$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
602 reviews
Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location... See full review

  • Happy Campers I
  • Sep 3, 2013
Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars,... See full review

  • KonnieKatt
  • May 26, 2014
Victorian style, family atmosphere and free breakfast near Union Square

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7887 -122.4109
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International and (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
Located near Powell Street Cable Car, China Town, theaters, shopping, dining, museums, galleries and nightclubs.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (602)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
602 out of 602
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 2, 2008

Extraordinary Customer Service

The hotel's staff was uniformly friendly and helpful especially at the front desk where they definitely went the extra mile for guests and did so in a very professional and gracious manner. My suitcase was damaged on my flight and the zipper needed to be repaired before I could fly home. After inquiring about local luggage repair, the staff volunatarily looked up all the repair shops in the immediate area, contacted each one, compared prices for the repair, distances from hotel and hours of service. This was all done cheerfully and with an great glad to help attitude, they later checked with me on the results, great service, excellent location and a vintage hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to major retailers such as Macy's in Union Square and an array of specialty boutques from Belgium chocolate to shoe stores. Also every block must have a small cafe for coffee and China Town is only 10-15 minutes away on foot. Location is one of the best features of this hotel.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Apr 29, 2007

It's the Location

This hotel suited me because I knew it was the location I wanted. (Near Union Square) I could walk to museums, galleries, shops and restaurants. It was also close to public transportation. I found the staff friendly; they recommended a local coffee shop (which I preferred) instead of a chain. The breakfast (included) was ample for me; fresh fruit*, coffee and cereal. There was also juice, decaf, milk and pastries. (*bananas, oranges, apples, strawberries) The room was small. It would be crowded for two, and a little noisy, being on the front, and, as there was no air conditioning, the window was open. I could have changed to a room in the back, but I live in the city and preferred the noise to looking at an air shaft or alley. There was a fan in the closet if needed. I mentioned the room size to the staff and they said they had a sister hotel (The Beresford Arms on Post) about a block or two away that cost a little more. I was going to check it out for the future but didn't.) I did check out a couple hotels nearby and found them a lot more expensive for a little more in amenities. I would stay there again. If I went with a friend two rooms here is less expensive than sharing a double somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Maiden Lane is charming. Many designer shops here for looking. Westfield Center is close by with Nordstroms and Bloomingdale's, and many smaller stores, and also a food court. I prefer the many nearby restaurants. My last dinner was at a coffee shop with excellent lasagne and salad.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Apr 14, 2008

Nice Staff and good location

The Beresford Hotel was very nice if you like staying in older Historical buildings. The staff was very friendly and helpful with any request. One night when we got back late we discovered the TV wasn't working. The staff offered to move us to another room right away. There were plenty of Restaurants within walking distance along with the visitor center and the Cable Car turnaround. We had no problem getting to the other parts of the city. If you drive the Hotel had Valet parking for an additional $24 a day. It was well worth it. We just had to call the front desk and they would call when our car had arrived. A very good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good Italian place just up the block.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 1, 2010

Charming hotel, friendly staff

The hotel is conveniently located in downtown, just two block east from Union Square and very close to cable cars and public transport. Charming hotel with lots of character. Definitely a deal!! Courteous and friendly staff, always helpful. Comparable to the service you get from 5-star hotels. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends and families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Powell where cable cars are. Close to major bus routes whether California or O'Farrell.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield, IL
Mar 28, 2008

Great location and value

The Beresford Hotel was a great base for our family vacation to San Francisco. Although the rooms were small, we were barely in them due to sight seeing. The Hotel was centrally located to all public transit. The staff were friendly. We traveled with our four children ages 8, 6, 4, and 2, and my mother. Needless to say, if the hotel endured our family, and we felt welcomed and staff were helpful, then this hotel gets our repeat business!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was two blocks from the cable car stops!

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 9, 2008

Great location

This was a great location. The room was neat and looked freshly painted. Very quiet for sleeping at night for being in the middle of the city. Bed was an old mattress but comfortable. Sheets were a little spare but they brought us extra pillows when we asked. TV was static and very few channels but who cares you're in San Francisco and supposed to be out touring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Chinatown and the Ferry Building.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
myunghwa
USA
Mar 18, 2008

very convenience

very convenience transportation. easy shopping (near a lot of shopping mall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 27, 2008

Bset Bet on Sutter St

The Beresford was excellently located, the old western ornate gives it a stand out look, the staff ever mindful and the shuttle service was ever present, the complimentry breakfast was the best I ever had!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The pirrah restaraunt and a Uniun Square at your footstep made for memorable mornings.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 2, 2008

My wife and I have never ...

My wife and I have never stayed in downtown San Francisco. Until recently, when we wanted to do something different to celebrate her birthday and be close to a huge monthly antiques fair across the Bay in Alameda. We selected the Beresford for its location in the Union Square area. We were very pleased. The establishment has its own charm. Our room was small, but everything was well-maintained. The Continental breakfast the next morning was an added bonus and made us wish we'd eaten dinner at the White Horse Pub (the Beresford house restaurant)the night before. There are alternatives to the big chains in San Francisco -- who knew? (Obviously, not us -- but we are glad we found out.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

For my wife, shopping IS entertainment, The hotel is close to Union Square without the hassle of the sleazoid atmosphere, Chinatown, restaurants, art galleries, theaters etc.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caete
Fresno, CA
Aug 20, 2009

Loved the hotel

My hotel room was in the front, 5th floor. No noise from the next room, some noise from the hall, street usually quiet. Comfortable bed, clean room. The carpet color made it look old at first glance but it's new & clean. If you're wider than 2' in more than 1 direction you won't fit through the shower door. The shower itself is full-size inside. Rooms a little small, but not claustrophobic. They probably used some space to add (tiny) en-suite bathrooms. The building is old but well maintained. I loved it and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi, Italian, American... just walk a few blocks in either direction and you'll find food to fit your mood. Seven blocks uphill from the Greyhound Station, pack light or take the tram.

Back to menu Return to top