$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

3 stars
View map of 299, 2nd Street, San Francisco, CA 94105

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
super dude1122
Business
san francisco
Jul 25, 2014

review

It was cool, some construction going on but it was a ok stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SF tourist
Business
San Fran Finanacial District, CA
Jul 7, 2014

Good hotel

I stayed here for a conference with about 100 other people. Good location, nice interior. Nothing overly spectacular, but overall a very decent place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
middle class mom
Business
monterey, ca
Jun 2, 2014

wanted to be close to at&t park for game

customer service was good. it's san francisco so of course everything was pricey esp parking. wouldn't have mind pricey but sofa had stains, bed was old and saggy, and sofa bed was worse cause the mattress was so old that my 12 yr old felt the bars through the mattress. we actually favor marriotts, but this was the only marriotts that we all didn't sleep well in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jo1012
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 15, 2014

Mid-week getaway

Nice, clean accommodations and excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kimbersc
Business
Santa Cruz, Ca
Dec 22, 2013

Fine, but a few little drawbacks

First of all, the location and price are great. There are surprisingly few options for hotels South of Market and I was going to an event nearby, so that was convenient. The price was also great at $159. The rooms were clean and the beds are incredibly comfortable. Free Wifi seems to be a growing trend, but the Courtyard has it and I still appreciate it. So now the few drawbacks.... This may see minor, but for having such comfortable beds, the pillows were close to the most uncomfortable hotel pillows I've ever witnesses (and I've stayed at thousands of hotels all over the world). Also, the Courtyard bills itself as a 'business traveler hotel.' I therefore found it strange that there was no coffee available anywhere in the hotel at 6:45. Most business travelers are up early and when I asked at the front desk if I could get (or buy) a cup of coffee somewhere in the hotel, I was told I'd have to wait for Starbucks (attached to hotel) to open at 7. Weirdly, Starbucks was 10 minutes late opening and there were a line of 8 of us in the lobby waiting or coffee. Last thing, I wasn't on expense account this time and so paying $57 for parking seemed a little outrageous. Maybe that's the going rate in downtown SF (I usually don't stay there), but that seemed a little ridiculous to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are SO many great restaurants in the area... Flytrap is next door (amazingly good!) and Lulu is walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevtur
Business
Reading, UK
Oct 31, 2013

Average hotel, but great beds

It's a typical chain hotel, with good sized rooms and comfy beds. The rooms are a little dated, and the bathrooms are clean, but could do with a refurb probably. It's in a great location, and probably for SFO offers value for money. I would stay here again, and would recommend staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LindsAy4119
Business
Toronto, Canada
Sep 10, 2013

Good for business travel, basic

The hotel was great. No problems, just very basic. It's exactly what you would expect a three star hotel to be, clean and simple. Nothing fancy here! Great for those traveling for business, good downtown location. Will stay here again, but wouldn't for a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimoli1999
Business
Reno
Sep 8, 2013

Courtyard Review

Very nice room and very comfortable beds. I little pricey to valet your car overnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kris Andrews
Business
San Francisco, California
Sep 1, 2013

Great value for even better location

The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of shops, the Embarcadero and public transportation (BART, Muni, CalTrain). The only problem I had was that the TV didn't work and I was too tired to have the staff fix it at night, but they kindly addressed it the next day. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rancher greg
Business
San francisco
Jun 7, 2013

Great place tostay in downtown San Francisco

Right from the start staff greated us with a smile. Provided ample service when ever required. Clean frendly atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top