$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

3 stars
View map of 299, 2nd Street, San Francisco, CA 94105

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sparks Gamer Babe
Business
Sparks, NV
May 11, 2013

Great Location

If you're attending a Giant's baseball game, this hotel is in a perfect location. It's approximately half a mile away from the gates, We did an overnight trip, valeted our car and walked everywhere. If you're looking to go to more areas, public transportations access is easy to get. When I purchased my room, I bought valet with it for $20- WELL worth it because otherwise it's 47 plus taxes/fees! Staff was nice. Annoyances: there was no DVD player in the room, the rental movies were very overpriced. I understand water conservation in a large city, but i felt it was wasteful that I needed to flush the toilet x2-3 for it to do it's job. Otherwise, I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clamjam22
Business
Montpelier, VT, USA
Aug 27, 2012

SF

Good overall, but the staff was secretive and suspicious when I checked in. They allowed someone who had my last name to take my room. They approached it like we had already checked in, but then the staff person left immediately to find a supervisor. The supervisor was equally coy about what was going on and divulged nothing of value. Finally we were given a room and not told what was going to happen immediately. The staff person called my room to tell me that everything was fine about 30 minutes later. The parking is convenient but really, really, really expensive. $45/night. However, there isn't anything really cheaper for overnight. Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Parking is expensive. Plan to use public transportation and avoid renting a car at all.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2coolchick
Business
Drexel Hill, PA
Aug 26, 2012

Good Value, Needs Cleaning Attention

I usually book Marriott properties. Fortunately, San Francisco is such a lovely city that our not good Marriott expereince at the Courtyard Marrioott in the financial district was overshadowed by this beautiful city. Upon arrival, my daughter and I learned that despite the online request and the telephone call made directly to the hotel 48 hours in advance of arrival, we would not be given a room with two beds. Since I had been told by friends that most hotel rooms in SF tend to be small, we made the effort to request the two beds. The hotel staff were non chalant and felt thay gave us an upgrade by placing us on the 18th floor with a view of the city. The room was small and the king sized bed was a tad larger than a queen bed. We were also given a sofa bed. Problem is the room set up does not allow for the sofa bed to be pulled out without moving the sofa which was right next to the end of the bed. We really did not want to spend time moving furniture back and forth. Although I went to the front desk on the first day and requested to move, we never received a follow up call. The following morning, I stopped by the desk as we were leaving for a tour and I was told that a room was avaiable and that my request had been misplaced and that if I wanted to move I had to do it rght then. I had to decide between missing my prepaid tour or comfort. Not a decision I wanted to make while on vacation. So we had to deal with the room with one bed. I do want to give credit to the view from our room, although we were hardly in the room. In addition, while sitting on the sofa, we felt crumbs. As my daughter got up there were crumbs on the back of her pants. There was half a cookie stuffed in between the seat of the sofa. We removed it. Also when we attempted to move the sofa to use t it, there were pistachio nut shells on the side of the sofa. We pushed them out into a visible spot so the maid could see them. We were shocked that upon return to our room the shells were still there. The maids need customer service training. They knock on your door at 9am sharp. we were dressing to leave, but the maid demanded to know exactly how long we would be. She named time frames - 15 minutes, 30 minutes. This was quite irritating and it happened each day. She even attempted to enter the room after two knocks, despite me saying hold on a minute. The price ws good and we were in walking distance of Union Square. The internet, pool and concierge at the hotel were all very good assets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Open Top Bus Tour - good value $35 for 24 hours and 20 great attractions including crossing the GGBridge. We got off and on to see many of the wonderful sites. Driver/Tour guide Mike was the most thorough and animated driver. He gave wonderful historical information not included on the tour recording.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Startup Hacker
Business
San Francisco
Aug 7, 2012

Nice, but very bad wifi

The free wifi is, during peak hours, barely usable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LTO83
Business
Pasadena
Jun 11, 2012

Good choice for kids.

Good location to the Ferry Building, trolly and museums. Quiet and out of the way of all the high traffic tourist areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lazydog
Business
El Sobrante,CA
May 21, 2012

Very nice place for S.F. one nighter!

This was our treat before the B2B race. Easy walking distance. Parking rates crazy ($45 approx.), nice, helpful staff, clean room. A microwave and small refrigerator would enhance the experience. Although comparable, the one night price is pretty stiff ($309). Great treat for the "once in a while"!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D2sdoll
Business
Salinas, CA
Jan 30, 2012

getaway weekend

The only thing I would change would be the valet parking. They charged a lot for it or you could take the chance and find a place on the street. It should have been complimentary for hotel guests and a fee for those who were not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maliachs
Business
Easy Bay, Ca
Jan 11, 2012

Awesome

Our stay was last minute and it couldn't have been better. Awesome location, the room was very clean and comfortable I would of been fine just staying in the room the whole time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff222
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Well located for convention at Moscone

easy 3 blk walk, starbucks and other coffee shops on the way

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
t.w.
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Weekend get away

very helpful and friendly staff. Close to museums, and great part of the city. The only negatives were crummy towels, and slow Internet. But, the positive is that computer in lobby and Internet were free ( as opposed to the Marriott Marquis ). If you need two beds, they were queen size and room was nice size. Way less crowded, less touristy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Grove on Mission is fabulous for breakfast, lunch. Shorter walk is Mondo breakfast on Mission. SFMOMA was incredible, just a short walk

Back to menu Return to top