$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

3 stars
View map of 299, 2nd Street, San Francisco, CA 94105

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
May 26, 2010

Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco

Friday night happened to be Prom night at the hotel and the kids were loud. Other than that the hotel was good value in a good location. The hotel is not in the center of the main tourist area of Union Square, but is close to a lot of less visited San Francisco landmarks and museums in SOMA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You don't need a rental car at this hotel. The BART is 4 blocks north of the hotel on Second and Market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
May 25, 2010

I WILL RETURN!!!!

Everything was great, the location but the staff took the cake. They were awesome. My room was huge. The only drawback and I mean, this was the only thing I did not like...no wireless internet in the room. Everyone else with this level of service provides that...why not this hotel? But I would and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is perfectly positioned in the city to access all points without insane traffic corridors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
May 24, 2010

Perfect Location!

This hotel is definitely the place to stay when coming to San Francisco. The price is right, and the hotel is located about three blocks from the MUNI/BART station on Market. It is nice being away from the Wharf because that side of town is VERY crowded. Staying downtown gives you a little bit of space. The room was just the right size for the two of us, and any more would be kind of pointless. The pool is only 3 feet deep, as well as the whirlpool - but after walking around town for three days, the whirlpool feels fantastic. The staff has maps of the city and food recommendations at the front desk and everyone is extremely helpful. Whenever we come to San Fran now, we will look up this hotel first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If your phone has GPS, USE IT! We were always able to find a bar or restaurant with good reviews using the GPS functionality on our phones and yelp or google maps. Drinks in San Fran run fairly expensive, so having a method of finding a few dives was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marriott Platinum member
Business
South Carolina
May 12, 2010

Hotel is great but service is awful

I am a marriott platinum rewards member so I know what I'm talking about when I speak of Marriott service. I've always stayed in Marriott hotels in all my years of travel as a consultant and even on vacations. This hotel has the worst service I've ever experienced. I was ready to forgive the front desk but even their concierge, whose primary role is to assist you, was very mean. Just one example, I called from my room to ask where the whole foods grocery was and instead of saying it's along this street if you need a map i have one down here, the concierge just told me why dont you come down here. This happened not only to me since the next day i was trying to book a tour and there was a guy in front of me asking for directions, he was not understanding it well and the concierge was showing that he was getting impatient, breathing a big sigh, and was explaining really fast like he had somewhere else to go. Marriott should do better when screening for people to work in their business. They must be people friendly since they interact with people 100%.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Apr 26, 2010

Great location.

Spacious rooms, very clean, helpful at front desk, good location. Only negative would be valet only parking available at $49 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just take the bus instead of cabbing or renting car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DrupalCon
Business
Parrish, FL
Apr 23, 2010

Great Hotel!!

Great time at this hotel. I was in town for DrupalCon [...] Never had any problems at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MuffinMaker
Business
Tacoma, WA
Apr 12, 2010

Great location for families!

Walking distance from a complex with ice skating, bowling, hands on art museum, & IMAX. Also walking distance to a huge shopping mall with an excellent food court. Walking distance to BART stop and major bus stops. (I am calling walking distance 4-6 blocks). Ferry building is an easy, flat, but longer walk. Good food, light rooms, very clean and exceptionally quiet. Great computer in lobby for boarding passes only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eventhough eating is close by, it works way better to plan ahead and eat before returning to the hotel for the evening. Chevy's does take out and is only a 3 block walk. North Beach Pizza delivers to the hotel - front desk has a menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stephenman
Business
San Fransico, Ca
Apr 8, 2010

Good Location, Hotel Wasn't bad, but not

The hotel location wasn't bad. It was defently tollerable and enjoyable. Free Internet. Pool and hot tub small as well as amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy Walk to everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TEANECK,NJ
Apr 5, 2010

MY FIRST HOTEL STAY

I was in a vacation to San Francisco for first time and the hotel is awesome with great rooms and close location to city Downtown. There is no parking in hotel and Valet is bit expensive but overall its a decent hotel to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market street is short walk and SFO city center mall is a short time walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jerico
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Apr 5, 2010

Good location for the price

We were allowed to check in early around 12PM PST. The staff are nice, place is clean but the only drawback is that our room is on the 4th floor so our view was the next building office.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top