$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
363 reviews
Great Little Room in a Perfect Location

Nice People, Nice Room, and for the Price I would definitely stay here anytime I am in SF. See full review

  • Aaron T.
  • May 30, 2015
Awesome

We always stay here for our Anniversary every year! Very romantic! See full review

  • Theresa R.
  • Apr 24, 2015

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Property features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Nearby attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Policies
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
363 out of 363
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Baggio
Business
St. Louis, mo
Jul 8, 2010

Disappointed, not worth it

Very small room, the carpet was very dirty, and there was no air-conditioning in the room. The front desk gave us a room next to the elevator, it was so noisy!!!! The street was not quiet neither. In addition, there was no wifi in the room, had to go downstairs. The breakfast was fine. Generally, it's not worthy to stay here. I could found a much better place in union square for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miserables
Business
Colorado
Apr 7, 2013

Six days of Horror

A pathetic experience. They boast about free airport shuttle. But it is not free at all. No internet at room. Even the internet at the lobby is very slow. Breakfast is very ordinary. Overall, it is a nightmare with all false promises. I will never recommend anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Horrible experience!

We called Beresford a head of time to change reservations from twin to double bed and add another night. Was given the okay, but when we got there extra night had been added, but bed request had not been changed. Spent the first night in twin beds. The next morning we had to move to another room with the double bed. The gentleman wanted us to wait until the second room was available around noon to move ourselves in. They finally told us they would move our things to the new room while we were enjoying the city. The faucet in sink would not turn off and the bathroom itself was so small your knees hit the sink when on the toilet. All that would have been something to laugh at had the front desk staff not been unbelievably rude. Had a wonderful time in San Francisco, but the staff at Beresford clearly need to work on their customer service skills!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 21, 2009

Beresford Hotel...not a great experience

I wish I had not booked at this hotel. From the moment i walked in. The staff was pushy and unorganized. I was on vacation and I got very stressed out just checking-in. I had two staff talking to me at once while checking-in. One being pushy about shuttle service from hotel to airport while I was just trying to check-in. Than i got to the room and it was extremely small. I couldn't even pull my bag between the bed and the dresser. There were no outlets, no air conditioning and no space to put any of our luggage. To keep the room "cool" we had to use a fan that was loud. On top of this there was steal stinch in the air that made all my clothes smell. I would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 23, 2008

not happy

Temperatures were over 95 degrees in the city that day, hotel had no air conditioning and room was on first floor, so couldn't safely open the window. Homeless congregating near and around entrance. Front desk clerk doing several things at one time, so no patience with questions. Left and found another hotel nearby, came back for my bags. Front desk didn't care that I was leaving! Later that evening discovered that I had left 2 tops hanging in the closet at the Beresford and called over there. They said there was nothing in the room and housekeeping had gone home. Nothing at the front desk either. It was 24 hours before anyone came up with my tops; again when I went to pick them up, no apologies or comments from clerk - just handed me the package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lori's Diner - great 50s type place to eat. Good food and reasonable prices.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tallmadge
Aug 23, 2008

Once in our room it did ...

Once in our room it did not smell like smoke, but it was recently painted. The windows were painted shut. The room was small and with the fumes, it was noxious. We could not open the window and had to have someone from the front desk (the only nice person we interacted with) came up and forced the window open. Finally we went to use the restroom and there was no soap. So we called front desk again were the man asked why we didn't take it from our previous room. After this statement, I had no hope for a positive stay. The hotel was in a good location, the shower had hot water, breakfast buffet was decent, there were two beds and the one guy at the front desk was great. On the flip side, there were only the main 5 channels on tv, the bed was uncomfortable, the window had no screen, there was no fan, the main desk clerk was incredibly rude, etc. Your call, but good luck if you do go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a couple great neighborhoods close by, the museum and plenty of shopping.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sleepless in SF
Business
San Fransisco, East union square
Jun 29, 2009

Won't be on my fab five list

We came to enjoy a fabulous play "Wicked" great show, great city, terrible hotel and stay. Check-in was terrible the clerk was coughing and sneezing all over. Made no apologies. Room was tiny, bathroom was even smaller, I could brush my teeth, wash my feet while sitting on the toilet. Don't get me started on the noise. At one point I was woken up with a person standing on my fire escape. Grant it no air condition or ventilation in the room thus, the window was open to the entire street traffic, sidewalk and oh yes, the visiting person on the fire escape. No apologies from the hotel at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MsTiggerlicious
Business
Turlock, CA
Jun 29, 2009

YUCKY!!!!

There was no air conditioning in the room and had to open the window and to me it wasn't safe. The smells of the rooms and the hotel was like it was really OLD. It took almost 30 minutes for our truck to be brought around from the Valet Service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family Vacation Planner
Business
St. Louis, MO
Mar 3, 2009

Total mispresentation

The rooms were not as representated. They were small, had torn shades, worn spreads and broken and mismatached furniture. It looked like it was furnished from motel salvage. The sink in the bath wouldn't drain and there was no hot water in the shower (no tub). We asked to be moved and looked at 4 rooms, all were the same. We asked to see the room pictured in the phamplet at the front desk and were told that those rooms did not exist in this hotel. The only positive was the location which was excellent - 2 blocks from Union Square. When we complained at the front desk, we were told, "What did you expect for the price?" We've never been burned like this in 7 years of staying at Orbitz hotels. We will really investigate further in the future though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Every dining experience you could imagine was within a short walk. Sitting in the plaza of Union Square was lovely. It's great for people watching.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Aug 21, 2009

Worst Experience EVER. DONT STAY HERE

This was one of the worst experiences with a hotel i have ever had. First off they changed our reservation from 2 beds to 1 bed (still don't know why), and then couldn't put us in a different room because they were all booked up. Our TV was broken, and only 1 of 4 lights in the room worked. They made us use their overpriced valet parking, and then the valet driver stole things from our rental car. I had to sleep on the floor, which affected my job the next day due to my back hurting and being upset that i had to sleep on the floor. The worst part was the service, as after telling them how upset i was that they changed our reservation they laughed in our faces. The Beresford is not a hotel that should be used by people who expect what they pay for, because we did not get what we payed for. Even worse is that i sat on the phone for 2 hours with Orbitz and the hotel the next day trying to receive some sort of comensation, and only to both of them blaming the problems on each other, ultimately shafting me having to pay for the WORST HOTEL STAY IN MY LIFE. It has been 4 days of me waiting for Orbitz to return my call, and i can honestly say that if i am not treated fairly like a longtime customer should, not only will i never stay at the Beresford (a given), but i will no longer continue to use Orbitz, because they need to regulate more on the hotels they do business with. HORRIBLE STAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't stay here, or ask them for help, because every hotel person we dealt with had a serious attitude and made me felt like i shouldn't be asking them to do their jobs

Back to menu Return to top