Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iowagrrl
Business
Cedar Falls, IA
Aug 5, 2011

Nice, historic hotel

We were in San Francisco to run the marathon. The Beresford is very close to the embarcadero and a Muni stop--great location. The rooms are totally adequate--but if you're used to ginormous Marriott suites, you'll be disappointed--this is a hotel whose room sizes would have been considered generous before Americans got size-crazy. The only weird part was the front desk service was a little weird. Adequate, but the men were functional, not overly friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anamaru
Business
Tijuana, Mexico
Jul 23, 2011

Excellent location, good price

Family vacation for a whole week in San Francisco, the Beresford Hotel is a good option for its price, and excellent location very close to Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, shopping and touristic places.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redding, CA
Jul 23, 2011

Great location, cute hotel

We booked a stay for 1 night in SF to see a concert at the Bill Graham auditorium. The hotel is very cute with a British/European feel. Check in was quick and easy. The room was neatly furnished and appropriate for the price. It was also within walking distance of the concert venue. My only complaints are it had a slight musty smell and our room was noisy (it sounded like some sort of machine was running outside our window). There was no view as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 1, 2011

safe area close to restaurants, stores

The room was noisy because of the elevator and there is no air conditioning unit so the window was up and there was traffic noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Bay Fl
Jun 29, 2011

Beresford on Sutter

Quaint, few amenities, clean, small, cozy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sacramento,CA
Jun 27, 2011

june 25 stay at the Beresford hotel

Our stay at the Beresford was nice. Good location and the hotel has a charm of old SF.View from the window was less than desireable but,we didn't stay for the view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seattle Heath
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 21, 2011

Great Location

Seamless checkin/checkout. The room didn't come with a hair dryer for my girlfriend but they have them available at the front desk upon request. Great location as it's only a few blocks from shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Biscuits & Blues is only 1 block away! Upstairs live entertainment is free if you get there before 7 I think. Good, spicy jambalaya. The connected White Horse bar is a great place to cap the night too.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Jun 13, 2011

Pleasant for the price, inexp. parking

Convenient Union Square location, close to cable car line and Chinatown. Room was very clean, comfortable. Classy, old-style hotel feel. $24 valet parking was a big plus (compare at $60). Friendly, responsive staff. Adequate continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Jun 12, 2011

Friendly staff, good location

Went to San francisco for a couple days to tour the city. The location was close to everything. We actually took the Bart from the airport and walked to the hotel. We did not rent a car and we were able to catch public transit to everything i.e. Fisherman's wharf. Shopping is only a 5 min walk away. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They did serve a complimentary breakfast from 7a to 10a which included: various pasteries, cereal, grapes, apples, coffee, and orange juice. There is a old antique feel to the hotel. Let's just say it was like staying at your grandparent's spare room; moth ball smell and small. There was a mini fridge in the room that came in handy. In addition, wifi is not available in your room but is available in the lobby area. There is a computer room if you did not bring a laptop. Cleanliness of the esblashiment I would give 2.5 stars. Overall the room was clean but the throw pillows on the bed had stains which we immediately threw on the ground. For the price and location I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dover n h
May 30, 2011

san fran stay

fair value nice area rooms were clean (burn marks on rugs time for a little update} close to everyting would come back thank you san fran

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top