Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
walterd
Couples
Hungary
Jan 29, 2013

Nice for city visit

descent hotel with perfect location. It is close to the downtown, China Town and most of the attractiona like Wharf, Golden Gate or park are in close distance. The rooms are small and descent condition. Wifi only available on the first floor, no cabl econnection in the rooms. Breakfast is minimal, some bakery stuff, but it is nice. The value for the price is excellent, it is a cheap hotel with descent service and perfect location. Perfect for city visit for couple of days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

To rent a bicycle in SF is an excellent idea. Visit the Golden Gate recreational Area, ride along the Wharf, ride in the city is perfect time to spend time. There are nice bike rentals in the city everywhere with nice predefined routes. Mybe it is not cheap, but for sure worth for the money.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old Writer
Sacramento, CA
Feb 2, 2013

Great Old San Francisco Hotel

As a former San Franciscan, I discovered the Beresford about 15 years ago and always stay there when I am in town. Perfect downtown location, clean rooms with a San Francisco feel. Nice staff. Quiet. And the price is unbeatable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
random traveler0001
Friends
sacramento, ca
Feb 18, 2013

Convenient and Clean

The room was a good size, within walking distance to lots of places, nice water pressure for the shower. heater doesn't work, and the maid ignored the "Please Do Not Disturb" sign.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aussite
Couples
Australia
Jul 27, 2013

Stay at San Francisco

The room was small and very warm. However, having a buffet breakfast was an asset, as well as being well located. The staff were very helpful at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wright stuff
Couples
Arlington, MA
Nov 6, 2013

Perfect for us

My husband and I were looking for a San Francisco hotel for a long weekend. Low price and a convenient, safe location were our main considerations. The Beresford was a perfect choice. Our room was on the small side and a bit worn, but very clean. The hotel overall has it's own old style funky charm. The included breakfast included cereal, fresh fruit, coffee/tea/milk/juice, muffins, and croissants or Danish pastries every day. The Powell St BART station is perhaps 6 blocks away, so we easily made our way to the Beresford from the airport. The cable car also runs close to the hotel. All I all we were quite satisfied with the Beresford.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The small pub attached to the hotel has incredible lemon pepper wings.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KonnieKatt
Single
Mtn. View, CA
May 26, 2014

Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars, and the the Geary and Curran theaters. China Town is not far away, nor is the Civic Center Plaza. The room was quite satisfactory and very clean. I took the bus on Geary out to the Legion of Honor and walked to Union Square and China Town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a nice Italian restaurant (Cesario's) in the Marines Memorial Building next door.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
USA
Mar 14, 2008

great location

The hotel is perfect for walking to everything. It's near great restaurants,shopping in Union Square and close to the bus line and trolly. The rooms are small but very clean and the staff is most helpful. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

One can take the Bart from the airport and walk to the hotel.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Dec 8, 2007

Great location

This hotel was a great location - just a couple blocks to Union Square and Chinatown. Very friendly staff. Old hotel - kind of thin walls and the beds were kind of uncomfortable. But, good for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

cable car line

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zelia
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Feb 20, 2008

Cost-effective

This is an inexpensive hotel that offers a clean room to stay in a convenient location. The room and bathroom were small but well kept. I recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Max's restaurant on Mason and have a reuben. It is a memorable esperience.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seattle Heath
Couples
Seattle, WA
Jun 21, 2011

Great Location

Seamless checkin/checkout. The room didn't come with a hair dryer for my girlfriend but they have them available at the front desk upon request. Great location as it's only a few blocks from shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Biscuits & Blues is only 1 block away! Upstairs live entertainment is free if you get there before 7 I think. Good, spicy jambalaya. The connected White Horse bar is a great place to cap the night too.

Back to menu Return to top