$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
334 reviews
Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location... See full review

  • Happy Campers I
  • Sep 3, 2013
Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars,... See full review

  • KonnieKatt
  • May 26, 2014
Victorian style, family atmosphere and free breakfast near Union Square

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (334)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
334 out of 334
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh
Jun 30, 2008

Very Quaint & Nice

The Hotel Beresford is a very quaint and comfortable place to stay. It doesn't have the ammenities of larger hotels like a pool or fitness center but if you are just looking for a nice place to stay for a good price then this is the place for you. The room I shared with a friend was quite small and we had two twin beds. At first I was put off by this but soon realized that it was of little consequence. The room was quite comfortable and so were the beds. The hotel is very close to Union Square and public transportation. There are also a number of nice restaurants in the area to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot of great shopping. It is also within walking distance of the MUNI and other public transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rancho Palos Verd
Aug 4, 2008

very tourist friendy

An excellent hotel for its price and location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Also close to dining and entertainment/nightlife

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 23, 2008

Excellent front desk, very helpful

Great location, you can walk to Union Square and china town. We actually walked to China town and then took Columbus street, an angeled street, goes thru little Italy, and walked to Fisher'sman wharf. Took the trolley back, $5.00 per person The front desk/hotel staff were VERY helpful with restaurant recommendations, too. Their are many good restaurants within walking distance and the hotel gave us a card with 10% discounts for a few. We enjoyed the free, contl. bkfst. too. We chatted with a delightful tour group from England each morning and they use this hotel a lot because of cleanliness, price and location. It was nice to actually see the owner on the premises, one day, too. The hotel room itself is not big or fancy but the beds were comfortable and new (2 twin beds). As I was traveling with my teenage daughter, I wanted a hotel that offered a safe location, at night also. We were very comfortable here. They also will arrange transfers back to the airport. The shuttles run around $16.00 ow/pp. However, if you call them for the return shuttle they offered a rate of $12.00 ow/pp. the BART runs right from the airport to Union Square and other central stops, but the arpt. info. people really pushed taking the shuttle services. Cost of the BART is about $5.00 pp/ow. We opted against it on the way back, as we had 3 bags and 2 people and didn't feel like dragging our luggage for a few blocks, plus the shuttle picks you up right at the front door. Beach Blanket Bayolon was recommended, to get insight into SFO culture, but we ran out of time. Also, we couldn't find the half price tkt booth in Union Sq, again ran out of time. Be sure to barter in China town, we still found some great deals. I recommend trying Dum Sing in china town and Dungeous Crab at the wharf, both are excellent. Renting bikes is a fun option, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great central location and great shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Mar 28, 2008

Great location and value

The Beresford Hotel was a great base for our family vacation to San Francisco. Although the rooms were small, we were barely in them due to sight seeing. The Hotel was centrally located to all public transit. The staff were friendly. We traveled with our four children ages 8, 6, 4, and 2, and my mother. Needless to say, if the hotel endured our family, and we felt welcomed and staff were helpful, then this hotel gets our repeat business!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was two blocks from the cable car stops!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 2, 2008

My wife and I have never ...

My wife and I have never stayed in downtown San Francisco. Until recently, when we wanted to do something different to celebrate her birthday and be close to a huge monthly antiques fair across the Bay in Alameda. We selected the Beresford for its location in the Union Square area. We were very pleased. The establishment has its own charm. Our room was small, but everything was well-maintained. The Continental breakfast the next morning was an added bonus and made us wish we'd eaten dinner at the White Horse Pub (the Beresford house restaurant)the night before. There are alternatives to the big chains in San Francisco -- who knew? (Obviously, not us -- but we are glad we found out.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

For my wife, shopping IS entertainment, The hotel is close to Union Square without the hassle of the sleazoid atmosphere, Chinatown, restaurants, art galleries, theaters etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Apr 14, 2008

Nice Staff and good location

The Beresford Hotel was very nice if you like staying in older Historical buildings. The staff was very friendly and helpful with any request. One night when we got back late we discovered the TV wasn't working. The staff offered to move us to another room right away. There were plenty of Restaurants within walking distance along with the visitor center and the Cable Car turnaround. We had no problem getting to the other parts of the city. If you drive the Hotel had Valet parking for an additional $24 a day. It was well worth it. We just had to call the front desk and they would call when our car had arrived. A very good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good Italian place just up the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Jun 26, 2007

Staff Friendly, Room Clean.

My recent stay at the Hotel Beresford was pleasant. It was very centrally located in Union Square. Very close to the cable cars (just one block). The only improvement I would suggest would be the mattresses. They are a little stiff, but sleepable! The hotel staff was very attentive to your needs, and always greeted you with a smile. The hotel is small, but very cozy. The continental breakfast consisted of croissants, pastries, OJ, coffee, varieties of fresh fruit, and cereal. Very good for a continental breakfast. One nice thing is that there is a Walgreens just 2 blocks away. It was nice to go and purchase small food items to keep in the room. They do have a honor mini bar, and the prices are very reasonable (i.e. $1.00 for a can of soda, $1.00 for bottle of OJ, and $1.00 for a bottle of water). They also had beer in the mini bar for reasonable amount. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to guests. Although the hotel doesn't have A/C, they do provide a box fan in the closet for your use. I would definitely suggest traveling with an extension cord. The plugs are few and far between. VERY GOOD HOTEL FOR THE PRICE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would definitely suggest purchasing the City Pass prior to your visit to San Francisco. It definitely pays for itself. The City Pass gives you 7 days of unlimited MUNI transportation (cable car, trolly, busses, etc.). Well worth the $$.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dighton
Jul 2, 2008

Great staff

Friendly staff, very helpful. Great location the cable car stops 1 block from hotel. The breakfast and dinner options were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Sep 12, 2007

Beresford A+

The Beresford Hotel is an excellent choice for a trip to San Francisco. The room was small, but very clean and comfortable. It's right in the heart of SF and within walking distance to many of the touristy things. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Beresford is just up the hill a couple of blocks from Union Square, where you can find all the good shops!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 7, 2008

Small, Friendly, Well Situated Hotel

The Beresford Hotel is a quiet remnant of the San Francisco of old. Although not updated, the hotel is kept immaculate and is situated in the heart of San Francisco. Great restaurants and bars are everywhere in the neighborhood. Very friendly staff. Powerful showers. At the very fair price charged, it's a charming little option in San Fran. Don't bring a car! As in most of the city, parking is outrageously expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the little bar right beside the building. Classic old school San Fran.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top