Beresford Hotel

2 stars
635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
334 reviews
Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location... See full review

  • Happy Campers I
  • Sep 3, 2013
Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars,... See full review

  • KonnieKatt
  • May 26, 2014
Victorian style, family atmosphere and free breakfast near Union Square

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Hotel Map

37.7887 -122.4109
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International and (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
Located near Powell Street Cable Car, China Town, theaters, shopping, dining, museums, galleries and nightclubs.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (334)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
334 out of 334
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Sep 22, 2007

Very friendly and helpful staff

The Beresford Hotel in San Francisco was in a wonderful location, within walking distance to Union Square, China Town, Cable cars & many dining choices. One of the best meals we had was at the White Horse which is the restaurant at the Beresford. The hotel itself is very well kept and very attractive inside with a quaint, antique type atmosphere. Our room and bath facilities were kept very clean by the housekeeping staff. Our only complaint would be that there is no air conditioning in the hotel and we found that to be quite uncomfort- able. We had to open the window, which made it quite noisy at night from the street traffic. Also, it would be nice if they had a separate vanity area outside of the bathroom. Overall we would definitely consider staying at the Beresford again it they would install air conditioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1. If you eat at the White Horse Cafe, try the Crab Cake appetizer and for your entree try the Filet Mignon with Mashed potatoes and seasonal vegetables, both are wonderful and very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Corvallis, OR
Dec 28, 2008

Upgrade needed

This is a nice hotel but needs to be ugraded. Refurbishment is needed. Plus cable service is limited and no room wireless internet is avaible. Restaurant was nice and the food I had was delicous and well prepared. The bar is small but intimate. I enjoyed it. The restaruant/bar service was excellent. That was one area of the hotel were I thought the older styly was attractive. Maid service was great. The car service is a bit pricy but works if you are in and out for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to internet cafe and the downtown area of San Francisco and public transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa very hard to please
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 2, 2010

So European and wonderful

The price was great. The staff as helpful as possible. My friends stayed at a hotel on Nob Hill. I just walked up 3 blocks (uphill 20% grade)to meet them. It was great exercise and a nice morning and evening walk for me. I saved hundreds of dollars and loved my place as I felt as though I was in Europe again. There is a great free internet cafe/bar just a few doors up the street. On the same side of the street. They make really good drinks. Breakfast is served at this hotel to start your day off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You must try dinner at the "Slanted Door" located on the waterfront.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SUN
Business
Stevens Point, Wi
Sep 4, 2010

Great!!!

..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry C
Business
Nuneaton England
Sep 24, 2010

Value for money

This hotel is in an excellent location just a block away from Union Square. It's a great base to tour the city and has an excellent bar wich we took full advantage of. The bar does free snacks such as hot dogs etc. Breakfast was included and had a generous helping of croissants, pastries and cerials together with fruit and drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The hotel boasts it's own pub and it was excellent place to have a few drinks and unwind from touring around and discovering the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tacoma, WA
Dec 11, 2010

Great!

Would definitely come back here. The staff was really awesome and nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kramella
Business
Chico, CA
Jan 8, 2011

good price

I needed a hotel after a long travel before San Francisco Airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sflover
Business
st Thomas , vi
Jun 20, 2011

Good experience

Friendly and helpful staff, good central location, we had a quiet if not luxurious room. The breakfast was the same every day, which got boring with our 6 day stay, but better than having to purchase it! We would return if in the area again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stahovey
Business
colorado
Jul 5, 2011

Comfy and in the heart of everything!

We stayed Thurs-Sun over 4th of July weekend. The hotel was clean, comfy and close to everything. Just a few blocks from the Powell BART station - no need to take a shuttle or cab to the airport and also close to the Mason-Powell or Hyde-Powell cable car lines. Because it was few blocks from Union Square we were able to get around the entire city quickly and easily. Tons of stuff to do close by and it was nice having a quick bowl of cereal or a muffin and coffee to start our day. Also the fresh fruit was a nice snack each afternoon - we grabbed a couple of apples for the road each morning! The staff was friendly and helpful and the amenities were clean and nice. Great water pressure too!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the BART to Powell street station....Buy a 3 day MUNI pass at baggage claim at the airport for 21.00. The cable cars are $6.00 PER PERSON one way so the pass pays for itself in the first day!!! We hopped on and off all day as well as the F line streetcar which goes from fisherman's wharf all along market street to Castro district. We also took the #30 stockton bus to the exploratorium...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gollum's friend
Business
Montana
Oct 21, 2011

Good Experience, good value

Room was small and more like a London room, but clean and quiet, staff very courteous and helpful. Location is good, the only improvement might be addition of an in-room coffee maker. I especially enjoyed the included breakfast at the adjacent White Horse Pub. Look for the 19th century pound notes in the corner hutch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If staying for several days consider buying a City Pass, especially for Muni transportation (except BART). Trolley is fun, but lines and wait times can be long. Bus and street rail are more frequent, convenient, and cover a much greater area. Attractions in the pass are also worth seeing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top