Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dighton
Jul 2, 2008

Great staff

Friendly staff, very helpful. Great location the cable car stops 1 block from hotel. The breakfast and dinner options were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Sep 12, 2007

Beresford A+

The Beresford Hotel is an excellent choice for a trip to San Francisco. The room was small, but very clean and comfortable. It's right in the heart of SF and within walking distance to many of the touristy things. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Beresford is just up the hill a couple of blocks from Union Square, where you can find all the good shops!

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 2, 2008

My wife and I have never ...

My wife and I have never stayed in downtown San Francisco. Until recently, when we wanted to do something different to celebrate her birthday and be close to a huge monthly antiques fair across the Bay in Alameda. We selected the Beresford for its location in the Union Square area. We were very pleased. The establishment has its own charm. Our room was small, but everything was well-maintained. The Continental breakfast the next morning was an added bonus and made us wish we'd eaten dinner at the White Horse Pub (the Beresford house restaurant)the night before. There are alternatives to the big chains in San Francisco -- who knew? (Obviously, not us -- but we are glad we found out.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

For my wife, shopping IS entertainment, The hotel is close to Union Square without the hassle of the sleazoid atmosphere, Chinatown, restaurants, art galleries, theaters etc.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Apr 14, 2008

Nice Staff and good location

The Beresford Hotel was very nice if you like staying in older Historical buildings. The staff was very friendly and helpful with any request. One night when we got back late we discovered the TV wasn't working. The staff offered to move us to another room right away. There were plenty of Restaurants within walking distance along with the visitor center and the Cable Car turnaround. We had no problem getting to the other parts of the city. If you drive the Hotel had Valet parking for an additional $24 a day. It was well worth it. We just had to call the front desk and they would call when our car had arrived. A very good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good Italian place just up the block.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 7, 2008

Small, Friendly, Well Situated Hotel

The Beresford Hotel is a quiet remnant of the San Francisco of old. Although not updated, the hotel is kept immaculate and is situated in the heart of San Francisco. Great restaurants and bars are everywhere in the neighborhood. Very friendly staff. Powerful showers. At the very fair price charged, it's a charming little option in San Fran. Don't bring a car! As in most of the city, parking is outrageously expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the little bar right beside the building. Classic old school San Fran.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sedona, AZ
Aug 6, 2008

Great location and price!

Great location and price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to shoppingc dining and public transportation

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snoogle
Business
Canton/Akron, OH
Feb 13, 2008

My review of Beresford Hotel

The Bersford Hotel is a charming,serene,turn of the century(1900)establishment. This unpretentious hotel is located three blocks down from Nob Hill and just a bit further down to Market Street with all kinds of shopping in between. The staff was friendly and most accomidating. They seemed truly interested in the adventures of our days. The hotel offers a continental breakfast to all guests. Fruit,cereal,coffee,tea,juices,pastries were among the foods laid out. (We had a friend meeting us and asked what it would cost for them to join us for breakfast. The frontdesk person seemed hurt that we would ask and assured us that our friend was welcome at no cost!) We were given excellent advice and directions for dining and sightseeing. We enjoyed our stay and the Beresford and would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Beresford is located a short walkin distance from Saks,Bloomingdales,Tiffany,Cartier,the May Co.,William Sonoma, and many more. In addition, the hotel is one block from the cable car line and bus line connecting all over San Francisco. Chinatown begins about 8 blocks down the hill.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SHIVERETTE
Business
ORANGE COUNTY CA
Nov 17, 2009

What San Francisco is all about

We did this trip on foot.Hotel is within walking distance to bart, muni and cable cars.Staff was very friendly ..loved the rooms .This was the place we were looking for ...From the big slide up windows ,radiator heaters and the sounds of the city. Loved it !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Jun 13, 2011

Pleasant for the price, inexp. parking

Convenient Union Square location, close to cable car line and Chinatown. Room was very clean, comfortable. Classy, old-style hotel feel. $24 valet parking was a big plus (compare at $60). Friendly, responsive staff. Adequate continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newnez
Business
calgary ab
Aug 16, 2009

Great small hotel

Hotel was renovated clean and cozy. Great hotel. Front staff were nice and helpful. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to all the shopping and the warf.

Back to menu Return to top