$203 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Buena Vista Motor Inn

2 stars
1599 Lombard Street, 1599 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123-3113
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
40 reviews
very good !

good hotel, free parking, brief breakfast, clean room. a little loud as close to Lombard Str. See full review

  • Caoc
  • Dec 2, 2013
Met our needs

Although the room was pretty basic and could use some updating, my wife commented on how clean it... See full review

  • Pikes Peak Observer
  • Nov 21, 2013
Buena Vista Motor Inn The Friendliest Lodging in the Marina just blocks from famous Fisherman s Wharf and the cable cars. The Buena Vista Motor Inn is a comfortable convenient hotel in the heart of the Marina and Wharf districts. You will enjoy attractive accommodations modern amenities with friendly service surrounded by the cities exciting attractions and shops. Parking for everyone is FREE. You will enjoy comfort convenience and a host of modern services such as Internet access - business services - 24-hour front desk - FREE parking that make your visit an exceptional value. Start your day with a deluxe continental breakfast by the Bay. Enjoy magical views of the Marina with your friends from our elegant lobby and the Pan-Pacific upper lobby. Soak up some rays or watch the sun set over the Golden Gate Bridge from our relaxing rooftop deck. All rooms have coffee makers - irons/ironing boards and hair dryers. Enjoy cable TV with HBO on 32 inch TV. Elevators lift you all floors with indoor hallways. You can use the Internet computer in the lobby or connect with your laptop using wireless or wired connection. You will be The Golden Gate Bridge is only minutes away. Enjoy fine eating and shopping on Union Street Member of San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau. AAA approved.

Buena Vista Motor Inn Rooms

One King Bed - Non Smoking
One King Bed - Non Smoking with coffee makers- iron/board HBO hair dryer Cont Breakfast
One King Bed - Smoking
One King Bed - Smoking with coffee makers- iron/board HBO hair dryer Cont Breakfast
Two Queen beds Non Smoking
Two Queen beds Non Smoking with coffee makers- iron/board HBO shower tub hair dryer
Two Queen beds Smoking
Two Queen beds Smoking with coffee makers- iron/board HBO shower tub hair dryer Cont breakfast

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Activities
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Buena Vista Motor Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.8008 -122.4278
Area served
SFO-San Francisco CA
Nearby airports
SFO-San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 17.00, MI, NW; OAK-Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 36.00, MI, NW; SJC-San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 48.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Lombard Street: 0.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Lands End: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.1 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.4 mi
  • Union Square: 1.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.6 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.9 mi
  • SoMa: 1.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.9 mi

Dining

Cafe Lombard
Casual dining serves breakfast package. They serve Italian food for dinner. Always gets good reviews from our guests
Cafe GoLo
Cafe GoLo is a good little spot when you are looking for good food good service and convenience
Pasta Pomodoro
Italian Goutmet at fast food prices
Kentuckey Fried Chicken
Fast Food Kentuckey fried Chicken
Blue Light
Americian Cheers style Bar and Resurant
Brazen Head
Friendly atomoshere of an Irish Pub. Great late-night restaurant. Dinner served until 1 A.M
Cafe Union
Savoy classic American
Hunan Empire
Canton and Mandarin Excellent Chinese food - Dim Sum
La Boulange
French cafe and bakery
Netties Crab Shack
Seafood Casual east coast style

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Buena Vista Motor Inn

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 40
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pikes Peak Observer
Colorado Springs
Nov 21, 2013

Met our needs

Although the room was pretty basic and could use some updating, my wife commented on how clean it was. The staff was great. We had a bit of a problem with the rental car going over the Golden Gate Bridge vis a vis tolls and the counter clerk handled it efficiently and in a friendly manner. Could use modern windows to keep out the traffic sounds but that is only suggestion, other than more of a breakfast. Price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're there for a few days, get a pass for buses, streetcars and cable cars. Otherwise, very expensive. Don't drive if you can avoid it. Traffic is horrible. Walk over to Union Street area. Shopping and food.

Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brian Scott
San Jose
Oct 14, 2013

Old standard

Needed to be in the city on a weekend with a huge convention, so all the hotel prices were jacked up 100-500%. Went back to a place I used to stay periodically, the Buena Vista. Decent location near the Marina, basic Continental breakfast in the morning. A BIG pus is free parking, especially when the higher priced downtown hotels are asking $40-60 for a night of parking. Staff is good. Nice view from the upper deck patio. Ask for a room in the back if you need quiet, the Lombard street (front) side can get a little noisy with all the traffic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice walk out to the Marina green. Longer walk to GG bridge, Presidio, etc...

Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
My Dog 4 President
DC
Sep 3, 2013

Great location, but hotel needs renovation

Great location for exploring the city. Dated interior. Bed was bad. Cig burn on comforter. Parking included. A stretch your budget option for SFO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sac couple
NorCal
Jun 28, 2013

SF weekend

Little pricey, but in good location and room was good size not the usual postage stamp rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Disney Family Museum in the Presidio

Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler wife
santa rosa, ca
Feb 18, 2013

Great location

Great location; early check-in was allowed; only one staff at desk with big back-up; parking garage a bonus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NorCal budget hotel champ
Los Angeles, ca
Feb 18, 2013

Quick stay, recommended

Rooms are huge, bed was clean and comfortable. Updated TV's and bathroom was clean. For the price it worked well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stockton, Ca.
Sep 24, 2012

Not worth the price

The location was o.k. and they do have their own parking lot. The lobby was small but accomodating. The room however was in bad need of painting, as were the hallways. A good vacuming would make a big difference too. No view of anything but the backside of the building next door. For what we paid I was very disappointed. Nothing special, old styling, very hard beds, towels like sandpaper, recent construction in our bathroom that exposed unpainted drywall, and the a/c barely worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

20 minutes downhill

Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PinkGem
Rohnert Park, CA, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Great Location-Great Price

Close to everything. Great price, clean and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maricakes
San Jose, CA, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Great place to find the basics

We planned a brief overnight stay in the city and found ourselves immersed in Fleet Week. Our room was a fortunate accident, we were lucky enough to land a room in the front of the hotel where we could see the air show directly from our room. The rooms were clean and the staff was helpful. I would stay here again. If you are looking for a decent affordable place to rest your head, this place worked for us! Not a bad location we walked to fisherman's wharf, Ghiradelli Square and took a short cab ride to Mission.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Fishermans Wharf and Pier 39 are the closest attractions I would recommend. These are lengthy walks, but the scenery was nice.

Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patterson
California
Sep 4, 2011

We'll be back!

You won't find a better hotel at this price. We'll be back! Accessible to all that SF has to offer. Free parking for all guests. Who offers that? Quiet rooms on the backside. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top