$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

3 stars
299, 2nd Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
80 reviews
Great place tostay in downtown San Francisco

Right from the start staff greated us with a smile. Provided ample service when ever required.... See full review

  • rancher greg
  • Jun 7, 2013
Clean and friendly

Staff was great -- friendly, knowledgeable, and responsive. The room was clean and had a gorgeous... See full review

  • Prom Date
  • Jul 28, 2014
Modern, efficient business hotel located in the heart of SoMa

Business travelers love this SoMa hotel for its spacious rooms with ergonomic working desks, proximity to the Moscone Convention Center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. The property, part of the national Courtyard by Marriott chain, also features two on-site restaurants, a Starbucks and valet parking (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Walk to the Moscone Convention Center
  • Two on-site eateries and a Starbucks
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
Rooms

All of the hotel's accommodations -- 374 rooms, 31 of them suites – come standard with flat-screen televisions, thick mattresses with crisp linens and MP3 docking stations. Many rooms offer stunning views of the San Francisco skyline. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available.

Features

One of the most popular features of the Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco downtown is location; the hotel is situated mere blocks from the Moscone Convention Center, as well as the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Union Square and the Embarcadero.

All guests have access to a complimentary on-site fitness center with treadmills and free weights. There's also a heated outdoor pool with a sun deck, and a coin-operated laundry facility downstairs. Spa treatments are administered at a nearby day spa (fees apply).

For meals, grab breakfast at Jasmine's, an on-site eatery that features a morning buffet. During Happy Hour and at dinner time, try Whispers Bar & Grill, which serves up beer, cocktails and traditional pub food in a casual lounge area.

Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (25 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (8 minutes walking)
  • BART (8 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • SoMa
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Union Square
  • Embarcadero
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 11,400 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

37.7856 -122.3968
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 13.80, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 19.80, MI, NW; Norman Y Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 46.80, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.8 mi
  • Japantown: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2.2 mi

Dining

Jasmine's
Downtown San Francisco breakfast restaurant featuring a buffet with made to order omelets.
Whispers Bar and Grill
Offering evening room service.
Starbucks®
Full retail store offering specialty coffees, pastries, salads and sandwiches.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Jul 12, 2010

Good SF Location

Marriott Courtyard was conveniently located near SF MOMA, Yerba Buena Center and restaurants. A nice walk to Market Street, Union Square, and beyond to the Embarcadero. Quiet loaction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Jul 7, 2010

Enjoyable

The hotel stay was excellent. Only problem I had was the parking for guests were $50.00 per day. That was crazy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Snohomish, WA
Jun 17, 2010

Convenient for picking up Giants games

It was my first non-business trip to SF and it went off without a hitch. Great location if you are wanting to pick up a Giants games. Its only 4-5 blocks from the stadium. Quiet rooms and good views as well. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful (ask the bartenders at Whispers for food recommendations).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lee's Deli and ATT Field are close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kerem
Turkey
May 28, 2010

Very good

Very good. A very high standard hotel. Breakfast is little expensive tough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
May 26, 2010

Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco

Friday night happened to be Prom night at the hotel and the kids were loud. Other than that the hotel was good value in a good location. The hotel is not in the center of the main tourist area of Union Square, but is close to a lot of less visited San Francisco landmarks and museums in SOMA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You don't need a rental car at this hotel. The BART is 4 blocks north of the hotel on Second and Market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Luis Obispo, CA
May 25, 2010

I WILL RETURN!!!!

Everything was great, the location but the staff took the cake. They were awesome. My room was huge. The only drawback and I mean, this was the only thing I did not like...no wireless internet in the room. Everyone else with this level of service provides that...why not this hotel? But I would and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is perfectly positioned in the city to access all points without insane traffic corridors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
May 24, 2010

Perfect Location!

This hotel is definitely the place to stay when coming to San Francisco. The price is right, and the hotel is located about three blocks from the MUNI/BART station on Market. It is nice being away from the Wharf because that side of town is VERY crowded. Staying downtown gives you a little bit of space. The room was just the right size for the two of us, and any more would be kind of pointless. The pool is only 3 feet deep, as well as the whirlpool - but after walking around town for three days, the whirlpool feels fantastic. The staff has maps of the city and food recommendations at the front desk and everyone is extremely helpful. Whenever we come to San Fran now, we will look up this hotel first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If your phone has GPS, USE IT! We were always able to find a bar or restaurant with good reviews using the GPS functionality on our phones and yelp or google maps. Drinks in San Fran run fairly expensive, so having a method of finding a few dives was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marriott Platinum member
South Carolina
May 12, 2010

Hotel is great but service is awful

I am a marriott platinum rewards member so I know what I'm talking about when I speak of Marriott service. I've always stayed in Marriott hotels in all my years of travel as a consultant and even on vacations. This hotel has the worst service I've ever experienced. I was ready to forgive the front desk but even their concierge, whose primary role is to assist you, was very mean. Just one example, I called from my room to ask where the whole foods grocery was and instead of saying it's along this street if you need a map i have one down here, the concierge just told me why dont you come down here. This happened not only to me since the next day i was trying to book a tour and there was a guy in front of me asking for directions, he was not understanding it well and the concierge was showing that he was getting impatient, breathing a big sigh, and was explaining really fast like he had somewhere else to go. Marriott should do better when screening for people to work in their business. They must be people friendly since they interact with people 100%.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, AZ
Apr 26, 2010

Great location.

Spacious rooms, very clean, helpful at front desk, good location. Only negative would be valet only parking available at $49 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just take the bus instead of cabbing or renting car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DrupalCon
Business
Parrish, FL
Apr 23, 2010

Great Hotel!!

Great time at this hotel. I was in town for DrupalCon [...] Never had any problems at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search