sunday: 7:00am-11:00am.
Whispers Bar and Grill
Offering evening room service. Operating hours: 4:30pm-11pm daily. Kitchen serves food from 5pm-10:30pm daily.
Starbucks®
Full retail store offering specialty coffees, pastries, salads and sandwiches.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BHHJ
Business
North Highlands, CA
Apr 26, 2011

Close to the Stadium

Valet parking was really expensive, but we were only able to save a couple dollars paying for street parking. The hotel was very clean and nice looking. We were checked in quickly even though it seemed everyone was there at the same time. Our room was very clean. The bed was firm but comfortable as where the pillows. There was also a desk and a nice sofa. That bathroom was clean. The shower was super clean and the shower head was very nice with good pressure. The hotel is 15 minute walk from AT&T Park and a great restaurant Gordon Birsch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay area
Apr 16, 2011

Never stay again

There is no microwave or wine bottle opener in room !! a motel 6 has a microwave the room was poorly laid out

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sacramento
Mar 24, 2011

marriotts stay

went for show that cancieled but made the best of it the breakfast was great thanks mariotts [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

was very close to things to do and see

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mountain View worker
Business
Mountain View, CA
Jan 1, 2011

Decent location

We went to SF for New Years fireworks so we didn't spend much time in the hotel. Upsides are that it is close to nice places to visit like SFMOMA. The wired internet was free for a day, there is no wireless, but there is a Starbucks downstairs that has wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't need in/out privileges of hotel parking, don't park there. Instead go to the Moscone Center parking garage on 3rd street. It's only $24 for 24 hours vs. $44 for the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 29, 2010

Everything was perfect

The front desk staff were friendly, attentive and efficient. They greeted me the moment I arrived, [...] and had me on my way in very short order. On my return I was greeted each time with a "welcome back". The room was clean, quiet, and well apportioned. I'd definitely use the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take BART from the hotel to the Montgomery station and its just a short walk to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
coalinga ca
Sep 28, 2010

weekend getaway for two

we had an excellent room with a view of the skylights from the skyscrapers comfortable beds large bathrooms worth the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Appleton, WI
Sep 16, 2010

Great Location to stay for the price

Hotel was great, nice area of town. Lots of food places to eat. Easy to get to all public transportation. Friendly staff, clean rooms. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 29, 2010

Just OK

The rooms were average. They location close to AT&T park was the best reason to stay. It also allowed for two days of parking for one night's stay. The staff greeted you as if they were doing you a big favor. Otherwise it was just average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the F line trolley to the waterfront. It is only $2 per person versus a $15 taxi ride. Walk to AT&T park for a game.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 28, 2010

Very mixed feelings!

Everything was fine with the hotel - clean, quiet, etc. until we tried to get our car from valet parking when leaving. No one answered the phone when I tried to call ahead. When we arrived at the valet desk there were 5 or 6 people waiting for their cars. One woman said she had been waiting for 25 minutes. After about 10 minutes with no activity I approached the front desk. Their response was "valet service is a separate company" we can't do anything about it. After another 10 minutes I demanded to talk to a manager and was told that "only the breakfast manager was on duty" and no other manager would be on til 8am. This was about 5 minutes to 8. On returning to the valet desk no cars had been brought up in at least 25 minutes or so. I returned to the front desk at which time they asked me for my room number to refund my valet charge. By now after 20 minutes or so of raising heck and over 30 minutes of no valet activity the hotel staff finally sprang into action, took everyones names to refund the charges and cars started showing up. This is a another example of how customer service especially in the travel industry has vanished. The employees must be coached on how to deflect any customer concern especially if the service is outsourced. They need to understand that if they provide a service in their facility, outsourced or not they are responsible for customer satisfaction. As we were loading our luggage it was explained that there were several "no shows" at the valet company. Sorry, not my problem, not any reason to not deliver a single car for over 30 minutes or to not give any explanation or for the hotel staff to wash their hands and blame the valet service. This will definitely influence whether we stay at this hotel in the future. It's really a shame to have this negative ending to what was otherwise a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

About a 6 block walk to the SF Giants AT&T park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
albuquerque nm
Aug 23, 2010

the real, hidden costs

we were on our honeymoon and on a tight budget. we had a rental car and were not aware that this hotel did not have free parking. we had to pay $40 for vallet parking one night and $20 the other night. the person on duty was unhelpful and unfriendly. this is the only time we will stay in san francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top