$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 2, 2015 Check-out: Jul 3, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
363 out of 363
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 2, 2008

Extraordinary Customer Service

The hotel's staff was uniformly friendly and helpful especially at the front desk where they definitely went the extra mile for guests and did so in a very professional and gracious manner. My suitcase was damaged on my flight and the zipper needed to be repaired before I could fly home. After inquiring about local luggage repair, the staff volunatarily looked up all the repair shops in the immediate area, contacted each one, compared prices for the repair, distances from hotel and hours of service. This was all done cheerfully and with an great glad to help attitude, they later checked with me on the results, great service, excellent location and a vintage hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to major retailers such as Macy's in Union Square and an array of specialty boutques from Belgium chocolate to shoe stores. Also every block must have a small cafe for coffee and China Town is only 10-15 minutes away on foot. Location is one of the best features of this hotel.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 4, 2008

Old-World Charm

The Beresford Hotel was very comfortable, clean and the room was exceptionally quiet. I thought for a hotel as old as this one, I could hear everything - this was not the case. The staff is very friendly and knowledgable. Their recommendations for restaurants and directions were on point. The location is perfect for shoppers. I would recommend this hotel to my friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Walgreens one block away - very convenient.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stockton
Aug 4, 2008

Charming

The Beresford Hotel is in a great location. The staff is very warm & accomadating. I have stayed here before & have been a satisfied customer. It is an older property & reminds me of some of the European hotels. I always hear different languages spoken by the clients there. They provide a very adequate continental breakfest. I have always stayed in a quiet room but I never have had a room facing Sutter St. Although it is an older property they keep it very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short distance to Union Square shopping & many restaurant choices nearby.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Latgirablanca
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 20, 2008

Friendly, charming, cool location.

The Beresford is a small charming hotel right next to (note: not in) Union Square. It's a few blocks off the main tourist drag yet still a very convenient location with a lot of public trans and cabs. The room was clean and very warm (important on those cold damp nights!) and the shower had excellent pressure. The room has a tiny fridge (bonus) which has a range of drinks at competitive prices. The complimentary breakfast is held in the English Tavern downstairs - fruit,sweetrolls, juice, coffee type scene. There's a 24 hour walgreens only a few blocks away and you're quite close to a lot of great bars and restaurants. Totally one of the cutest lobbies you'll ever see. The staff were super nice and helpful. A great deal for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're an intrepid traveler and a city person, brave the Tenderloin downhill and find some truly excellent restaurants. Chutney 511 Jones St - great cheap Indian food. Osha Thai Noodle - 696 Geary St(every local knows this place) Ala Turka - wonderful Turkish food 869 Geary St

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 15, 2007

Great place to stay

The hotel Beresford was all that I expected it to be. Very well located, close to all public transportation including the cable cars! What I like best about the hotel was its pub and dining rook which dated back to the 1700's and was brought piece-by-piece to the hotel and rebuilt there. Secondly, the hotel was immaculate and the staff very friendly. There was no control for heat and air conditioning but this was a minor drawback given the weather in Frisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was situated in the heart of the up-scale shopping area and the stores were very upscale such as Hermes etc.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Nov 29, 2008

Good value

The Beresford Hotel was in a great location. The room was fine, not much to it. That was okay with us... considering the fact we only wanted to sleep in it. The bar next door was cool - very old looking and cozy. Overall, I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good location for retail stores. Short drive to Fisherman's Wharf.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh
Jun 30, 2008

Very Quaint & Nice

The Hotel Beresford is a very quaint and comfortable place to stay. It doesn't have the ammenities of larger hotels like a pool or fitness center but if you are just looking for a nice place to stay for a good price then this is the place for you. The room I shared with a friend was quite small and we had two twin beds. At first I was put off by this but soon realized that it was of little consequence. The room was quite comfortable and so were the beds. The hotel is very close to Union Square and public transportation. There are also a number of nice restaurants in the area to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot of great shopping. It is also within walking distance of the MUNI and other public transportation.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rancho Palos Verd
Aug 4, 2008

very tourist friendy

An excellent hotel for its price and location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Also close to dining and entertainment/nightlife

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 23, 2008

Excellent front desk, very helpful

Great location, you can walk to Union Square and china town. We actually walked to China town and then took Columbus street, an angeled street, goes thru little Italy, and walked to Fisher'sman wharf. Took the trolley back, $5.00 per person The front desk/hotel staff were VERY helpful with restaurant recommendations, too. Their are many good restaurants within walking distance and the hotel gave us a card with 10% discounts for a few. We enjoyed the free, contl. bkfst. too. We chatted with a delightful tour group from England each morning and they use this hotel a lot because of cleanliness, price and location. It was nice to actually see the owner on the premises, one day, too. The hotel room itself is not big or fancy but the beds were comfortable and new (2 twin beds). As I was traveling with my teenage daughter, I wanted a hotel that offered a safe location, at night also. We were very comfortable here. They also will arrange transfers back to the airport. The shuttles run around $16.00 ow/pp. However, if you call them for the return shuttle they offered a rate of $12.00 ow/pp. the BART runs right from the airport to Union Square and other central stops, but the arpt. info. people really pushed taking the shuttle services. Cost of the BART is about $5.00 pp/ow. We opted against it on the way back, as we had 3 bags and 2 people and didn't feel like dragging our luggage for a few blocks, plus the shuttle picks you up right at the front door. Beach Blanket Bayolon was recommended, to get insight into SFO culture, but we ran out of time. Also, we couldn't find the half price tkt booth in Union Sq, again ran out of time. Be sure to barter in China town, we still found some great deals. I recommend trying Dum Sing in china town and Dungeous Crab at the wharf, both are excellent. Renting bikes is a fun option, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great central location and great shopping.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 19, 2008

My review of Beresford Hotel

older hotel, but great value for the money. small rooms. no individual climate control in room--hard to regulate heat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top