Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Jun 23, 2007

Great Location

The Hotel Beresford is very close to Powell on Sutter, an great location for Union Square, Chinatown, the Mall, or catching a cable car. There are plenty of restraunts in the area although the hotel does have a pub style restuarant inside that is very convenient. A nice complimentary continental style breakfast is a great bonus. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room was next to Sutter Street, a little loud with the window open, but we soon adapted and had no problem. Our room was small, stuffed with a queen size bed and mis-matched furniture; however it was clean. The closet is very small and there were not enough hangers. Bring a hair dryer as our room was not equipped with one. However, hotel staff brought us one which we were able to keep the three days we were there. The bathroom is itsy bitsy and the shower tiny, so don't expect to be able to have two people in there at the same time. The elevator is also quite small and except for a short period on our first day there, it worked great. The only down side was the selection of channels on the television, not that you will spend a great deal of time in a hotel room watching tv if you are in San Francisco! We do recommend the valet parking although it does take a while to get your car, so request it at least 20 minutes before you are ready to go. We found using taxis or public transportation a better way to get around the city instead of dragging our car out every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

1. We enjoyed the Italian Restuarant down Sutter before you get to Powell. 2. Breakfast or Dinner at Sears...we had both..very good on both accounts. The Persimmon also has a great breakfast. 3. Chinatown - Dim Sum...enough said.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, CA
Sep 1, 2007

Great Older Hotel

My stay was for three nights, The room was an end unit with two windows and was a delight to have the nice breeze coming through the windows.... the room was clean and neat, the hotel staff were very helpful, and the continental breakfast was great! I would recommend this hotel to everyone. It even had a computer downstairs for guests to use.......... The only drawback of all Hotels in San Francisco is the parking... This hotel's parking is aprox. 6 blocks away and cost $26.00 a day....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rei S.
Business
Mckinleyville
Jan 20, 2015

Great Location & Historic

Located just blocks from Union Square.. This well maintained well ran historic hotel is really very quaint. Bar downstairs is fun & friendly too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Theresa R.
Business
N/A
Apr 24, 2015

Awesome

We always stay here for our Anniversary every year! Very romantic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aaron T.
Business
Morning Sun
May 30, 2015

Great Little Room in a Perfect Location

Nice People, Nice Room, and for the Price I would definitely stay here anytime I am in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dreadhead joe
Business
Fresno, CA, USA
Feb 12, 2014

Great experiance

Everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel for a better value. The hotel was older and had a lil musty smell. Other than that, it was a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry C
Business
Nuneaton England
Sep 24, 2010

Value for money

This hotel is in an excellent location just a block away from Union Square. It's a great base to tour the city and has an excellent bar wich we took full advantage of. The bar does free snacks such as hot dogs etc. Breakfast was included and had a generous helping of croissants, pastries and cerials together with fruit and drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The hotel boasts it's own pub and it was excellent place to have a few drinks and unwind from touring around and discovering the city.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gollum's friend
Business
Montana
Oct 21, 2011

Good Experience, good value

Room was small and more like a London room, but clean and quiet, staff very courteous and helpful. Location is good, the only improvement might be addition of an in-room coffee maker. I especially enjoyed the included breakfast at the adjacent White Horse Pub. Look for the 19th century pound notes in the corner hutch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If staying for several days consider buying a City Pass, especially for Muni transportation (except BART). Trolley is fun, but lines and wait times can be long. Bus and street rail are more frequent, convenient, and cover a much greater area. Attractions in the pass are also worth seeing!

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Farflyer
Business
City of London, UK
Oct 26, 2011

Pretty good and excellent value for money

The only very minor drawback of this hotel is that there is currently no wi-fi in the rooms and that to get internet access it is necessary to use a room on the ground floor. Otherwise I agree with many other reviewers on this site that it represents really excellent value. The room was good and also quiet, the staff extremely friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast perfectly adequate. Union Square is only minutes away and there is an excellent Italian restaurant within yards. I would stay there again very happily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobby Booshay
Business
Eastbay
Mar 12, 2012

Good place for a night~!

place was a nice location, staff was so so. and wifi was in the lobby only. room was tiny probably the smallest Ive seen...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a parking spot!

Back to menu Return to top