Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indiana
Jun 13, 2011

Pleasant for the price, inexp. parking

Convenient Union Square location, close to cable car line and Chinatown. Room was very clean, comfortable. Classy, old-style hotel feel. $24 valet parking was a big plus (compare at $60). Friendly, responsive staff. Adequate continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
raleigh, nc
Feb 11, 2011

Good place, good people

This was a nice place to stay, especially for the price! It was very clean and the accomodations were perfect for what I needed. I was a little disappointed that the wireless internet was only on the first floor and so I had to go downstairs to use it but, there was a nice little sitting room for that purpose. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would probably stay there again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh Pennsylvania
Feb 4, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Convient location for families of college students. Excellent price for location,clean facility, price and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington DC
Jan 21, 2011

great location

Nice rooms, small, but good. Front desk needs modernization,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobjig
Business
Mission Viejo, CA
Jan 11, 2011

24 hrs in SF

Needed a place to stay over night after the Neveada Football game. Didn't want to spend $300 on the 4* hotels. We spent $82. The reviews seemed the best for this hotel and I would say they were pretty accurate. Lots of complaints about the room size, but I didn't find that to be the case. Anyway, it was clean, bed was comfortable, and the shower pressure was great. 4-5 block walk to BART. That was all we needed for a quick overnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
P.body
Business
Sydney
Jan 4, 2011

Nice and easy

We went to see the sites of San Fran and the hotel is in a great location for that. We enjoyed the friendly staff and the easy going atmosphere of the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square is so close

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Dec 13, 2010

Great price and great location

Overall a great experience. The price was very reasonable, location was excellent...just a few blocks form the BART and a block form the street car line. Rooms were small but they were very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Seniors with sore backs
Business
Los Altos CA
Dec 9, 2010

Hard to reccomend

Our two twin bed room was tiny and the beds were as hard as a rock. The one window opened to a heating shaft that rumbled constantly. The room was hot and stuffy with only an old water radiator that could not be adjusted. The two small chairs in the room were very uncomfortable . We had come to the city to enjoy Union Square and all the city lights[...]. We were so uncomfortable in the room that we checked out after one night, and we would love to get a refund [...] for the unused night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fortuna, CA
Dec 7, 2010

Great l ocation for the price

We were in San Francisco to go to the opera. The Beresford Hotel's location was convenient for after the show dinner near Union Square. the room was comfortably appointed and pleasant. The soap amenities were a bit nicer than some other hotels we've stayed in. Altho there was no hair dryer in the room, i was able to get one from the front desk with no problem. the staff were pleasant and helpful. While the hotel is an older one, the hallways were clean and odor free. There was a free continental breakfast, but we didn't partake because it looked to be primarily sweet rolls and we wanted something more substantial. i would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be located in this part of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are many different restaurants within easy walking distance of this hotel.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend getawayLas
Business
Las Vegas
Dec 6, 2010

Holiday getaway

Great location just a couple of blocks from union square. I have visited SF many times and have stayed at various locations. A small cozy hotel with some character and a nice staff. Will stay hers again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stockton, CA
Dec 5, 2010

Friendly staff,reasonable &good location

Friendly staff, reasonable price, located near Union Square, theatres, restuarants & great shopping!!!! Easy access to cable cars & muni transportation. We visited museums, Acedamy of science & fishermans wharf & used public transportation to get around town....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top