$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 30, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
337 reviews
Great Location & Historic

Located just blocks from Union Square.. This well maintained well ran historic hotel is really very... See full review

  • Rei S.
  • Jan 20, 2015
Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location... See full review

  • Happy Campers I
  • Sep 3, 2013
Victorian style, family atmosphere and free breakfast near Union Square

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (337)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 337
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Domenica
Business
Newark, NJ
Feb 14, 2008

Service and amenities

Overall the Beresford hotel room was clean and comfortable. Even though I did not have dinner at the hotel, I must say the free breakfast buffe was rich, healthy and delightful. Even though the computer room was small and the maintance was OK, I did get internet service. Thus, the service was satisfating. Mostly, important, the Beresford Hotel is located in a area where you can actually walk to China Town, Union Square, and other known places. And if you need to commute trams and trains are close by the hotel. Indeed, I would recommend this hotel to friends and acquaintants. Best of fun to the next person who choses the Beresford hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is about three blocks from the hotel, about 10 min walk. Here you find shopping centers, nightlife, dining places of all kind. Then, if you want to move further out you can just get on the train which is about four blocks away from the hotel, about a 15 minute walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cloverdale
Oct 25, 2008

great location for san fran

This hotel presented our best option for being near Union Square in San Fran. You can't beat the number of eating establishments, museums, cable car connections, and general fun. We never used our car even though we brought it. Walking was a delight, Chinatown too was around the corner. The staff were quick with papers, check in, and check out. You can go to their lobby for drinks and schmooz with the famous if you want and then still have money left over for dinner!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 2, 2008

Extraordinary Customer Service

The hotel's staff was uniformly friendly and helpful especially at the front desk where they definitely went the extra mile for guests and did so in a very professional and gracious manner. My suitcase was damaged on my flight and the zipper needed to be repaired before I could fly home. After inquiring about local luggage repair, the staff volunatarily looked up all the repair shops in the immediate area, contacted each one, compared prices for the repair, distances from hotel and hours of service. This was all done cheerfully and with an great glad to help attitude, they later checked with me on the results, great service, excellent location and a vintage hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to major retailers such as Macy's in Union Square and an array of specialty boutques from Belgium chocolate to shoe stores. Also every block must have a small cafe for coffee and China Town is only 10-15 minutes away on foot. Location is one of the best features of this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 23, 2008

Excellent front desk, very helpful

Great location, you can walk to Union Square and china town. We actually walked to China town and then took Columbus street, an angeled street, goes thru little Italy, and walked to Fisher'sman wharf. Took the trolley back, $5.00 per person The front desk/hotel staff were VERY helpful with restaurant recommendations, too. Their are many good restaurants within walking distance and the hotel gave us a card with 10% discounts for a few. We enjoyed the free, contl. bkfst. too. We chatted with a delightful tour group from England each morning and they use this hotel a lot because of cleanliness, price and location. It was nice to actually see the owner on the premises, one day, too. The hotel room itself is not big or fancy but the beds were comfortable and new (2 twin beds). As I was traveling with my teenage daughter, I wanted a hotel that offered a safe location, at night also. We were very comfortable here. They also will arrange transfers back to the airport. The shuttles run around $16.00 ow/pp. However, if you call them for the return shuttle they offered a rate of $12.00 ow/pp. the BART runs right from the airport to Union Square and other central stops, but the arpt. info. people really pushed taking the shuttle services. Cost of the BART is about $5.00 pp/ow. We opted against it on the way back, as we had 3 bags and 2 people and didn't feel like dragging our luggage for a few blocks, plus the shuttle picks you up right at the front door. Beach Blanket Bayolon was recommended, to get insight into SFO culture, but we ran out of time. Also, we couldn't find the half price tkt booth in Union Sq, again ran out of time. Be sure to barter in China town, we still found some great deals. I recommend trying Dum Sing in china town and Dungeous Crab at the wharf, both are excellent. Renting bikes is a fun option, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great central location and great shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 7, 2008

Small, Friendly, Well Situated Hotel

The Beresford Hotel is a quiet remnant of the San Francisco of old. Although not updated, the hotel is kept immaculate and is situated in the heart of San Francisco. Great restaurants and bars are everywhere in the neighborhood. Very friendly staff. Powerful showers. At the very fair price charged, it's a charming little option in San Fran. Don't bring a car! As in most of the city, parking is outrageously expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the little bar right beside the building. Classic old school San Fran.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sedona, AZ
Aug 6, 2008

Great location and price!

Great location and price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to shoppingc dining and public transportation

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Georgann
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 14, 2007

Great City Experience

The location of the Beresford Hotel was the key selling point. The urban experience, accessability to downtown and the availability of public transportation were things I appreciated. The breakfast was a welcomed amenity. The room was small, but clean and serviced well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is a short walk and the cable car runs right by the nearest corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Jun 23, 2007

Great Location

The Hotel Beresford is very close to Powell on Sutter, an great location for Union Square, Chinatown, the Mall, or catching a cable car. There are plenty of restraunts in the area although the hotel does have a pub style restuarant inside that is very convenient. A nice complimentary continental style breakfast is a great bonus. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room was next to Sutter Street, a little loud with the window open, but we soon adapted and had no problem. Our room was small, stuffed with a queen size bed and mis-matched furniture; however it was clean. The closet is very small and there were not enough hangers. Bring a hair dryer as our room was not equipped with one. However, hotel staff brought us one which we were able to keep the three days we were there. The bathroom is itsy bitsy and the shower tiny, so don't expect to be able to have two people in there at the same time. The elevator is also quite small and except for a short period on our first day there, it worked great. The only down side was the selection of channels on the television, not that you will spend a great deal of time in a hotel room watching tv if you are in San Francisco! We do recommend the valet parking although it does take a while to get your car, so request it at least 20 minutes before you are ready to go. We found using taxis or public transportation a better way to get around the city instead of dragging our car out every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

1. We enjoyed the Italian Restuarant down Sutter before you get to Powell. 2. Breakfast or Dinner at Sears...we had both..very good on both accounts. The Persimmon also has a great breakfast. 3. Chinatown - Dim Sum...enough said.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 3, 2008

walking distance froom any thing

the enployes werenot very talkative and my room was to small. Other wise it is the area a need to be for work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa very hard to please
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 2, 2010

So European and wonderful

The price was great. The staff as helpful as possible. My friends stayed at a hotel on Nob Hill. I just walked up 3 blocks (uphill 20% grade)to meet them. It was great exercise and a nice morning and evening walk for me. I saved hundreds of dollars and loved my place as I felt as though I was in Europe again. There is a great free internet cafe/bar just a few doors up the street. On the same side of the street. They make really good drinks. Breakfast is served at this hotel to start your day off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You must try dinner at the "Slanted Door" located on the waterfront.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top