$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
338 out of 338
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anamaru
Business
Tijuana, Mexico
Jul 23, 2011

Excellent location, good price

Family vacation for a whole week in San Francisco, the Beresford Hotel is a good option for its price, and excellent location very close to Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, shopping and touristic places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redding, CA
Jul 23, 2011

Great location, cute hotel

We booked a stay for 1 night in SF to see a concert at the Bill Graham auditorium. The hotel is very cute with a British/European feel. Check in was quick and easy. The room was neatly furnished and appropriate for the price. It was also within walking distance of the concert venue. My only complaints are it had a slight musty smell and our room was noisy (it sounded like some sort of machine was running outside our window). There was no view as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stahovey
Business
colorado
Jul 5, 2011

Comfy and in the heart of everything!

We stayed Thurs-Sun over 4th of July weekend. The hotel was clean, comfy and close to everything. Just a few blocks from the Powell BART station - no need to take a shuttle or cab to the airport and also close to the Mason-Powell or Hyde-Powell cable car lines. Because it was few blocks from Union Square we were able to get around the entire city quickly and easily. Tons of stuff to do close by and it was nice having a quick bowl of cereal or a muffin and coffee to start our day. Also the fresh fruit was a nice snack each afternoon - we grabbed a couple of apples for the road each morning! The staff was friendly and helpful and the amenities were clean and nice. Great water pressure too!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the BART to Powell street station....Buy a 3 day MUNI pass at baggage claim at the airport for 21.00. The cable cars are $6.00 PER PERSON one way so the pass pays for itself in the first day!!! We hopped on and off all day as well as the F line streetcar which goes from fisherman's wharf all along market street to Castro district. We also took the #30 stockton bus to the exploratorium...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 1, 2011

safe area close to restaurants, stores

The room was noisy because of the elevator and there is no air conditioning unit so the window was up and there was traffic noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Bay Fl
Jun 29, 2011

Beresford on Sutter

Quaint, few amenities, clean, small, cozy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sacramento,CA
Jun 27, 2011

june 25 stay at the Beresford hotel

Our stay at the Beresford was nice. Good location and the hotel has a charm of old SF.View from the window was less than desireable but,we didn't stay for the view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seattle Heath
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 21, 2011

Great Location

Seamless checkin/checkout. The room didn't come with a hair dryer for my girlfriend but they have them available at the front desk upon request. Great location as it's only a few blocks from shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Biscuits & Blues is only 1 block away! Upstairs live entertainment is free if you get there before 7 I think. Good, spicy jambalaya. The connected White Horse bar is a great place to cap the night too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sflover
Business
st Thomas , vi
Jun 20, 2011

Good experience

Friendly and helpful staff, good central location, we had a quiet if not luxurious room. The breakfast was the same every day, which got boring with our 6 day stay, but better than having to purchase it! We would return if in the area again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Jun 13, 2011

Pleasant for the price, inexp. parking

Convenient Union Square location, close to cable car line and Chinatown. Room was very clean, comfortable. Classy, old-style hotel feel. $24 valet parking was a big plus (compare at $60). Friendly, responsive staff. Adequate continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Jun 12, 2011

Friendly staff, good location

Went to San francisco for a couple days to tour the city. The location was close to everything. We actually took the Bart from the airport and walked to the hotel. We did not rent a car and we were able to catch public transit to everything i.e. Fisherman's wharf. Shopping is only a 5 min walk away. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They did serve a complimentary breakfast from 7a to 10a which included: various pasteries, cereal, grapes, apples, coffee, and orange juice. There is a old antique feel to the hotel. Let's just say it was like staying at your grandparent's spare room; moth ball smell and small. There was a mini fridge in the room that came in handy. In addition, wifi is not available in your room but is available in the lobby area. There is a computer room if you did not bring a laptop. Cleanliness of the esblashiment I would give 2.5 stars. Overall the room was clean but the throw pillows on the bed had stains which we immediately threw on the ground. For the price and location I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top