$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
363 out of 363
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indiana
Jun 13, 2011

Pleasant for the price, inexp. parking

Convenient Union Square location, close to cable car line and Chinatown. Room was very clean, comfortable. Classy, old-style hotel feel. $24 valet parking was a big plus (compare at $60). Friendly, responsive staff. Adequate continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 3, 2008

Lots of character for a low price

The beresford was a great value. It offered lots of character with it's little tavern and old stylings. It was also really close to the cable cars and downtown area. I'd say it was a perfect location if it weren't located across from the art school dorms. The students like to hang out and make a lot of noise all through the night which bothered my dad. The hotel offered to move our room. I personally liked the noise of the city. We left our window open most of the time. The strange thing about the hotel is that the room seemed to stay a constant comfortable temperature. It seems odd, since we left the window open to the cold night. Good breakfast. It is not however, a luxury hotel. I had to battle with tub which didn't drain well. Everything else was fine. If you want luxury, go next door. We ate dinner at the neighboring hotel restaurant that overlooks the city. But, if you're used to chain hotels this will be just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square is within walking distance. catch the old cable cars just a block away. Get a pass to ride these and and all the other transportation for much less. I was in town to attend a concert at the Great American Music Hall. It's a short cab ride away (and you'll want a cab because it's in a shady area).

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 26, 2007

location was the key

Good price for the central location. Nothing wrong with the room or the place in general. It was in good repair. Continental breakfast worth passing up. Go the 60's style diner down the street instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Darwin
Business
USA
May 22, 2007

Good Value, Good Location

Room was comfortable, although small. Conveniently located to pretty much everything in downtown San Francisco, close to all methods of transportation, Chinatown, shopping, two blocks from Union Square with many restaurants in the area. Stall was very friendly and helpful. Amenities are basic but hotel is a good value for the money, I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus stop across the street from the hotel. Short walk to market street you can catch the cable cars and trollies.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
doktor bill
Business
laguna beach
Sep 8, 2009

Heart of San Francisco

the staff does their utmost to accomodate in a casual and sincere manner.The rooms are simple but more than adequate and quite a bargain. The location is ideal for art patrons and theater patrons alike. The regular patrons are fun to be around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Theatre Arts productions (They were doing Grapes of Wrath while we were there) only a block away.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aaron T.
Business
Morning Sun
May 30, 2015

Great Little Room in a Perfect Location

Nice People, Nice Room, and for the Price I would definitely stay here anytime I am in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dreadhead joe
Business
Fresno, CA, USA
Feb 12, 2014

Great experiance

Everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel for a better value. The hotel was older and had a lil musty smell. Other than that, it was a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
franklin
Business
USA
May 18, 2007

My review of Beresford Hotel

Good faily central location. Front desk slow and confused at check in. Oaky at check out and seemed helpful. Good continental breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 3, 2008

walking distance froom any thing

the enployes werenot very talkative and my room was to small. Other wise it is the area a need to be for work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Sep 22, 2007

Very friendly and helpful staff

The Beresford Hotel in San Francisco was in a wonderful location, within walking distance to Union Square, China Town, Cable cars & many dining choices. One of the best meals we had was at the White Horse which is the restaurant at the Beresford. The hotel itself is very well kept and very attractive inside with a quaint, antique type atmosphere. Our room and bath facilities were kept very clean by the housekeeping staff. Our only complaint would be that there is no air conditioning in the hotel and we found that to be quite uncomfort- able. We had to open the window, which made it quite noisy at night from the street traffic. Also, it would be nice if they had a separate vanity area outside of the bathroom. Overall we would definitely consider staying at the Beresford again it they would install air conditioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1. If you eat at the White Horse Cafe, try the Crab Cake appetizer and for your entree try the Filet Mignon with Mashed potatoes and seasonal vegetables, both are wonderful and very reasonably priced.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Corvallis, OR
Dec 28, 2008

Upgrade needed

This is a nice hotel but needs to be ugraded. Refurbishment is needed. Plus cable service is limited and no room wireless internet is avaible. Restaurant was nice and the food I had was delicous and well prepared. The bar is small but intimate. I enjoyed it. The restaruant/bar service was excellent. That was one area of the hotel were I thought the older styly was attractive. Maid service was great. The car service is a bit pricy but works if you are in and out for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to internet cafe and the downtown area of San Francisco and public transportation.

Back to menu Return to top