$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

3 stars
View map of 299, 2nd Street, San Francisco, CA 94105

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
W. Angel
Business
Maryland
Apr 3, 2010

It was great!

The location of the hotel is great as it is near all forms of public transportation. Restaurants are near by and it's walking distance to Union Square and Chinatown. Definitely a good find to stay at!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, WA
Mar 30, 2010

A good hotel.

It was a great hotel with good service. Thankfully the weather was nice so not so bad walking to see the sites. A little dissappointed that the indoor pool was too cold to swim in since this is one of the main reasons we chose this hotel over others that were closer to Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Archduke Ferdinand
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 30, 2010

Great Stay!

This is in a great location with easy access to BART and the rest of town. Cool restaurants nearby as well. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego
Mar 1, 2010

perfect vacation

the staff was great. it was a perfect location to walk all over city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zee
Business
Florida
Jan 24, 2010

Nice location, price's right but parking

We attended a hearing, spent 3 nights, all ends well. The only small/big problem was the parking, we know it will happened, but we didn't expect the parking was REAL EXPENSIVE (THAT MUCH $43.00 + TAX)a night. My husband lived in San Francisco since 1962 and I since 1988. He worked for the City/County of San Fran so we know how parking will effect us. But the Hotel's excellent and we'll coming back for sure. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bony
Business
boston, ma
Jan 18, 2010

Would recommend for business/pleasure

I stayed in this hotel for business, and was highly satisfied with their service. The staff were quite helpful in making sure that I had a pleasant stay. They had umbrellas ready in anticipation of the weather; helped arrange for shuttle pickup to the airport, gave good recommendations to get around the city, and places to vist. The room was spacious, comfortable, and included free ethernet connection (cable provided). It would have been a bit more convenient if the rooms had free wireless rather than ethernet, but overall the ability to go online in the guest room meant more productivity. The room in which I stayed did not have a mini fridge, but this did not affect the quality of my stay. Overall, I was glad to have stayed here, and would recommend this place to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The LOWES theater + IMAX is just 2 blocks away; SF MOMA is also within a few blocks. The hotel itself is conveniently located near the Moscone convention center, and is near major public bus routes. The above ground trolley is also within a few blocks. Dining options are unlimited in the vicinity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nurse2
Business
Middle TN
Jan 14, 2010

Convenience, class and cleanliness

Very clean and comfortable room. Didn't use the exercise room or pool unfortunately, just too busy. All hotel staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was overpriced, hair found in the eggs and we only went one time for both reasons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to the Cinderella Authentic Russian bakery on Balboa near G.G. Park for delicious Pirohki and desserts at a reasonable price; perfect choice for a picnic in the park. Also don't miss the Olympic Flame for breakfast all day every day, NO waiting and the prices and food are great(on Geary near Jones).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jan 3, 2010

Frisco on New Years

I was in Fisco to attend two rock and roll concerts over new years '09-'10. A freind of mine from the midwest enjoyed our stay at the Courtyard. It was convenient to stay here - just a few blocks from the mass transit systems on Market street, and we had no problems getting around the city. This location was nice and quiet and met our needs. I'd stay here again for similar purposes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Bike ride across the golden gate bridge and go into Sausalito. Nice ride with just a few up hill climbs to conquer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fifty something technocrat
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 31, 2009

Surprisingly better than adequate!

Only four LONG blocks from Moscone Center, but four or so shorter blocks to the Montgomery BART station, quite convenient, nice restaurants nearby but not in the thick of things. Keycard didn't work first time, no wireless internet in room but they provide an Ethernet cable for free high-speed access. Room small, but with a king bed and large flat screen HD LG TV, nice shower. Really cheap [...]Nice staff, including bellman.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greenmom
Business
Little Rock, AR
Sep 22, 2009

Great hotel and location

This was our first trip to San Francisco. Perfect room on the 10th floor with a view of the bay bridge. Staff was great and hotel location was too! We felt pretty comfortable walking to Market Street at night. September seems like the perfect time to visit. Hope to make this an annual trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top