$153 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 24, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
363 out of 363
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
No Fuss Traveler
Business
Woodbury, MN, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Affordable way to see San Francisco

My husband and I stayed at the Beresford Hotel for 4 nights/5 days during our recent trip to San Francisco. We were in room 319 (towards the back of the building). The room was crisp and cool, and we opened the windows during the day, but during the evening shut them as the San Francisco nights are quite cool. Overall our room was very clean and, although it was a bit small, it sufficiently met our needs for rest each evening. The beds were quite comfortable and we felt that the room was a great value for the evening rate compared to other hotels in the area. We were a short walk to the Powell line cable cars (quite fun to ride all the way to fisherman's wharf) and the Union Square shops. There were many restaurants in the area of varying levels (a great burger place around the corner and down the street was a great french restaurant - Le Central). We would recommend the Beresford for a no fuss traveler that is looking for an affordable room with clean, comfortable beds in a convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Getting a Clipper Card will get you access to all of the metro transit, cable car, and BART systems where purchasing a BART or MUNI card will only get you access to a single system. The Clipper Card is the best value and prevents going home with unused funds!

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
flojo
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Aug 26, 2011

getting ready for college

I found that the location was great, right near my daughter's school dorm and it was convenient to shopping and restaurants. muni bus service was down the street. I found the hotel interior to be average, bureau missing handles, bathroom was sorely in need of an update. room was small and cramped. staff was very busy, had to wait for service, would probably not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
big craig
Business
sacramento, CA
Aug 7, 2011

affordable for the theater district

great central location, comfortable beds. A lot of ambient noise from a big air conditioning unit on the roof next door, but ear plugs solved the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iowagrrl
Business
Cedar Falls, IA
Aug 5, 2011

Nice, historic hotel

We were in San Francisco to run the marathon. The Beresford is very close to the embarcadero and a Muni stop--great location. The rooms are totally adequate--but if you're used to ginormous Marriott suites, you'll be disappointed--this is a hotel whose room sizes would have been considered generous before Americans got size-crazy. The only weird part was the front desk service was a little weird. Adequate, but the men were functional, not overly friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anamaru
Business
Tijuana, Mexico
Jul 23, 2011

Excellent location, good price

Family vacation for a whole week in San Francisco, the Beresford Hotel is a good option for its price, and excellent location very close to Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, shopping and touristic places.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redding, CA
Jul 23, 2011

Great location, cute hotel

We booked a stay for 1 night in SF to see a concert at the Bill Graham auditorium. The hotel is very cute with a British/European feel. Check in was quick and easy. The room was neatly furnished and appropriate for the price. It was also within walking distance of the concert venue. My only complaints are it had a slight musty smell and our room was noisy (it sounded like some sort of machine was running outside our window). There was no view as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stahovey
Business
colorado
Jul 5, 2011

Comfy and in the heart of everything!

We stayed Thurs-Sun over 4th of July weekend. The hotel was clean, comfy and close to everything. Just a few blocks from the Powell BART station - no need to take a shuttle or cab to the airport and also close to the Mason-Powell or Hyde-Powell cable car lines. Because it was few blocks from Union Square we were able to get around the entire city quickly and easily. Tons of stuff to do close by and it was nice having a quick bowl of cereal or a muffin and coffee to start our day. Also the fresh fruit was a nice snack each afternoon - we grabbed a couple of apples for the road each morning! The staff was friendly and helpful and the amenities were clean and nice. Great water pressure too!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the BART to Powell street station....Buy a 3 day MUNI pass at baggage claim at the airport for 21.00. The cable cars are $6.00 PER PERSON one way so the pass pays for itself in the first day!!! We hopped on and off all day as well as the F line streetcar which goes from fisherman's wharf all along market street to Castro district. We also took the #30 stockton bus to the exploratorium...

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stahovey
Business
colorado
Jul 5, 2011

Comfy and in the heart of everything!

We stayed Thurs-Sun over 4th of July weekend. The hotel was clean, comfy and close to everything. Just a few blocks from the Powell BART station - no need to take a shuttle or cab to the airport and also close to the Mason-Powell or Hyde-Powell cable car lines. Because it was few blocks from Union Square we were able to get around the entire city quickly and easily. Tons of stuff to do close by and it was nice having a quick bowl of cereal or a muffin and coffee to start our day. Also the fresh fruit was a nice snack each afternoon - we grabbed a couple of apples for the road each morning! The staff was friendly and helpful and the amenities were clean and nice. Great water pressure too!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the BART to Powell street station....Buy a 3 day MUNI pass at baggage claim at the airport for 21.00. The cable cars are $6.00 PER PERSON one way so the pass pays for itself in the first day!!! We hopped on and off all day as well as the F line streetcar which goes from fisherman's wharf all along market street to Castro district. We also took the #30 stockton bus to the exploratorium...

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 1, 2011

safe area close to restaurants, stores

The room was noisy because of the elevator and there is no air conditioning unit so the window was up and there was traffic noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Bay Fl
Jun 29, 2011

Beresford on Sutter

Quaint, few amenities, clean, small, cozy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top