$151 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
363 out of 363
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indiana
Jun 13, 2011

Pleasant for the price, inexp. parking

Convenient Union Square location, close to cable car line and Chinatown. Room was very clean, comfortable. Classy, old-style hotel feel. $24 valet parking was a big plus (compare at $60). Friendly, responsive staff. Adequate continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anat
Business
Israel
Apr 26, 2011

Great hotel andlocation. 3-4 stars hotel

Great hotel, Great room, clean, good breakfast, great location, the room can be a little noisy. depends on where the room is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Apr 20, 2011

Great location great price

The hotel is in a great location. The rooms are small but very clean. The hotel staff were very helpful and polite. I would definitely stay here again for the price and location can't be beat. Also being female I felt safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several good restaurants within two to three blocks from the hotel. Loris's diner has great breakfast and the little Italian restaurant was very good also.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tel Aviv
Apr 18, 2011

very good location for the price

We stayed there for 8 nights. We did not like the room which was assigned to us and the staff was very helpfull in helping us to move to another room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tapia Conference Attendee
Business
Jacksonville FL
Apr 11, 2011

Great Location and Price

Hotel was clean, and staff was accommodating. I arrived close to 2am and the clerk had no problem opening the business center so I could quickly print my shuttle voucher, even before I checked in. The room was clean and the prices for the "honor bar" were very reasonable ($2 beer!) The only knock is that there is no wireless internet in the room. This is an ideal hotel for a budget-minded traveler, I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Brenda's French Soulfood.....GO THERE!!!! take Sutter street west to Polk and head south, its on the left hand side.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tapia Conference Attendee
Business
Jacksonville FL
Apr 11, 2011

Great Location and Price

Hotel was clean, and staff was accommodating. I arrived close to 2am and the clerk had no problem opening the business center so I could quickly print my shuttle voucher, even before I checked in. The room was clean and the prices for the "honor bar" were very reasonable ($2 beer!) The only knock is that there is no wireless internet in the room. This is an ideal hotel for a budget-minded traveler, I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Brenda's French Soulfood.....GO THERE!!!! take Sutter street west to Polk and head south, its on the left hand side.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LOS ANGELES
Apr 7, 2011

It was ok for the month of April

WE WENT TO ALCATRAZ AND THE GOLDEN STATE PARK ALL THIS HOTEL NEEDS WOULD BE A/C FOR THE SUMMER BUT BESIDE THAT IT WAS A GOOD STAY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NM
Apr 5, 2011

A reasonable option

Small room, noisy street, but clean and friendly staff. About what you should expect for a bargain priced older hotel downtown in a big city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Feb 24, 2011

Everything I Want in a Hotel

I was in town to visit my UCSF student -- did a quick trip in, caught the Bart to downtown, jogged up the hill to the hotel, checked in and jogged back to take a the light rail to UCSU. I got back at 10:00 p.m. was greeted, asked for the key - which I left so I wouldn't lose it. The desk clerk carded me and I got my key and went to my room and crashed. The next day, I looked around - they place was wonderful, tidy, clean and such a well preserved historic hotel. Staircases everywhere - and an elevator that works like it was installed yesterday. Charming! Breakfast was set up in the adjoining bar - the coffee was great and the baked goods fresh, along with fresh fruit -- I had a wonderful conversation with a woman from Wales and got the impression that the hotel has been discovered by internationals. Then I had a great conversation with the desk clerk - learned that hotel manager has been there for 30 years overseeing housekeeping, breakfast and all the personal touches -- it really shows. I also learned that the bar is a hang-out for local actors. I didn't use the computer -- no there isn't internet in the room but I got what I needed on my phone. And I could have printed my boarding pass in the computer room. This is a hotel that was very reasonably priced -- and will I go back? Definitely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Fe
Feb 15, 2011

Great location

Good hotel. Good price. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
raleigh, nc
Feb 11, 2011

Good place, good people

This was a nice place to stay, especially for the price! It was very clean and the accomodations were perfect for what I needed. I was a little disappointed that the wireless internet was only on the first floor and so I had to go downstairs to use it but, there was a nice little sitting room for that purpose. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would probably stay there again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top