Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Indiana
Jun 13, 2011

Pleasant for the price, inexp. parking

Convenient Union Square location, close to cable car line and Chinatown. Room was very clean, comfortable. Classy, old-style hotel feel. $24 valet parking was a big plus (compare at $60). Friendly, responsive staff. Adequate continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobby Booshay
Couples
Eastbay
Mar 12, 2012

Good quick place to stay in SF for the night

I liked it, not like the Marriott, but it was still not bad. Wifi only in lobby. And I thought the room was tiny with no view outside basically a wall. But besides that it was fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Find good parking and you can walk to the Close by places. Mall, Chinatown, etc...

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Florida visitors
Couples
Tallahassee, FL, USA
Apr 14, 2012

Stay near Union Sq on a budget

The Beresford is a nice although slightly dated place in a great location with fair rates. Our first room was on the back of the building and it was too noisy from some motors outside the windows. So we requested a different room and the hotel staff was very agreeable about making this change. Our new room was much quieter, the bed was comfortable and had everything we needed. The housekeeper was very prompt each morning and left the room neat and tidy. The continental breakfast included fresh fruit and coffee and we could get our day started there. There's a small pub adjacent to the lobby that was very charming. We had a cocktail there every evening along with the complimentary snacks. Overall the Beresford may be a little dated but it has a European charm. We felt very safe there. Be aware there is no A/C in the room so I would not stay here during warm weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super P
Family
San Fran
May 14, 2012

Great location!

This was a grand hotel. Had a wonderful time in San Fran thanks to the staff and Beresford Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robin V.
Couples
Boston, Massachusetts
May 26, 2012

Perfect value for money

The Beresford hotel is very reasonably priced for the very central location it has and the complimentary services it offers (such as free breakfast, pcs at disposal with free printing, et cetera).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Humboldtpat
Couples
Trinidad, CA
Jul 4, 2012

fun location in San Francisco

Older hotel with lots of clasic elegance. The room and furniture where clean and comfortable. the room was a little small, and crowded. We had a window overlooking Sutter St. Saturday night had a lot of street sounds form the people partying until the bars closed. Plenty of places to eat near by. Only fault was the hot water would not shut off in the shower; but I fiddled with it and it did stop. Good luck to the next resident! But that was just 1 room, and it was a old hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Orpheum theatre is within 1 mile of the hotel

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
heffy
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 12, 2012

Very nice

enjoyed our time at the Beresford Hotel. The service was excellent, our room was clean and comfortable. The location downtown SF was very convenient and the concierge car service was prompt. We were within walking distance from many sites and able to get any necessities that we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mother panda
Couples
wisconsin
Aug 1, 2012

3 day stay

We spent 3 enjoyable nights at the Beresford. The location was very acccessible to the cable cars and buses. The staff were very helpful and we found their information to be accurate. The morning breakfast was a good start to the day. We appreciated the computer accessibility but think that perhaps a sign could be posted to suggest a time limit for an individual guest. Our only real concern was the window in the bathroom, I believe it is called a jalousie window. It was very drafty in the bathroom and made taking a shower despite the warm water a cold experience. We kept the bathroom door closed most the time to prevent the cold draft from entering the bedroom. Don't understand why this type of window is needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carl single traveller
Single
Greensboro,North Carolina
Sep 13, 2012

Perfect Location

Have stayed at the Beresford five times over the last six years and have always had a good experience. Much better than staying at one of the larger more expensive hotels in the Union Square area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Shelton Theatre is just two blocks from the Beresfordmand offers a great live theatre experience at a very reasonable ticket price

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A loves SF
Business
Tucson, AZ
Nov 19, 2012

Three Cs! Comfortable, Clean and Centrally located

This was a great value for staying in San Francisco. The room was comfortable and clean. The hotel was centrally located near Union Square and tons of restaurants, shopping, sight-seeing, entertainment venues within walking distance. The hotel had a happy hour that was noisy for my friends whose rooms were directly above it, but I was on the 5th floor and did not have a problem. The bar had a steady stream of patrons making it a fun place to hang out for a night-cap. Wireless is only available in the lobby & business center area, which can be problematic for finding a place to sit or finding outlets for your laptop or mobile device. With the price was competitive with other nearby hotels. I will be a returning guest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of intimate restaurants within a couple of minutes walking, but really loved the adorable European style Italian restaurant right on the corner of Mason and Sutter, "Cesarios" with great food and great service and VERY REASONABLE prices, with delivery available.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Resii
Business
New York
Dec 20, 2012

Good value in great location

The hotel was pretty good - much better than I expected considering how much I payed for a room in a very central location. I've stayed at hotels in what I would say is the same category as this one and I was pretty impressed by how nice this one was. The room was surprisingly big, the bathroom a little crammed but fairly new and everything was clean. The breakfast was very limited but it's free, so no reason to complain. It was great that you can just quickly grab a bite, or sip on some coffee before heading out and maybe getting some better breakfast somewhere else (if you are a breakfast person). I would recommend this place if you are looking for an affordable but nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top