$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 17, 2014 Check-out: Nov 20, 2014

City Center Inn & Suites

1 star
240 7th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-4004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
45 reviews
when it comes to staff...... Exceptional

The hotel was OK and the price was right. Close to BART and City Center. The best part was the... See full review

  • WL an American from AZ
  • Feb 15, 2012
Free Parking! Convenient Location.

This hotel is the best for the price. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. Free,... See full review

  • Clamking
  • Oct 8, 2009
When you stay at City Center Inn & Suites - Downtown San Francisco you're staying at a 68 rooms & suites European-style boutique hotel with newly renovated, quaint and charming rooms that feature soothing colors along with duvet covers and blackout drapes. The City Center Inn & Suites is uniquely situated in 2 separate buildings: Main lobby building with a elevator & exterior corridor and Annex building with 3 floors, no elevator and interior corridor. Our hotel offers free limited parking ($24 value) and a Lite Continental Breakfast which includes choices of coffee, tea, juice and a pastry only each morning in the main lobby hospitality area from 6-9am ($7 value).

Hotel Map

37.7771 -122.4089
Area served
City Center Inn & Suites is located in Downtown/SoMa District of San Francisco, known for great shopping, Night Clubs/Lounges, Art Galleries, Fine Dining and outdoor eclectic cafes and outlet stores.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport - 12 miles North, San Jose-Mineta Int'l Airport 45 miles North and Oakland Int'l Airport 20 miles West
Area description
Welcome to the City Center Inn & Suites San Francisco where we are located in the urban quiet Downtown/South of Market, or SOMA, district which is much compared to New York City's Soho district known for eclectic fine dining, popular dance/night clubs, lounges and outlet shopping. Walk to the main Cable Cars station ride them to Union Square - famous shopping area, Westfield/Bloomingdales Mall within walking distance, Chinatown - one of the best in the United States, & Fisherman's Wharf- enjoy renowned dungress crab cakes.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed City Center Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5

City Center Inn & Suites Rooms

ND2
Non-smoking with 2 full size beds with all standard amenities, free wifi, free limited parking, complimentary lite continental breakfast
NK1
Non-smoking king bed with all standard amenities, free wifi, free limited parking, complimentary lite continental breakfast
SNQ4
Non-smoking 3 tandem room suite with one full bedded room and one queen bedded room with all standard amenities, free wifi, free limited parking,complimentary lite continental breakfast, balcony with courtyard view, living room, shower stall bathroom
NTQ1
Non-smking family room with one twin and one queen beds, with all standard amenities, free wifi, free limited parking, complimentary lite continental breakfast
NQ1
Non-smoking with queen bed includes all the standard amenities. Free Wifi, free limited parking, complimentary lite continental breakfast

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Night club
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • SoMa: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.2 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.3 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.9 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 2.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.2 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Staying at City Center Inn & Suites - Downtown San Francisco means you're just a short trip away from many of the excellent restaurants San Francisco has to offer. Whether it's a quick meal or gourmet dinner, you're sure to find a restaurant for every occasion! Such as Brainwash, Extreme Pizza, Rocca's Cafe, Basil - Thai Food and Bombay Gardens.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for City Center Inn & Suites

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.2
Value:
3

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nena and Saf
Business
Los angeles
Apr 24, 2013

Good for couples

Good & fair price, nice location, great staff. It said there is breakfast but there is not... The hotel suggest free parking- very important.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LynneaRoo
Business
Sacramento, CA
Apr 24, 2013

Cheap Hotel Free Parking

This hotel was in a decent location though fairly close to the Tenderloin which is not the safest area. We did feel safe though and had no issues where our car was parked. Lots of nearby restaurants and public transit. Free parking, cheap rates. This hotel is on both sides of the street but the only staff on hand was on the side where you check in/out. They seemed to be booking everyone on the far side of the street. This i good for people not trying to be bothered however the only ice machine wasn't working (i think it was unplugged) and no one was around to fix it. Also the walls are thin so we were woken up by everyone being loud in the halls included housekeeping knocking on everyone's door. We also had issues with the room saying check out was at noon but the maids banging on out door at 11:00 asking when we were leaving. When I pointed out the sign in the room said check out was at noon, she said "We changed it" and we needed to go. Kinda irritated me off, but i guess the price was right and free parking again was the big benefit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BDSMrichness
Business
Huntsville, AL, USA
Sep 28, 2012

Great for value, not for the faint of heart.

This makes the fourth year in a row that I've stayed here for the street fair that occurs at the end of September. For that and similar events, it's perfect. The location to the fair is perfect, and the price can't be beat. It's also one of the few hotels in its price range that have air conditioning. Even though I don't use it much thanks to San Francisco's cool nights, I still use it occasionally. Since I'm not use to city noises, opening up a window is NOT an option. The other really nice feature about the hotel is the shower. The water pressure and volume is fantastic, though you have to let the water run for a while in order to warm up. Now for the drawbacks. I originally booked Friday-Monday before I was able to book a flight. I had to leave on Thursday instead to take advantage of a Frequent Flier flight. So I booked this Thursday night several months after the initial booking. It was apparently for a different room style and was more expensive. No matter how much I begged them to convert this more expensive room into the cheaper room of the rest of the weekend, they wouldn't do it. Therefore, I had to change rooms after one night. That means I had to do two different deposits for two different reservations. Nothing in their description mentions this deposit. I only know about it since I've stayed here multiple times. Granted, they refund the deposit provided my room isn't damaged, but it's a really annoying inconvenience. Also, it's not in the best of neighborhoods. If you're easily intimidated by homeless people and beggars, you need to stay in a better part of town. Therefore, it's not recommended for families or single female travelers. I gave it 4 out of 5 for location due to the Street Fair I attend. For those who attend this street fair, and partake of the bars and business in and around Folsom street, it's perfectly located! The bottom line is that the hotel is not for the faint of heart or those that need luxury. It is, however, a fantastic hotel for those that need a good value for their money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappy999
Business
7th St, San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 3, 2012

not so good

Not told about the secure car parking at the hotel. parked in the hotel car park which was inside the hotel and the car was broken into, spend the rest of the day with police reports and changing the vehicle. Not a happy time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WL an American from AZ
Business
Kiev, Kyiv city, Ukraine, 02000
Feb 15, 2012

when it comes to staff...... Exceptional

The hotel was OK and the price was right. Close to BART and City Center. The best part was the staff - exceptionally friendly and very helpful. One of the best staffs I have ever encountered in my travels! I could not say enough for them - from the front desk clerks to the cleaning people - they rate a 10, in other words Perfect! Ex: my room was on the second floor in the building across the street from the front desk; the female clerk assisted me with my luggage across the street, then offered to carry my bag up the stairs. Most bell-hops wouldn't do this without standing there waiting for a tip. It was a last minute reservation and considering the other hotels I checked out and their rudeness on the phone, I consider myself very fortunate to have paid a lesser price and receive a higher quality of service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the BART and City Center - easy enough to navigate from SFO and walk to the hotel. The front desk clerk gave me simple instructions over the phone and I found it without a hitch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BDSMrichness
Business
Huntsville, AL, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Good value, but NOT for families or the timid/picky.

Make no mistake: this place is on the lower end of the quality spectrum. However, what it lacks in sparkle, it makes up for in convenience. I'm a gay man traveling into San Francisco for Folsom. It's perfectly located for attending that event. It is simply a place to sleep and shower, not lounge or relax in. However, the long walk to Market Street and BART makes it difficult if you have lots of luggage. The 19 bus does run down 7th, but it might too crowded for luggage. But if you travel lightly and want to save some money, this is one the cheapest hotels in the SOMA district. However, because of the homeless people/beggars in the streets (especially on Market), I don't recommend families or the timid stay here. The king bed room was quite small and cramped, but it was fine for me as a single traveler. The power outlets were surprisingly plentiful and easy to get to for running laptops, charging cameras, and running a cpap. Room 230 had great access to their free wi-fi this year, but it has been spotty in the past. The shower is also especially nice, though the tub in room 230 leaked, so put down the shower towel/mat. The nice water pressure and temperature remained constant, which is how I judge most hotel rooms, though it did take a bit for the water to warm up. The other big plus for this hotel is the air conditioner. Being from the hot, humid south, AC is a requirement. Most of the cheaper hotels in SF do not have AC. That may be fine for those use to living in a city, but street sounds are too irritating to those use to living in the quieter suburbs or rural areas. Being able to close the windows and use an AC is fantastic. Wearing earplugs is still necessary though. Unfortunately, the AC in room 230 wasn't working as well as it should have. I simply put up with it instead of changing rooms. The AC in other rooms on previous stays have all worked fine. One small complaint is the hold charge they put on your credit/debit card for incidentals/damage deposit. They don't mention this in their description, and can be quite a shock if you're not expecting it. It's especially annoying if you've pre-paid here through Orbitz. Overall, I would gladly recommend the Knight's Inn to anyone wanting an inexpensive place to sleep in the SOMA district. It's location is perfect for the leather crowd attending Folsom. Conversely, single female travelers or families should avoid it. The AC and nice shower make it a great value for the single traveler needing to save funds. I've stayed here for 3 years running, and plan to return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Rocco's Cafe at 1131 Folsom Street for an awesome meal. Also, the 19 bus runs down 7th street. Use it instead of the F line to get to Fisherman's Wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dallas tx.
Aug 10, 2011

familt getaway

elevator work so slow either up or downin coffee pot in the labby out of order in my entire stay of three days the meneger does not bother to fix it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

theater

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CornDotCom
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 9, 2011

OK Place To Stay

The WiFi was really weak which made it hard to work and/or use the internet. The desk service was excellent. They were really accommodating in spite of their $150.00 deposit the require (which is not advertised when booking the room). The rooms were clean and well-maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Numerous bars and night clubs within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Buggy Runner
Business
Sacramento, CA
May 15, 2011

Bedbugs

At first glance, a little run down, but not bad considering the price. Then, at bedtime, we found bedbugs on the pillow of one of the beds. It was a big event weekend, so I knew most hotels were booked. The woman at the front desk was not surprised when I called, and asked me what I expected her to do! After some arguing, she "switched" my reservation with someone else's who hadn't shown up yet! I really hope they didn't put anyone else in that room! I did not want to stay here once they moved us but had no other option. In the morning, the manager was unavailable for me to ask for a partial refund and the same front desk lady didn't understand why I wanted one! DO NOT STAY HERE! The price is not worth the hassle of bedbugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Center Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SAN FRANCISCO, CA
Feb 14, 2011

weekend getaway!

Wow our overall experience was horrible! -the amenities listed on the website were not at all accurate when we got to our room. -in order for us to get new towels, i had to personally bring down the used one's to the front desk to exchange them. -when i called down to the front desk to see if the maid could clean our room while we were out, the manager at the front desk told me that i could tell her myself because she was around the area cleaning. -then to top things off, the heater didn't work and this is the time of year when you need a heater!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top