$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

City Center Inn & Suites

1 star
240 7th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-4004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
45 reviews
when it comes to staff...... Exceptional

The hotel was OK and the price was right. Close to BART and City Center. The best part was the... See full review

  • WL an American from AZ
  • Feb 15, 2012
Free Parking! Convenient Location.

This hotel is the best for the price. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. Free,... See full review

  • Clamking
  • Oct 8, 2009
When you stay at City Center Inn & Suites - Downtown San Francisco you're staying at a 68 rooms & suites European-style boutique hotel with newly renovated, quaint and charming rooms that feature soothing colors along with duvet covers and blackout drapes. The City Center Inn & Suites is uniquely situated in 2 separate buildings: Main lobby building with a elevator & exterior corridor and Annex building with 3 floors, no elevator and interior corridor. Our hotel offers free limited parking ($24 value) and a Lite Continental Breakfast which includes choices of coffee, tea, juice and a pastry only each morning in the main lobby hospitality area from 6-9am ($7 value).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed City Center Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5

City Center Inn & Suites Rooms

NQ1
Non-smoking with queen bed includes all the standard amenities. Free Wifi, free limited parking, complimentary lite continental breakfast
ND2
Non-smoking with 2 full size beds with all standard amenities, free wifi, free limited parking, complimentary lite continental breakfast
NK1
Non-smoking king bed with all standard amenities, free wifi, free limited parking, complimentary lite continental breakfast
SNQ4
Non-smoking 3 tandem room suite with one full bedded room and one queen bedded room with all standard amenities, free wifi, free limited parking,complimentary lite continental breakfast, balcony with courtyard view, living room, shower stall bathroom
NTQ1
Non-smking family room with one twin and one queen beds, with all standard amenities, free wifi, free limited parking, complimentary lite continental breakfast

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Night club
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • SoMa: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.3 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.9 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 2.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.2 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 2.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Staying at City Center Inn & Suites - Downtown San Francisco means you're just a short trip away from many of the excellent restaurants San Francisco has to offer. Whether it's a quick meal or gourmet dinner, you're sure to find a restaurant for every occasion! Such as Brainwash, Extreme Pizza, Rocca's Cafe, Basil - Thai Food and Bombay Gardens.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for City Center Inn & Suites

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.2
Value:
3

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WL an American from AZ
Business
Kiev, Kyiv city, Ukraine, 02000
Feb 15, 2012

when it comes to staff...... Exceptional

The hotel was OK and the price was right. Close to BART and City Center. The best part was the staff - exceptionally friendly and very helpful. One of the best staffs I have ever encountered in my travels! I could not say enough for them - from the front desk clerks to the cleaning people - they rate a 10, in other words Perfect! Ex: my room was on the second floor in the building across the street from the front desk; the female clerk assisted me with my luggage across the street, then offered to carry my bag up the stairs. Most bell-hops wouldn't do this without standing there waiting for a tip. It was a last minute reservation and considering the other hotels I checked out and their rudeness on the phone, I consider myself very fortunate to have paid a lesser price and receive a higher quality of service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the BART and City Center - easy enough to navigate from SFO and walk to the hotel. The front desk clerk gave me simple instructions over the phone and I found it without a hitch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clamking
Business
Pismo Beach, CA
Oct 8, 2009

Free Parking! Convenient Location.

This hotel is the best for the price. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. Free, secured parking is a huge bonus in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Studio City, CA
Apr 26, 2009

Easy as possible

This hotel made my last-minute leisure trip to San Francisco so easy! The room's a little small, but was comfortable and very clean. The oddly curved shower rod had a hard time holding up the curtain, so the bathroom floor turns into a lake. I did let the manager know asap, and he was attentive. The free breakfast includes minimuffins, tea, and coffee, and it ends a bit early. Maybe this runs longer on the weekend? The shape of the hotel can function as a big echo-tunnel for street traffic, but at night I didn't hear anything....except for the herd of buffalo on the floor above ( **Note: this is not the hotel's fault, but it is the fault of thoughtless people ) Free parking was also a bonus; except the lot was a U-shaped one-way route, and the exit was locked with a gate. Vacationers ended up having to leave through the entrance, which was a bit risky. I'm looking forward to my next trip here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clamking
Business
San Luis Obispo
Jun 29, 2009

Great Deal, Close to Everything!

This hotel is a great deal for south of market. The rooms are clean, the staff are friendly. It has free parking and free internet. It is close to civic center and the metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N/A
Aug 24, 2009

Nice people, great place

Nice stuff. Reasonable price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BDSMrichness
Business
Huntsville, AL, USA
Sep 28, 2012

Great for value, not for the faint of heart.

This makes the fourth year in a row that I've stayed here for the street fair that occurs at the end of September. For that and similar events, it's perfect. The location to the fair is perfect, and the price can't be beat. It's also one of the few hotels in its price range that have air conditioning. Even though I don't use it much thanks to San Francisco's cool nights, I still use it occasionally. Since I'm not use to city noises, opening up a window is NOT an option. The other really nice feature about the hotel is the shower. The water pressure and volume is fantastic, though you have to let the water run for a while in order to warm up. Now for the drawbacks. I originally booked Friday-Monday before I was able to book a flight. I had to leave on Thursday instead to take advantage of a Frequent Flier flight. So I booked this Thursday night several months after the initial booking. It was apparently for a different room style and was more expensive. No matter how much I begged them to convert this more expensive room into the cheaper room of the rest of the weekend, they wouldn't do it. Therefore, I had to change rooms after one night. That means I had to do two different deposits for two different reservations. Nothing in their description mentions this deposit. I only know about it since I've stayed here multiple times. Granted, they refund the deposit provided my room isn't damaged, but it's a really annoying inconvenience. Also, it's not in the best of neighborhoods. If you're easily intimidated by homeless people and beggars, you need to stay in a better part of town. Therefore, it's not recommended for families or single female travelers. I gave it 4 out of 5 for location due to the Street Fair I attend. For those who attend this street fair, and partake of the bars and business in and around Folsom street, it's perfectly located! The bottom line is that the hotel is not for the faint of heart or those that need luxury. It is, however, a fantastic hotel for those that need a good value for their money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nena and Saf
Business
Los angeles
Apr 24, 2013

Good for couples

Good & fair price, nice location, great staff. It said there is breakfast but there is not... The hotel suggest free parking- very important.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deporah
Business
China
Jul 25, 2013

great!

it is valuable to stay there. very convenient to walk to main attractions of SF downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
G Grainger
Business
Modesto, Ca
Nov 10, 2013

fit the bill

a place to sleep n shower, nice not fancy, served its intended purpose

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mazda Mike
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Feb 1, 2014

Great, clean, very quiet

Very nice hotel, real quiet, conveniently located, staff was very nice, clean room, parking is a plus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top