$81 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 23, 2014

City Center Inn & Suites

1 star
240 7th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-4004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
45 reviews
when it comes to staff...... Exceptional

The hotel was OK and the price was right. Close to BART and City Center. The best part was the... See full review

  • WL an American from AZ
  • Feb 15, 2012
Free Parking! Convenient Location.

This hotel is the best for the price. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. Free,... See full review

  • Clamking
  • Oct 8, 2009
When you stay at City Center Inn & Suites - Downtown San Francisco you're staying at a 68 rooms & suites European-style boutique hotel with newly renovated, quaint and charming rooms that feature soothing colors along with duvet covers and blackout drapes. The City Center Inn & Suites is uniquely situated in 2 separate buildings: Main lobby building with a elevator & exterior corridor and Annex building with 3 floors, no elevator and interior corridor. Our hotel offers free limited parking ($24 value) and a Lite Continental Breakfast which includes choices of coffee, tea, juice and a pastry only each morning in the main lobby hospitality area from 6-9am ($7 value).

Hotel Map

37.7771 -122.4089
Area served
City Center Inn & Suites is located in Downtown/SoMa District of San Francisco, known for great shopping, Night Clubs/Lounges, Art Galleries, Fine Dining and outdoor eclectic cafes and outlet stores.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport - 12 miles North, San Jose-Mineta Int'l Airport 45 miles North and Oakland Int'l Airport 20 miles West
Area description
Welcome to the City Center Inn & Suites San Francisco where we are located in the urban quiet Downtown/South of Market, or SOMA, district which is much compared to New York City's Soho district known for eclectic fine dining, popular dance/night clubs, lounges and outlet shopping. Walk to the main Cable Cars station ride them to Union Square - famous shopping area, Westfield/Bloomingdales Mall within walking distance, Chinatown - one of the best in the United States, & Fisherman's Wharf- enjoy renowned dungress crab cakes.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed City Center Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5

City Center Inn & Suites Rooms

ND2
Non-smoking with 2 full size beds with all standard amenities, free wifi, free limited parking, complimentary lite continental breakfast
NK1
Non-smoking king bed with all standard amenities, free wifi, free limited parking, complimentary lite continental breakfast
SNQ4
Non-smoking 3 tandem room suite with one full bedded room and one queen bedded room with all standard amenities, free wifi, free limited parking,complimentary lite continental breakfast, balcony with courtyard view, living room, shower stall bathroom
NTQ1
Non-smking family room with one twin and one queen beds, with all standard amenities, free wifi, free limited parking, complimentary lite continental breakfast
NQ1
Non-smoking with queen bed includes all the standard amenities. Free Wifi, free limited parking, complimentary lite continental breakfast

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Night club
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • SoMa: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.3 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.9 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 2.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.2 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 2.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Staying at City Center Inn & Suites - Downtown San Francisco means you're just a short trip away from many of the excellent restaurants San Francisco has to offer. Whether it's a quick meal or gourmet dinner, you're sure to find a restaurant for every occasion! Such as Brainwash, Extreme Pizza, Rocca's Cafe, Basil - Thai Food and Bombay Gardens.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for City Center Inn & Suites

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.2
Value:
3

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappy999
Business
7th St, San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 3, 2012

not so good

Not told about the secure car parking at the hotel. parked in the hotel car park which was inside the hotel and the car was broken into, spend the rest of the day with police reports and changing the vehicle. Not a happy time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
flyzo
Business
san fran
Jun 18, 2013

very bad experience

I will not do it again I had a very bad expirence Homeless are all over arround

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 22, 2010

worst hotel experience of my life

After checking in, discovered that the wi-fi did not extend to my room. Front desk said they knew this and their solution was for me to "enjoy" the wi-fi from the lobby. After saying I was not happy with this and wanted to leave and find another hotel, I was switched to a room that had a slightly better connection, but it still kept dropping every so often. I left to find dinner and walk around the city only to come back to the room to discover a bed bug right on the pillow. I immediately called the front desk and there was no answer. Went down only to see that everything was locked, lights turned off, and no one was around. This was a little past midnight. No hours were posted and no note as to when anyone would be back. I've stayed in plenty of hotels over the years but this is the first one I've ever left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Buggy Runner
Business
Sacramento, CA
May 15, 2011

Bedbugs

At first glance, a little run down, but not bad considering the price. Then, at bedtime, we found bedbugs on the pillow of one of the beds. It was a big event weekend, so I knew most hotels were booked. The woman at the front desk was not surprised when I called, and asked me what I expected her to do! After some arguing, she "switched" my reservation with someone else's who hadn't shown up yet! I really hope they didn't put anyone else in that room! I did not want to stay here once they moved us but had no other option. In the morning, the manager was unavailable for me to ask for a partial refund and the same front desk lady didn't understand why I wanted one! DO NOT STAY HERE! The price is not worth the hassle of bedbugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LMChandler
Business
Petaluma CA
Sep 22, 2009

icky

The halls and room smelled of insecticide. It was pretty scuzzy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy college student
Business
Los Angeles CA
Nov 14, 2010

Worst feeling ever

I was down in SF for a university campus tour. Left my house at 3am and got to SF at 10am did my tour and hang out till after 3pm for my check-in. Mind I am a college student so money is super short[...]. Well as I go to check in, normally I understand they put your card on hold... But I'm this instance they wanted a "incedental fee" of $125[...]. I didn't end up staying there, meaning I wasnt able to get my refund for the room since I ended up at a friends, luckily! I think you need to find out extra policies the hotels are holding!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nmnmnmnmn
Business
LA,CA
Oct 28, 2009

Bed Bugs

Though i'm a very easy going person, i didn't care that there was nearly no breakfast, rooms were awefully small, no elevator, 3 channel Tv. All that stuff doesn't matter with me, but the huge number of bed bugs that destroyed my feet and hands were awfull . i changed the room three times till finally i can sleep one night out of the three nights.i had no option checking out due to shortage of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, Kentucky
Sep 24, 2009

My Mistake

Telephone system was out.My wife was unable to contact me. This was for four days. When my room was cleaned the dirty glasses were left each day. No coffee was left to replace what was used. No towels was left until I asked. It appeared that they had to wash the towels and face clothes ,the cleaning cart had no towels or anything to replace what was missing from the rooms. The T.V. had no cable,picture was awful!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The so called continental breakfast was a joke. You were told that you could have just one Danish, which they handed out to you when you came in to eat. The Satisfaction Survey below this box,there is no way to know what each circle represents. Left to right,good,bad,awful or what.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno
Oct 11, 2009

Review of Knights Inn Downtown San Franc

The hotel reception staff were not friendly. The room was not very clean and smelled quite a bit. Overal, the price charged for the rooms was not fair and excesive. One can find better rooms at less price in a much desured and convenient location. i would not recommend this place if at all possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SAN FRANCISCO, CA
Feb 14, 2011

weekend getaway!

Wow our overall experience was horrible! -the amenities listed on the website were not at all accurate when we got to our room. -in order for us to get new towels, i had to personally bring down the used one's to the front desk to exchange them. -when i called down to the front desk to see if the maid could clean our room while we were out, the manager at the front desk told me that i could tell her myself because she was around the area cleaning. -then to top things off, the heater didn't work and this is the time of year when you need a heater!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top