$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
334 reviews
Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location... See full review

  • Happy Campers I
  • Sep 3, 2013
Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars,... See full review

  • KonnieKatt
  • May 26, 2014
Victorian style, family atmosphere and free breakfast near Union Square

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (334)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
334 out of 334
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Jun 30, 2008

Very good location

We especially liked the hotel's location. It was less than 2 blocks from the Powell Street cable cars, which saved us a long, uphill walk when returning from Market Street and very convenient when we wanted to head to Fisherman's Wharf. We thought the hotel reminded us of an old-style, European hotel, which can be good and bad. One example of this is that we had actual room keys, not one of those computer cards. For the price we knew we weren't going to be in a 5-star hotel, but thought the rooms were kept clean and the staff was very helpful. The breakfast buffet included rolls, cold cereal, fruit, juice, and coffee and was included in the price of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Georgann
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 14, 2007

Great City Experience

The location of the Beresford Hotel was the key selling point. The urban experience, accessability to downtown and the availability of public transportation were things I appreciated. The breakfast was a welcomed amenity. The room was small, but clean and serviced well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is a short walk and the cable car runs right by the nearest corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Jun 23, 2007

Great Location

The Hotel Beresford is very close to Powell on Sutter, an great location for Union Square, Chinatown, the Mall, or catching a cable car. There are plenty of restraunts in the area although the hotel does have a pub style restuarant inside that is very convenient. A nice complimentary continental style breakfast is a great bonus. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room was next to Sutter Street, a little loud with the window open, but we soon adapted and had no problem. Our room was small, stuffed with a queen size bed and mis-matched furniture; however it was clean. The closet is very small and there were not enough hangers. Bring a hair dryer as our room was not equipped with one. However, hotel staff brought us one which we were able to keep the three days we were there. The bathroom is itsy bitsy and the shower tiny, so don't expect to be able to have two people in there at the same time. The elevator is also quite small and except for a short period on our first day there, it worked great. The only down side was the selection of channels on the television, not that you will spend a great deal of time in a hotel room watching tv if you are in San Francisco! We do recommend the valet parking although it does take a while to get your car, so request it at least 20 minutes before you are ready to go. We found using taxis or public transportation a better way to get around the city instead of dragging our car out every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

1. We enjoyed the Italian Restuarant down Sutter before you get to Powell. 2. Breakfast or Dinner at Sears...we had both..very good on both accounts. The Persimmon also has a great breakfast. 3. Chinatown - Dim Sum...enough said.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, CA
Sep 1, 2007

Great Older Hotel

My stay was for three nights, The room was an end unit with two windows and was a delight to have the nice breeze coming through the windows.... the room was clean and neat, the hotel staff were very helpful, and the continental breakfast was great! I would recommend this hotel to everyone. It even had a computer downstairs for guests to use.......... The only drawback of all Hotels in San Francisco is the parking... This hotel's parking is aprox. 6 blocks away and cost $26.00 a day....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
myunghwa
Business
USA
Mar 18, 2008

very convenience

very convenience transportation. easy shopping (near a lot of shopping mall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newnez
Business
calgary ab
Aug 16, 2009

Great small hotel

Hotel was renovated clean and cozy. Great hotel. Front staff were nice and helpful. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to all the shopping and the warf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caete
Business
Fresno, CA
Aug 20, 2009

Loved the hotel

My hotel room was in the front, 5th floor. No noise from the next room, some noise from the hall, street usually quiet. Comfortable bed, clean room. The carpet color made it look old at first glance but it's new & clean. If you're wider than 2' in more than 1 direction you won't fit through the shower door. The shower itself is full-size inside. Rooms a little small, but not claustrophobic. They probably used some space to add (tiny) en-suite bathrooms. The building is old but well maintained. I loved it and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi, Italian, American... just walk a few blocks in either direction and you'll find food to fit your mood. Seven blocks uphill from the Greyhound Station, pack light or take the tram.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
franklin
Business
USA
May 18, 2007

My review of Beresford Hotel

Good faily central location. Front desk slow and confused at check in. Oaky at check out and seemed helpful. Good continental breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 3, 2008

walking distance froom any thing

the enployes werenot very talkative and my room was to small. Other wise it is the area a need to be for work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Sep 22, 2007

Very friendly and helpful staff

The Beresford Hotel in San Francisco was in a wonderful location, within walking distance to Union Square, China Town, Cable cars & many dining choices. One of the best meals we had was at the White Horse which is the restaurant at the Beresford. The hotel itself is very well kept and very attractive inside with a quaint, antique type atmosphere. Our room and bath facilities were kept very clean by the housekeeping staff. Our only complaint would be that there is no air conditioning in the hotel and we found that to be quite uncomfort- able. We had to open the window, which made it quite noisy at night from the street traffic. Also, it would be nice if they had a separate vanity area outside of the bathroom. Overall we would definitely consider staying at the Beresford again it they would install air conditioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1. If you eat at the White Horse Cafe, try the Crab Cake appetizer and for your entree try the Filet Mignon with Mashed potatoes and seasonal vegetables, both are wonderful and very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top