Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SF lover
Business
Corona, CA
May 1, 2011

Good deal

Good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Chinatown and Union square

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
medgin
Family
Folsom, Ca
Apr 27, 2011

Great little Hotel

I stayed at the Beresford with my two young children and we had a wonderful stay. The hotel stay is friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was fresh and delicious (fruit, pastries, donuts, cereal, coffee), and the location of this hotel is perfect!!! A quick walk two blocks and you're in the heart of Union Square. The White Horse restaurant in the hotel looks great. The pub was hopping (I didn't go because I was with the kids - but it looked really fun). The restaurant was closed for renovations, but the menu looked great! I will definitely make this my "go to" place each time I say in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hong Kong
Apr 27, 2011

Affordable Price but smokey smell

The hotel is just a minute away from the Powell Street which is the heart of the Union Square, no complain for the special price at $167 including taxes and fees for 2 nights. But the strong smokey smell in the room make you feel uncomfortable, anyway the hotel is in a good and safe location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anat
Family
Israel
Apr 26, 2011

Great hotel andlocation. 3-4 stars hotel

Great hotel, Great room, clean, good breakfast, great location, the room can be a little noisy. depends on where the room is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Apr 20, 2011

Great location great price

The hotel is in a great location. The rooms are small but very clean. The hotel staff were very helpful and polite. I would definitely stay here again for the price and location can't be beat. Also being female I felt safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several good restaurants within two to three blocks from the hotel. Loris's diner has great breakfast and the little Italian restaurant was very good also.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Tel Aviv
Apr 18, 2011

very good location for the price

We stayed there for 8 nights. We did not like the room which was assigned to us and the staff was very helpfull in helping us to move to another room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
LOS ANGELES
Apr 7, 2011

It was ok for the month of April

WE WENT TO ALCATRAZ AND THE GOLDEN STATE PARK ALL THIS HOTEL NEEDS WOULD BE A/C FOR THE SUMMER BUT BESIDE THAT IT WAS A GOOD STAY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NM
Apr 5, 2011

A reasonable option

Small room, noisy street, but clean and friendly staff. About what you should expect for a bargain priced older hotel downtown in a big city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Minnesota
Feb 24, 2011

Everything I Want in a Hotel

I was in town to visit my UCSF student -- did a quick trip in, caught the Bart to downtown, jogged up the hill to the hotel, checked in and jogged back to take a the light rail to UCSU. I got back at 10:00 p.m. was greeted, asked for the key - which I left so I wouldn't lose it. The desk clerk carded me and I got my key and went to my room and crashed. The next day, I looked around - they place was wonderful, tidy, clean and such a well preserved historic hotel. Staircases everywhere - and an elevator that works like it was installed yesterday. Charming! Breakfast was set up in the adjoining bar - the coffee was great and the baked goods fresh, along with fresh fruit -- I had a wonderful conversation with a woman from Wales and got the impression that the hotel has been discovered by internationals. Then I had a great conversation with the desk clerk - learned that hotel manager has been there for 30 years overseeing housekeeping, breakfast and all the personal touches -- it really shows. I also learned that the bar is a hang-out for local actors. I didn't use the computer -- no there isn't internet in the room but I got what I needed on my phone. And I could have printed my boarding pass in the computer room. This is a hotel that was very reasonably priced -- and will I go back? Definitely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Santa Fe
Feb 15, 2011

Great location

Good hotel. Good price. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top