$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
369 reviews
Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location... See full review

  • Happy Campers I
  • Sep 3, 2013
Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars,... See full review

  • KonnieKatt
  • May 26, 2014
Victorian style, family atmosphere and free breakfast near Union Square

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7887 -122.4109
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International and (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
Located near Powell Street Cable Car, China Town, theaters, shopping, dining, museums, galleries and nightclubs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (369)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 369
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Aug 26, 2007

location was the key

Good price for the central location. Nothing wrong with the room or the place in general. It was in good repair. Continental breakfast worth passing up. Go the 60's style diner down the street instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caete
Fresno, CA
Aug 20, 2009

Loved the hotel

My hotel room was in the front, 5th floor. No noise from the next room, some noise from the hall, street usually quiet. Comfortable bed, clean room. The carpet color made it look old at first glance but it's new & clean. If you're wider than 2' in more than 1 direction you won't fit through the shower door. The shower itself is full-size inside. Rooms a little small, but not claustrophobic. They probably used some space to add (tiny) en-suite bathrooms. The building is old but well maintained. I loved it and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi, Italian, American... just walk a few blocks in either direction and you'll find food to fit your mood. Seven blocks uphill from the Greyhound Station, pack light or take the tram.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Feb 2, 2008

very friendly environment for families and business aswell

I was very happy staying in the hotel, it was fun, and also right in downtown, the hotel looks like an old hotel, but it is really well maintained, and adds to the city style. it is not a huge hotel, but it gives it the more familiar feeling, so I liked it, I would recommend it to friends and family, it was not too expensive either, and have breakfast incl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is a few blocks from the entrance to china town, and walk distance from many nice restaurants.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Feb 24, 2011

Everything I Want in a Hotel

I was in town to visit my UCSF student -- did a quick trip in, caught the Bart to downtown, jogged up the hill to the hotel, checked in and jogged back to take a the light rail to UCSU. I got back at 10:00 p.m. was greeted, asked for the key - which I left so I wouldn't lose it. The desk clerk carded me and I got my key and went to my room and crashed. The next day, I looked around - they place was wonderful, tidy, clean and such a well preserved historic hotel. Staircases everywhere - and an elevator that works like it was installed yesterday. Charming! Breakfast was set up in the adjoining bar - the coffee was great and the baked goods fresh, along with fresh fruit -- I had a wonderful conversation with a woman from Wales and got the impression that the hotel has been discovered by internationals. Then I had a great conversation with the desk clerk - learned that hotel manager has been there for 30 years overseeing housekeeping, breakfast and all the personal touches -- it really shows. I also learned that the bar is a hang-out for local actors. I didn't use the computer -- no there isn't internet in the room but I got what I needed on my phone. And I could have printed my boarding pass in the computer room. This is a hotel that was very reasonably priced -- and will I go back? Definitely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Apr 29, 2007

It's the Location

This hotel suited me because I knew it was the location I wanted. (Near Union Square) I could walk to museums, galleries, shops and restaurants. It was also close to public transportation. I found the staff friendly; they recommended a local coffee shop (which I preferred) instead of a chain. The breakfast (included) was ample for me; fresh fruit*, coffee and cereal. There was also juice, decaf, milk and pastries. (*bananas, oranges, apples, strawberries) The room was small. It would be crowded for two, and a little noisy, being on the front, and, as there was no air conditioning, the window was open. I could have changed to a room in the back, but I live in the city and preferred the noise to looking at an air shaft or alley. There was a fan in the closet if needed. I mentioned the room size to the staff and they said they had a sister hotel (The Beresford Arms on Post) about a block or two away that cost a little more. I was going to check it out for the future but didn't.) I did check out a couple hotels nearby and found them a lot more expensive for a little more in amenities. I would stay there again. If I went with a friend two rooms here is less expensive than sharing a double somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Maiden Lane is charming. Many designer shops here for looking. Westfield Center is close by with Nordstroms and Bloomingdale's, and many smaller stores, and also a food court. I prefer the many nearby restaurants. My last dinner was at a coffee shop with excellent lasagne and salad.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stockton
Aug 4, 2008

Charming

The Beresford Hotel is in a great location. The staff is very warm & accomadating. I have stayed here before & have been a satisfied customer. It is an older property & reminds me of some of the European hotels. I always hear different languages spoken by the clients there. They provide a very adequate continental breakfest. I have always stayed in a quiet room but I never have had a room facing Sutter St. Although it is an older property they keep it very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short distance to Union Square shopping & many restaurant choices nearby.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Latgirablanca
Chicago, IL
Feb 20, 2008

Friendly, charming, cool location.

The Beresford is a small charming hotel right next to (note: not in) Union Square. It's a few blocks off the main tourist drag yet still a very convenient location with a lot of public trans and cabs. The room was clean and very warm (important on those cold damp nights!) and the shower had excellent pressure. The room has a tiny fridge (bonus) which has a range of drinks at competitive prices. The complimentary breakfast is held in the English Tavern downstairs - fruit,sweetrolls, juice, coffee type scene. There's a 24 hour walgreens only a few blocks away and you're quite close to a lot of great bars and restaurants. Totally one of the cutest lobbies you'll ever see. The staff were super nice and helpful. A great deal for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're an intrepid traveler and a city person, brave the Tenderloin downhill and find some truly excellent restaurants. Chutney 511 Jones St - great cheap Indian food. Osha Thai Noodle - 696 Geary St(every local knows this place) Ala Turka - wonderful Turkish food 869 Geary St

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
franklin
USA
May 18, 2007

My review of Beresford Hotel

Good faily central location. Front desk slow and confused at check in. Oaky at check out and seemed helpful. Good continental breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Corvallis, OR
Dec 28, 2008

Upgrade needed

This is a nice hotel but needs to be ugraded. Refurbishment is needed. Plus cable service is limited and no room wireless internet is avaible. Restaurant was nice and the food I had was delicous and well prepared. The bar is small but intimate. I enjoyed it. The restaruant/bar service was excellent. That was one area of the hotel were I thought the older styly was attractive. Maid service was great. The car service is a bit pricy but works if you are in and out for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to internet cafe and the downtown area of San Francisco and public transportation.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Farflyer
City of London, UK
Oct 26, 2011

Pretty good and excellent value for money

The only very minor drawback of this hotel is that there is currently no wi-fi in the rooms and that to get internet access it is necessary to use a room on the ground floor. Otherwise I agree with many other reviewers on this site that it represents really excellent value. The room was good and also quiet, the staff extremely friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast perfectly adequate. Union Square is only minutes away and there is an excellent Italian restaurant within yards. I would stay there again very happily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search