Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
318 reviews
Great Little Room in a Perfect Location

Nice People, Nice Room, and for the Price I would definitely stay here anytime I am in SF. See full review

  • Aaron T.
  • May 30, 2015
Awesome

We always stay here for our Anniversary every year! Very romantic! See full review

  • Theresa R.
  • Apr 24, 2015

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Property features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Nearby attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Policies
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Campers I
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Sep 3, 2013

Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location central to everything. We stay here a few times a year when we want to spend a night in the City. We are able to easily walk to and from North Beach and Fisherman's Wharf. No vehicle or cab necessary. Definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
myunghwa
Business
USA
Mar 18, 2008

very convenience

very convenience transportation. easy shopping (near a lot of shopping mall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jamel
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 26, 2007

Great Value

Friendly and helpful staff, clean room, free breakfast, great location. I have no complaints. Great place to stay if you're traveling on a budget, or if you would just rather spend your money on something other than an expensive hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square, Mall, Restuarants, Public Transportation: Bus, cable car, and bart

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroe, VT
Jul 16, 2008

Great San Francisco hotel

The Beresford Hotel is only a block and a half from Powell and the cable cars. A short ride down the hill to Market gives one access to most of the city buses, the trolley and BART. Take the cable car in the other direction for drops at Chinatown, Lombard Street, Little Italy and Fisherman's Wharf. It's about four blocks to Union Square for shopping if that's on your venue. The room we had was small but adequate, the bathroom updated. The rerigerator was good-sized, and the closet was more than enough. For the price, I can't say anough good things about it. It's also less than two blocks from Sears Restaurant, a San Francisco treat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 23, 2008

Good work

I think you should get internet in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Huge Macy's real close to this hotel...along with many other attractions in Union Square. Try E&O Trading company for a place to eat.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gatineau
Sep 15, 2008

Noisy but nice

The Beresford Hotel was very charming, well decorated but unfortunately a bit noisy. There was no bath tub in the room, no table and no chairs, not very practical for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A good herb chicken across the street

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jun 24, 2008

Location

Great location - within walking distance to many attractions. Quaint but small older hotel - reminds me of an English lodge. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good bargain for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance to China Town. A little longer walk to Fisherman's Wharf which has lots of eating places.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Mar 28, 2008

Great location and value

The Beresford Hotel was a great base for our family vacation to San Francisco. Although the rooms were small, we were barely in them due to sight seeing. The Hotel was centrally located to all public transit. The staff were friendly. We traveled with our four children ages 8, 6, 4, and 2, and my mother. Needless to say, if the hotel endured our family, and we felt welcomed and staff were helpful, then this hotel gets our repeat business!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was two blocks from the cable car stops!

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 22, 2008

Excellent for Everyone

Overall great service, comfortable room, great location. My children and sister traveling with me were happy with the accommodations. Continental breakfast great way to start out each day, restaurant for dinner very enjoyable too. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close walk to great eats and trolley cars to other points. World class shopping near by.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Jun 26, 2007

Staff Friendly, Room Clean.

My recent stay at the Hotel Beresford was pleasant. It was very centrally located in Union Square. Very close to the cable cars (just one block). The only improvement I would suggest would be the mattresses. They are a little stiff, but sleepable! The hotel staff was very attentive to your needs, and always greeted you with a smile. The hotel is small, but very cozy. The continental breakfast consisted of croissants, pastries, OJ, coffee, varieties of fresh fruit, and cereal. Very good for a continental breakfast. One nice thing is that there is a Walgreens just 2 blocks away. It was nice to go and purchase small food items to keep in the room. They do have a honor mini bar, and the prices are very reasonable (i.e. $1.00 for a can of soda, $1.00 for bottle of OJ, and $1.00 for a bottle of water). They also had beer in the mini bar for reasonable amount. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to guests. Although the hotel doesn't have A/C, they do provide a box fan in the closet for your use. I would definitely suggest traveling with an extension cord. The plugs are few and far between. VERY GOOD HOTEL FOR THE PRICE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would definitely suggest purchasing the City Pass prior to your visit to San Francisco. It definitely pays for itself. The City Pass gives you 7 days of unlimited MUNI transportation (cable car, trolly, busses, etc.). Well worth the $$.

Back to menu Return to top