$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
332 reviews
Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location... See full review

  • Happy Campers I
  • Sep 3, 2013
Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars,... See full review

  • KonnieKatt
  • May 26, 2014
Victorian style, family atmosphere and free breakfast near Union Square

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7887 -122.4109
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International and (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
Located near Powell Street Cable Car, China Town, theaters, shopping, dining, museums, galleries and nightclubs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (332)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
332 out of 332
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 2, 2008

Extraordinary Customer Service

The hotel's staff was uniformly friendly and helpful especially at the front desk where they definitely went the extra mile for guests and did so in a very professional and gracious manner. My suitcase was damaged on my flight and the zipper needed to be repaired before I could fly home. After inquiring about local luggage repair, the staff volunatarily looked up all the repair shops in the immediate area, contacted each one, compared prices for the repair, distances from hotel and hours of service. This was all done cheerfully and with an great glad to help attitude, they later checked with me on the results, great service, excellent location and a vintage hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to major retailers such as Macy's in Union Square and an array of specialty boutques from Belgium chocolate to shoe stores. Also every block must have a small cafe for coffee and China Town is only 10-15 minutes away on foot. Location is one of the best features of this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cloverdale
Oct 25, 2008

great location for san fran

This hotel presented our best option for being near Union Square in San Fran. You can't beat the number of eating establishments, museums, cable car connections, and general fun. We never used our car even though we brought it. Walking was a delight, Chinatown too was around the corner. The staff were quick with papers, check in, and check out. You can go to their lobby for drinks and schmooz with the famous if you want and then still have money left over for dinner!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 1, 2010

Charming hotel, friendly staff

The hotel is conveniently located in downtown, just two block east from Union Square and very close to cable cars and public transport. Charming hotel with lots of character. Definitely a deal!! Courteous and friendly staff, always helpful. Comparable to the service you get from 5-star hotels. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends and families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Powell where cable cars are. Close to major bus routes whether California or O'Farrell.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snoogle
Canton/Akron, OH
Feb 13, 2008

My review of Beresford Hotel

The Bersford Hotel is a charming,serene,turn of the century(1900)establishment. This unpretentious hotel is located three blocks down from Nob Hill and just a bit further down to Market Street with all kinds of shopping in between. The staff was friendly and most accomidating. They seemed truly interested in the adventures of our days. The hotel offers a continental breakfast to all guests. Fruit,cereal,coffee,tea,juices,pastries were among the foods laid out. (We had a friend meeting us and asked what it would cost for them to join us for breakfast. The frontdesk person seemed hurt that we would ask and assured us that our friend was welcome at no cost!) We were given excellent advice and directions for dining and sightseeing. We enjoyed our stay and the Beresford and would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Beresford is located a short walkin distance from Saks,Bloomingdales,Tiffany,Cartier,the May Co.,William Sonoma, and many more. In addition, the hotel is one block from the cable car line and bus line connecting all over San Francisco. Chinatown begins about 8 blocks down the hill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 3, 2008

Lots of character for a low price

The beresford was a great value. It offered lots of character with it's little tavern and old stylings. It was also really close to the cable cars and downtown area. I'd say it was a perfect location if it weren't located across from the art school dorms. The students like to hang out and make a lot of noise all through the night which bothered my dad. The hotel offered to move our room. I personally liked the noise of the city. We left our window open most of the time. The strange thing about the hotel is that the room seemed to stay a constant comfortable temperature. It seems odd, since we left the window open to the cold night. Good breakfast. It is not however, a luxury hotel. I had to battle with tub which didn't drain well. Everything else was fine. If you want luxury, go next door. We ate dinner at the neighboring hotel restaurant that overlooks the city. But, if you're used to chain hotels this will be just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square is within walking distance. catch the old cable cars just a block away. Get a pass to ride these and and all the other transportation for much less. I was in town to attend a concert at the Great American Music Hall. It's a short cab ride away (and you'll want a cab because it's in a shady area).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
st louis
Aug 4, 2009

good location

quite comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 9, 2008

Great location

This was a great location. The room was neat and looked freshly painted. Very quiet for sleeping at night for being in the middle of the city. Bed was an old mattress but comfortable. Sheets were a little spare but they brought us extra pillows when we asked. TV was static and very few channels but who cares you're in San Francisco and supposed to be out touring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Chinatown and the Ferry Building.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Feb 8, 2008

Great Location

This was our first trip to San Fran and found the hotel to be more than adequate. The location is perfect -- easy to get to transportation and most sights from the hotel. The on site restaurant was great. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. It is an old hotel with smaller rooms than the new ones, but clean and adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Feb 24, 2011

Everything I Want in a Hotel

I was in town to visit my UCSF student -- did a quick trip in, caught the Bart to downtown, jogged up the hill to the hotel, checked in and jogged back to take a the light rail to UCSU. I got back at 10:00 p.m. was greeted, asked for the key - which I left so I wouldn't lose it. The desk clerk carded me and I got my key and went to my room and crashed. The next day, I looked around - they place was wonderful, tidy, clean and such a well preserved historic hotel. Staircases everywhere - and an elevator that works like it was installed yesterday. Charming! Breakfast was set up in the adjoining bar - the coffee was great and the baked goods fresh, along with fresh fruit -- I had a wonderful conversation with a woman from Wales and got the impression that the hotel has been discovered by internationals. Then I had a great conversation with the desk clerk - learned that hotel manager has been there for 30 years overseeing housekeeping, breakfast and all the personal touches -- it really shows. I also learned that the bar is a hang-out for local actors. I didn't use the computer -- no there isn't internet in the room but I got what I needed on my phone. And I could have printed my boarding pass in the computer room. This is a hotel that was very reasonably priced -- and will I go back? Definitely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
myunghwa
USA
Mar 18, 2008

very convenience

very convenience transportation. easy shopping (near a lot of shopping mall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search