$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
332 reviews
Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location... See full review

  • Happy Campers I
  • Sep 3, 2013
Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars,... See full review

  • KonnieKatt
  • May 26, 2014
Victorian style, family atmosphere and free breakfast near Union Square

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7887 -122.4109
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International and (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
Located near Powell Street Cable Car, China Town, theaters, shopping, dining, museums, galleries and nightclubs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (332)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
332 out of 332
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Cruz
Sep 21, 2008

very small rooms

the rooms are very small, the furniture looks like sears cast off...bathrooms are really small...there wasn't even a hair dryer in our room....sheets & pillows had a harsh smell to them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is close to union square, shopping & dining....neighborhood is ok, no problems

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Aug 21, 2009

Worst Experience EVER. DONT STAY HERE

This was one of the worst experiences with a hotel i have ever had. First off they changed our reservation from 2 beds to 1 bed (still don't know why), and then couldn't put us in a different room because they were all booked up. Our TV was broken, and only 1 of 4 lights in the room worked. They made us use their overpriced valet parking, and then the valet driver stole things from our rental car. I had to sleep on the floor, which affected my job the next day due to my back hurting and being upset that i had to sleep on the floor. The worst part was the service, as after telling them how upset i was that they changed our reservation they laughed in our faces. The Beresford is not a hotel that should be used by people who expect what they pay for, because we did not get what we payed for. Even worse is that i sat on the phone for 2 hours with Orbitz and the hotel the next day trying to receive some sort of comensation, and only to both of them blaming the problems on each other, ultimately shafting me having to pay for the WORST HOTEL STAY IN MY LIFE. It has been 4 days of me waiting for Orbitz to return my call, and i can honestly say that if i am not treated fairly like a longtime customer should, not only will i never stay at the Beresford (a given), but i will no longer continue to use Orbitz, because they need to regulate more on the hotels they do business with. HORRIBLE STAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't stay here, or ask them for help, because every hotel person we dealt with had a serious attitude and made me felt like i shouldn't be asking them to do their jobs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tallmadge
Aug 23, 2008

Once in our room it did ...

Once in our room it did not smell like smoke, but it was recently painted. The windows were painted shut. The room was small and with the fumes, it was noxious. We could not open the window and had to have someone from the front desk (the only nice person we interacted with) came up and forced the window open. Finally we went to use the restroom and there was no soap. So we called front desk again were the man asked why we didn't take it from our previous room. After this statement, I had no hope for a positive stay. The hotel was in a good location, the shower had hot water, breakfast buffet was decent, there were two beds and the one guy at the front desk was great. On the flip side, there were only the main 5 channels on tv, the bed was uncomfortable, the window had no screen, there was no fan, the main desk clerk was incredibly rude, etc. Your call, but good luck if you do go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a couple great neighborhoods close by, the museum and plenty of shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bakersfield, ca
Aug 21, 2009

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

We ordered a room and bed for 3 peopel, there was room for 2 peopel only

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 23, 2008

not happy

Temperatures were over 95 degrees in the city that day, hotel had no air conditioning and room was on first floor, so couldn't safely open the window. Homeless congregating near and around entrance. Front desk clerk doing several things at one time, so no patience with questions. Left and found another hotel nearby, came back for my bags. Front desk didn't care that I was leaving! Later that evening discovered that I had left 2 tops hanging in the closet at the Beresford and called over there. They said there was nothing in the room and housekeeping had gone home. Nothing at the front desk either. It was 24 hours before anyone came up with my tops; again when I went to pick them up, no apologies or comments from clerk - just handed me the package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lori's Diner - great 50s type place to eat. Good food and reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Baggio
St. Louis, mo
Jul 8, 2010

Disappointed, not worth it

Very small room, the carpet was very dirty, and there was no air-conditioning in the room. The front desk gave us a room next to the elevator, it was so noisy!!!! The street was not quiet neither. In addition, there was no wifi in the room, had to go downstairs. The breakfast was fine. Generally, it's not worthy to stay here. I could found a much better place in union square for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KSD
CO
Nov 27, 2009

Stay Away

Rude staff and old rooms with loud furnace rumbling ALL night. Rooms are cramped and looking back wod have enjoyed staying on the street. This hotel should be avoided at all costs. Also, I left some clothes in the closest and they were not interested in helping look for them. Worst customer service anywhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Mission Rock Cafe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethesda, MD
Sep 29, 2009

HORRIBLE

When I arrived at the hotel, the staff gave me a room that was not yet cleaned, and was still absolutely disgusting. The room was very small with a tiny bathroom and crammed quarters. The staff was very inattentive. You could also hear noise from other rooms all along the hallway. Finally, there was no wireless internet reception in the room as well as terrible cell phone service. Thankfully, I had enough to do on my trip where I did not have to stay at the hotel very often. I would not recommend staying at this hotel...ever!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Jul 30, 2009

The Smokey, Non Smoking Room

There for last day of visit to San Francisco, thank goodness we only had to stay there less than 8 hours. Was supposed to be non smoking,they must just change the sign based on who stays in room. Staff did not seem to care when we complained. Musty smelling,very small,worse than a motel 6. Don't know how this was rated 3star, we stayed at much nicer boutique hotels in area for same price. While the lobby looks kind of cool,the only good thing about this hotel was the location, close to trolley,cable cars etc. This could be a nice hotel with a little more attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MsTiggerlicious
Turlock, CA
Jun 29, 2009

YUCKY!!!!

There was no air conditioning in the room and had to open the window and to me it wasn't safe. The smells of the rooms and the hotel was like it was really OLD. It took almost 30 minutes for our truck to be brought around from the Valet Service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search