$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

3 stars
299, 2nd Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
82 reviews
Excellent

Even though I was in San francisco for a day. It was a great trip and perfecto location in... See full review

  • Metta World Peace
  • Nov 15, 2014
A great stay & wonderful location!

Great hotel. My room was very quiet and the housekeeping staff was great! I do wish they had a... See full review

  • 'Mina
  • Nov 8, 2014
Modern, efficient business hotel located in the heart of SoMa

Business travelers love this SoMa hotel for its spacious rooms with ergonomic working desks, proximity to the Moscone Convention Center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. The property, part of the national Courtyard by Marriott chain, also features two on-site restaurants, a Starbucks and valet parking (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Walk to the Moscone Convention Center
  • Two on-site eateries and a Starbucks
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
Rooms

All of the hotel's accommodations -- 374 rooms, 31 of them suites – come standard with flat-screen televisions, thick mattresses with crisp linens and MP3 docking stations. Many rooms offer stunning views of the San Francisco skyline. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available.

Features

One of the most popular features of the Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco downtown is location; the hotel is situated mere blocks from the Moscone Convention Center, as well as the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Union Square and the Embarcadero.

All guests have access to a complimentary on-site fitness center with treadmills and free weights. There's also a heated outdoor pool with a sun deck, and a coin-operated laundry facility downstairs. Spa treatments are administered at a nearby day spa (fees apply).

For meals, grab breakfast at Jasmine's, an on-site eatery that features a morning buffet. During Happy Hour and at dinner time, try Whispers Bar & Grill, which serves up beer, cocktails and traditional pub food in a casual lounge area.

Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (25 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (8 minutes walking)
  • BART (8 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • SoMa
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Union Square
  • Embarcadero
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 11,400 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.8 mi
  • Japantown: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2.2 mi
  • Lands End: 2.3 mi

Dining

Jasmine's
Downtown San Francisco breakfast restaurant featuring a buffet with made to order omelets.
Whispers Bar and Grill
Offering evening room service.
Starbucks®
Full retail store offering specialty coffees, pastries, salads and sandwiches.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LindsAy4119
Business
Toronto, Canada
Sep 10, 2013

Good for business travel, basic

The hotel was great. No problems, just very basic. It's exactly what you would expect a three star hotel to be, clean and simple. Nothing fancy here! Great for those traveling for business, good downtown location. Will stay here again, but wouldn't for a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimoli1999
Business
Reno
Sep 8, 2013

Courtyard Review

Very nice room and very comfortable beds. I little pricey to valet your car overnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kris Andrews
Business
San Francisco, California
Sep 1, 2013

Great value for even better location

The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of shops, the Embarcadero and public transportation (BART, Muni, CalTrain). The only problem I had was that the TV didn't work and I was too tired to have the staff fix it at night, but they kindly addressed it the next day. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rancher greg
Business
San francisco
Jun 7, 2013

Great place tostay in downtown San Francisco

Right from the start staff greated us with a smile. Provided ample service when ever required. Clean frendly atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sparks Gamer Babe
Business
Sparks, NV
May 11, 2013

Great Location

If you're attending a Giant's baseball game, this hotel is in a perfect location. It's approximately half a mile away from the gates, We did an overnight trip, valeted our car and walked everywhere. If you're looking to go to more areas, public transportations access is easy to get. When I purchased my room, I bought valet with it for $20- WELL worth it because otherwise it's 47 plus taxes/fees! Staff was nice. Annoyances: there was no DVD player in the room, the rental movies were very overpriced. I understand water conservation in a large city, but i felt it was wasteful that I needed to flush the toilet x2-3 for it to do it's job. Otherwise, I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clamjam22
Business
Montpelier, VT, USA
Aug 27, 2012

SF

Good overall, but the staff was secretive and suspicious when I checked in. They allowed someone who had my last name to take my room. They approached it like we had already checked in, but then the staff person left immediately to find a supervisor. The supervisor was equally coy about what was going on and divulged nothing of value. Finally we were given a room and not told what was going to happen immediately. The staff person called my room to tell me that everything was fine about 30 minutes later. The parking is convenient but really, really, really expensive. $45/night. However, there isn't anything really cheaper for overnight. Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Parking is expensive. Plan to use public transportation and avoid renting a car at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2coolchick
Business
Drexel Hill, PA
Aug 26, 2012

Good Value, Needs Cleaning Attention

I usually book Marriott properties. Fortunately, San Francisco is such a lovely city that our not good Marriott expereince at the Courtyard Marrioott in the financial district was overshadowed by this beautiful city. Upon arrival, my daughter and I learned that despite the online request and the telephone call made directly to the hotel 48 hours in advance of arrival, we would not be given a room with two beds. Since I had been told by friends that most hotel rooms in SF tend to be small, we made the effort to request the two beds. The hotel staff were non chalant and felt thay gave us an upgrade by placing us on the 18th floor with a view of the city. The room was small and the king sized bed was a tad larger than a queen bed. We were also given a sofa bed. Problem is the room set up does not allow for the sofa bed to be pulled out without moving the sofa which was right next to the end of the bed. We really did not want to spend time moving furniture back and forth. Although I went to the front desk on the first day and requested to move, we never received a follow up call. The following morning, I stopped by the desk as we were leaving for a tour and I was told that a room was avaiable and that my request had been misplaced and that if I wanted to move I had to do it rght then. I had to decide between missing my prepaid tour or comfort. Not a decision I wanted to make while on vacation. So we had to deal with the room with one bed. I do want to give credit to the view from our room, although we were hardly in the room. In addition, while sitting on the sofa, we felt crumbs. As my daughter got up there were crumbs on the back of her pants. There was half a cookie stuffed in between the seat of the sofa. We removed it. Also when we attempted to move the sofa to use t it, there were pistachio nut shells on the side of the sofa. We pushed them out into a visible spot so the maid could see them. We were shocked that upon return to our room the shells were still there. The maids need customer service training. They knock on your door at 9am sharp. we were dressing to leave, but the maid demanded to know exactly how long we would be. She named time frames - 15 minutes, 30 minutes. This was quite irritating and it happened each day. She even attempted to enter the room after two knocks, despite me saying hold on a minute. The price ws good and we were in walking distance of Union Square. The internet, pool and concierge at the hotel were all very good assets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Open Top Bus Tour - good value $35 for 24 hours and 20 great attractions including crossing the GGBridge. We got off and on to see many of the wonderful sites. Driver/Tour guide Mike was the most thorough and animated driver. He gave wonderful historical information not included on the tour recording.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Startup Hacker
Business
San Francisco
Aug 7, 2012

Nice, but very bad wifi

The free wifi is, during peak hours, barely usable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LTO83
Business
Pasadena
Jun 11, 2012

Good choice for kids.

Good location to the Ferry Building, trolly and museums. Quiet and out of the way of all the high traffic tourist areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lazydog
Business
El Sobrante,CA
May 21, 2012

Very nice place for S.F. one nighter!

This was our treat before the B2B race. Easy walking distance. Parking rates crazy ($45 approx.), nice, helpful staff, clean room. A microwave and small refrigerator would enhance the experience. Although comparable, the one night price is pretty stiff ($309). Great treat for the "once in a while"!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top