$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
334 reviews
Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location... See full review

  • Happy Campers I
  • Sep 3, 2013
Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars,... See full review

  • KonnieKatt
  • May 26, 2014
Victorian style, family atmosphere and free breakfast near Union Square

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (334)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
334 out of 334
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakewood, CO
Jul 15, 2008

Great Value

Worth the money! Great location! At this price, it is a great value,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 29, 2007

It's the Location

This hotel suited me because I knew it was the location I wanted. (Near Union Square) I could walk to museums, galleries, shops and restaurants. It was also close to public transportation. I found the staff friendly; they recommended a local coffee shop (which I preferred) instead of a chain. The breakfast (included) was ample for me; fresh fruit*, coffee and cereal. There was also juice, decaf, milk and pastries. (*bananas, oranges, apples, strawberries) The room was small. It would be crowded for two, and a little noisy, being on the front, and, as there was no air conditioning, the window was open. I could have changed to a room in the back, but I live in the city and preferred the noise to looking at an air shaft or alley. There was a fan in the closet if needed. I mentioned the room size to the staff and they said they had a sister hotel (The Beresford Arms on Post) about a block or two away that cost a little more. I was going to check it out for the future but didn't.) I did check out a couple hotels nearby and found them a lot more expensive for a little more in amenities. I would stay there again. If I went with a friend two rooms here is less expensive than sharing a double somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Maiden Lane is charming. Many designer shops here for looking. Westfield Center is close by with Nordstroms and Bloomingdale's, and many smaller stores, and also a food court. I prefer the many nearby restaurants. My last dinner was at a coffee shop with excellent lasagne and salad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 27, 2008

Bset Bet on Sutter St

The Beresford was excellently located, the old western ornate gives it a stand out look, the staff ever mindful and the shuttle service was ever present, the complimentry breakfast was the best I ever had!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The pirrah restaraunt and a Uniun Square at your footstep made for memorable mornings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 20, 2008

Comfortable and Peaceful

The Hotel Beresford was very comfortable. The inner perimeter rooms were quiet and relaxing.The location was 2 blocks from Union Square and quite easily accessible to any transportation, dining, sight-seeing or shopping. The queen bed was a welcome treat after a long day of traveling. There is a quaint little pub with a restaurant in the hotel , called The White Horse. Most enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can catch a cable car 2 blocks east of the hotel and ride to the wharf taking the scenic route.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 9, 2008

Great location

This was a great location. The room was neat and looked freshly painted. Very quiet for sleeping at night for being in the middle of the city. Bed was an old mattress but comfortable. Sheets were a little spare but they brought us extra pillows when we asked. TV was static and very few channels but who cares you're in San Francisco and supposed to be out touring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Chinatown and the Ferry Building.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 1, 2010

Charming hotel, friendly staff

The hotel is conveniently located in downtown, just two block east from Union Square and very close to cable cars and public transport. Charming hotel with lots of character. Definitely a deal!! Courteous and friendly staff, always helpful. Comparable to the service you get from 5-star hotels. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends and families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Powell where cable cars are. Close to major bus routes whether California or O'Farrell.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 2, 2008

Extraordinary Customer Service

The hotel's staff was uniformly friendly and helpful especially at the front desk where they definitely went the extra mile for guests and did so in a very professional and gracious manner. My suitcase was damaged on my flight and the zipper needed to be repaired before I could fly home. After inquiring about local luggage repair, the staff volunatarily looked up all the repair shops in the immediate area, contacted each one, compared prices for the repair, distances from hotel and hours of service. This was all done cheerfully and with an great glad to help attitude, they later checked with me on the results, great service, excellent location and a vintage hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to major retailers such as Macy's in Union Square and an array of specialty boutques from Belgium chocolate to shoe stores. Also every block must have a small cafe for coffee and China Town is only 10-15 minutes away on foot. Location is one of the best features of this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 4, 2008

Old-World Charm

The Beresford Hotel was very comfortable, clean and the room was exceptionally quiet. I thought for a hotel as old as this one, I could hear everything - this was not the case. The staff is very friendly and knowledgable. Their recommendations for restaurants and directions were on point. The location is perfect for shoppers. I would recommend this hotel to my friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Walgreens one block away - very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 15, 2007

Great place to stay

The hotel Beresford was all that I expected it to be. Very well located, close to all public transportation including the cable cars! What I like best about the hotel was its pub and dining rook which dated back to the 1700's and was brought piece-by-piece to the hotel and rebuilt there. Secondly, the hotel was immaculate and the staff very friendly. There was no control for heat and air conditioning but this was a minor drawback given the weather in Frisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was situated in the heart of the up-scale shopping area and the stores were very upscale such as Hermes etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Nov 29, 2008

Good value

The Beresford Hotel was in a great location. The room was fine, not much to it. That was okay with us... considering the fact we only wanted to sleep in it. The bar next door was cool - very old looking and cozy. Overall, I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good location for retail stores. Short drive to Fisherman's Wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top