Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Nov 29, 2008

Good value

The Beresford Hotel was in a great location. The room was fine, not much to it. That was okay with us... considering the fact we only wanted to sleep in it. The bar next door was cool - very old looking and cozy. Overall, I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good location for retail stores. Short drive to Fisherman's Wharf.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh
Jun 30, 2008

Very Quaint & Nice

The Hotel Beresford is a very quaint and comfortable place to stay. It doesn't have the ammenities of larger hotels like a pool or fitness center but if you are just looking for a nice place to stay for a good price then this is the place for you. The room I shared with a friend was quite small and we had two twin beds. At first I was put off by this but soon realized that it was of little consequence. The room was quite comfortable and so were the beds. The hotel is very close to Union Square and public transportation. There are also a number of nice restaurants in the area to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot of great shopping. It is also within walking distance of the MUNI and other public transportation.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rancho Palos Verd
Aug 4, 2008

very tourist friendy

An excellent hotel for its price and location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Also close to dining and entertainment/nightlife

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 23, 2008

Excellent front desk, very helpful

Great location, you can walk to Union Square and china town. We actually walked to China town and then took Columbus street, an angeled street, goes thru little Italy, and walked to Fisher'sman wharf. Took the trolley back, $5.00 per person The front desk/hotel staff were VERY helpful with restaurant recommendations, too. Their are many good restaurants within walking distance and the hotel gave us a card with 10% discounts for a few. We enjoyed the free, contl. bkfst. too. We chatted with a delightful tour group from England each morning and they use this hotel a lot because of cleanliness, price and location. It was nice to actually see the owner on the premises, one day, too. The hotel room itself is not big or fancy but the beds were comfortable and new (2 twin beds). As I was traveling with my teenage daughter, I wanted a hotel that offered a safe location, at night also. We were very comfortable here. They also will arrange transfers back to the airport. The shuttles run around $16.00 ow/pp. However, if you call them for the return shuttle they offered a rate of $12.00 ow/pp. the BART runs right from the airport to Union Square and other central stops, but the arpt. info. people really pushed taking the shuttle services. Cost of the BART is about $5.00 pp/ow. We opted against it on the way back, as we had 3 bags and 2 people and didn't feel like dragging our luggage for a few blocks, plus the shuttle picks you up right at the front door. Beach Blanket Bayolon was recommended, to get insight into SFO culture, but we ran out of time. Also, we couldn't find the half price tkt booth in Union Sq, again ran out of time. Be sure to barter in China town, we still found some great deals. I recommend trying Dum Sing in china town and Dungeous Crab at the wharf, both are excellent. Renting bikes is a fun option, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great central location and great shopping.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 19, 2008

My review of Beresford Hotel

older hotel, but great value for the money. small rooms. no individual climate control in room--hard to regulate heat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 18, 2008

Great Value for Location

Its an old hotel and the rooms are small and not sparkling, but the value is great. The staff is friendly and helpful. If you're looking for a no frills room that's clean with a nice continental breakfast and very close to downtown (2 blocks from Union Square shopping, dinning, and transportation) then this is a nice little spot. No hairdrier or air conditioning, but a mini fridge and iron in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 22, 2007

Nice & Clean

The Beresford was very old but well maintanined. The room was a bit small but I have stayed in SF before and I think it is comparable to other hotels. The staff was friendly enough. The room was very clean. It is located less than 2 blocks from the trolley and only 4 or 5 blocks from China Town. The hotel does have a business center and a continental breadfast. We had a rent car which we had to pay $25/day for parking. On check out they tried to charge for the honor bar, but when we denied they promptly removed the charged-- so check your charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

China Town is few blocks away off Grant. Trolly was 1-1/2 blocks away and will take you to Pier 39, Fisherman's Wharf, Market Street, etc.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arcadia
Aug 6, 2008

Great Price and Location!

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised with the Beresford Hotel. It is within walking distance to Union Square, the wharf, financial district, cable cars, etc. The rooms were a little small but quite comfortable. We stayed 3 nights and were happy with how quiet the room was. The workers were friendly and helpful. The in-hotel restaurant had a nice atmosphere but a small menu selection. They also served a continental breakfast every morning, making it really easy to get out and sightsee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The double-decker/ open top buses are a fun way to get around without worrying about driving in this busy city!. You can buy a pass that is good for 2 consecutive days in which you can hop on and off as often as you like.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Jun 30, 2008

Very good location

We especially liked the hotel's location. It was less than 2 blocks from the Powell Street cable cars, which saved us a long, uphill walk when returning from Market Street and very convenient when we wanted to head to Fisherman's Wharf. We thought the hotel reminded us of an old-style, European hotel, which can be good and bad. One example of this is that we had actual room keys, not one of those computer cards. For the price we knew we weren't going to be in a 5-star hotel, but thought the rooms were kept clean and the staff was very helpful. The breakfast buffet included rolls, cold cereal, fruit, juice, and coffee and was included in the price of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Georgann
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 14, 2007

Great City Experience

The location of the Beresford Hotel was the key selling point. The urban experience, accessability to downtown and the availability of public transportation were things I appreciated. The breakfast was a welcomed amenity. The room was small, but clean and serviced well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is a short walk and the cable car runs right by the nearest corner.

Back to menu Return to top